We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME FROM HOME”
Review of Morgan Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morgan Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morgan's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HOME FROM HOME”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have just returned from another wonderful holiday at Morgan Bay Hotel. We have been visiting the hotel for over 40 years and have always had a fantastic time. The atmosphere is so welcoming that it really feels like "home from home", but with the added luxury of having everything done for you. The location is stunning with a beautiful beach a few meters from the hotel. The owners and staff are all so friendly and go out of their way to ensure a good relaxing time is had.by all. The food is excellent and variable and the little messages in their daily menus are charming.

Room Tip: Try to book a sea facing room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    113
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
147
178
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were 5 adults, 2x 60+ my daughter and boyfriend + another daughter in her mid twenties. This an excellent place to unwind for 5 days before a wedding in Cape Town. Easy trip from the airport, (no dirt roads) great rooms, excellent breakfasts, and good dinners, the deck food was uninspired, the fish salad not available and no dish of the day but this is the only thing I can criticise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bern
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the adjoining camp site , owned by the same people and used the hotel facilities on a number of occasions.
We found the staff helpful and welcoming and the food and bar on the Deck great , although there was not too much choice for my wife who is vegiterian.
The camp site was perfect right on the edge of a stunning lagoon , toilets were a little bit tired but clean.
This is where we met the charm of the South African people of all mixes

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspirebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We first visited Morgs in 1970 for our honeymoon and have been back numerous times since then. Each holiday has been wonderful. The setting is spectacular, the food delicious and the staff have always been so kind and welcoming. It is certainly a "home from home" hotel with the added personal touch. We moved to the U.K. in 1987 and have done a lot of travelling, but still return to our favourite place as often as we can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

this hotel is something really special - a family owned hotel with all the staff feeling part if the family..... and including you the guest.
its a few steps down to the beach.. which incidentally is a lovely wide open beach - lovely to walk on and enjoy.
although we dont have young children, i would say whether you have young family, or just you... you WILL enjoy.... the meals, the hospitality and the homeliness

Room Tip: you need not stay in a seafacing room - as long as you ask for one overlooking the pool, as it still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've just returned from our 11th annual family seaside holiday at Morgan Bay Hotel (MBH). For those families looking for a relaxing family oriented holiday at the coast, the MBH over Christmas and New Year is just the place. We've returned each year to smiling familiar faces and staff who have gone out of their way to accommodate special needs, such as a non-meat eater or assisting with bringing a breakfast tray to the room to allow for a late lie in. Our suite, situated in the annexe, is spacious and comfortable for our family of five. The hotel, located on the beach and next to the lagoon is a safe environment for children of all ages to make friends. The high season full board lodging offers the best food on the Wild Coast, with buffets for breakfast and
lunch, while dinner is a four course table d'hote. The Friday evening seafood buffet is a treat. Children are entertained by an in house organiser while the menu for the younger guests caters for their simpler tastes in a kiddies dining room. The Deck restaurant and bar was a great venue for a night cap and the opportunity to listen and or dance to some good local music. Our December 2013 holiday is already booked and we look forward to returning - it's like coming home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

In February 2012, we booked a family holiday at Morgan's Bay Hotel from the 17th to the 27th December, 2012 (we booked two rooms which were supposed to be near each other; one for my wife and I and one for our daughter of seventeen). Their advert referred to a relaxing, family environment (it even mentioned somewhere that it was an ideal environment for quiet reading!!).
We booked in on the 17th December, after travelling from Johannesburg, over 2 days. First sign of disappointment was the fact that when we arrived at the hotel, there was nowhere to park our car. We were told that it is on a first come first serve basis and that we just had to find parking wherever we could. In fact you have to park your car, in the street in front of the hotel, and leave it there for the duration of your holiday (at the mercy of the elements and all other possible dangers, such as drunken people, which there were a fair number of, in the evening).
Second sign of a problem was when we were taken to our rooms; they were on different floors with different access (some parts of the hotel do look like a maze!!). Both the rooms we were put in were adjacent to a new building, housing a large pub, which had recently been built. In fact you could jump from our rooms onto the deck of the pub; that’s how close it was!!
The next sign of things not being quite like we expected was when we went on the beach for a walk and to see what was on offer; there was a group of about a dozen horses that walked/galloped next to us, in a single file; we were then standing in ankle-deep water on the sea-shore and the horses passed us, walking/galloping in and out of the water. These horses smelt absolutely terrible and seemed to have had stomach problems as they poo'd all the way while they were walking/galloping, to such an extent that when we looked at our feet once they had passed us, the water was turned in a sea of horse-poo ... and that was also where a large number of young kids were playing and most of the folks were standing!
When we went to dinner, in the early evening, we had heard the sound of a guy playing music in the pub (yes, the one adjacent to our rooms!!). We figured that it would stop a bit later on; when it was a time when usually, people go to bed (after all it was advertised as a quiet, family hotel!!). Low and behold, once we had got back to our rooms after dinner, the music became louder and louder (right next to our windows, remember!) and the people in the pub, who were visitors caravanning at the nearby caravan park (which the hotel had also recently acquired, but kept it a secret!!), were getting more and more drunk and also more and more loud! To cut a long story short; the music and the deafening noise only stopped at three o'clock in the morning!! This, we found out, was to be the norm, every night of our 'quiet' holiday, until the New Year!
Needless to say, we asked to see the owner first thing in the morning after only getting a couple of hours sleep. A gentleman came in, introducing himself as the owner, but with a long face, looking ready for an argument, totally unfriendly, without a semblant of even a fraction of a smile; he seemed to know exactly what we were going to tell him as when we mentioned our ordeal, he immediately said that he had organised another room for us, which he admitted was not the same quality and was much smaller and would house both us and our daughter of seventeen! He did not seem to have any interest in our plight and gave us the impression that we were wasting his time. He offered neither sympathy nor apologies. He, in fact, tried to justify the noise as he said that they had just purchased the caravan park and had recently built the pub and as such, they needed to make money!! We could not believe what we are hearing! As a gesture, we agreed to have a look at the alternative accommodation that he was suggesting; we should have known better; it was a small pokey room, where you could barely swing a cat, with a small bathroom (just with a bath) and they expected us to stay in that room, for 10 days, with our seventeen year old daughter sleeping in a small nook, at the entrance of the room!
We wasted no more time and packed our bags and made for the reception. The staff at the reception seemed absolutely embarrassed and sympathised with us. We asked that we be refunded our deposit and all our expenses, which the lady at the reception agreed to organise the next morning, when the accounts lady came to work. As if we had not been treated badly enough, the gentleman who came to see us (who claimed to be the owner), was heard by my wife, asking the receptionist if we had already vacated our rooms!!
We left the hotel, totally and utterly disgusted and with the anticipation that, at least we would not be losing any money, as they had agreed to refund us our deposit and expenses. You've guessed it; this turned out to be wishful thinking; we received an e-mail from a lady claiming to be the real owner, saying to us that they would only refund us the deposit. The worst thing of all, she ended the e-mail saying that; ‘it was unfortunate that what you experienced at the hotel was not what you expected, 'but that’s life!!’
I guess, in retrospect, that with owners like that, we should not be expecting anything. We obviously will not leave it there and we will take it as far as we possibly can. My only advice is STAY AWAY FROM THAT DUMP!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, where they will be up-front and tell you the truth, before you book. We have su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morgan's Bay
7.1 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
394 reviews
15.3 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
296 reviews
6.5 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mitford Hotel
Mitford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Morgan's Bay
36 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Bay Hotel

Property: Morgan Bay Hotel
Address: 41 Beach Road | No Suburb, Morgan's Bay 5292, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Morgan's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morgan's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all that the magnificent Wild Coast has to offer at the family friendly Morgan Bay Hotel, situated just 45 minutes drive from East London and nestled between a mile of unspoilt beach and breathtaking cliffs. The Morgan Bay Hotel is situated just off the beach and boasts comfortable and relaxing accommodation with magnificent sea and beach views. The hotel also features a modern wedding and conference venue, beauty spa, beach boutique and a ala carte restaurant and pub. You will be spoilt for choice when it comes to activities to keep busy. These include swimming, sun tanning, hiking, canoeing, fishing, beach combing, horse riding and abseiling to name a few. Facilities at the hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, games room, pool table, table tennis and darts. A golf course, squash courts and tennis courts are available nearby. For the less adventurous, our beauty spa offers a range of massage treatments to help you relax and unwind. Or why not enjoy a cocktail on the deck enjoying a 180 degree view of the rugged Wild Coast and Indian Ocean. Surround yourself with good friends, great food and create long lasting memories. Discover why the Morgan Bay Hotel is fast becoming one of South Africa's favourite family holiday destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Morgan Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Hotel South Africa/Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing