We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morgan Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$106
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Trennerys Hotel(Kei Mouth)
$111
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gonubie Hotel(Gonubie)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quarry Lake Inn(East London)
$137
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Osner(East London)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kennaway Hotel(East London)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveler rating
336
127
21
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
127
21
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roommorgan baywild coastfamily holidaybreakfast and dinnerdeck restaurantlike coming homeall agespersonal touchgreat foodindian oceanhome from homesouth africafamily run hotelsound of the waveswonderful familylovely beach
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 501 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We first visited Morgs in 1970 for our honeymoon and have been back numerous times since then. Each holiday has been wonderful. The setting is spectacular, the food delicious and the staff have always been so kind and welcoming. It is certainly a "home from home" hotel with the added personal touch. We moved to the U.K. in 1987 and have done a lot of travelling, but still return to our favourite place as often as we can.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

this hotel is something really special - a family owned hotel with all the staff feeling part if the family..... and including you the guest.
its a few steps down to the beach.. which incidentally is a lovely wide open beach - lovely to walk on and enjoy.
although we dont have young children, i would say whether you have young family, or just you... you WILL enjoy.... the meals, the hospitality and the homeliness

Room Tip: you need not stay in a seafacing room - as long as you ask for one overlooking the pool, as it still has a view and you dont have the sea air blowing directly into your room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've just returned from our 11th annual family seaside holiday at Morgan Bay Hotel (MBH). For those families looking for a relaxing family oriented holiday at the coast, the MBH over Christmas and New Year is just the place. We've returned each year to smiling familiar faces and staff who have gone out of their way to accommodate special needs, such as a non-meat eater or assisting with bringing a breakfast tray to the room to allow for a late lie in. Our suite, situated in the annexe, is spacious and comfortable for our family of five. The hotel, located on the beach and next to the lagoon is a safe environment for children of all ages to make friends. The high season full board lodging offers the best food on the Wild Coast, with buffets for breakfast and
lunch, while dinner is a four course table d'hote. The Friday evening seafood buffet is a treat. Children are entertained by an in house organiser while the menu for the younger guests caters for their simpler tastes in a kiddies dining room. The Deck restaurant and bar was a great venue for a night cap and the opportunity to listen and or dance to some good local music. Our December 2013 holiday is already booked and we look forward to returning - it's like coming home!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

In February 2012, we booked a family holiday at Morgan's Bay Hotel from the 17th to the 27th December, 2012 (we booked two rooms which were supposed to be near each other; one for my wife and I and one for our daughter of seventeen). Their advert referred to a relaxing, family environment (it even mentioned somewhere that it was an ideal environment for quiet reading!!).
We booked in on the 17th December, after travelling from Johannesburg, over 2 days. First sign of disappointment was the fact that when we arrived at the hotel, there was nowhere to park our car. We were told that it is on a first come first serve basis and that we just had to find parking wherever we could. In fact you have to park your car, in the street in front of the hotel, and leave it there for the duration of your holiday (at the mercy of the elements and all other possible dangers, such as drunken people, which there were a fair number of, in the evening).
Second sign of a problem was when we were taken to our rooms; they were on different floors with different access (some parts of the hotel do look like a maze!!). Both the rooms we were put in were adjacent to a new building, housing a large pub, which had recently been built. In fact you could jump from our rooms onto the deck of the pub; that’s how close it was!!
The next sign of things not being quite like we expected was when we went on the beach for a walk and to see what was on offer; there was a group of about a dozen horses that walked/galloped next to us, in a single file; we were then standing in ankle-deep water on the sea-shore and the horses passed us, walking/galloping in and out of the water. These horses smelt absolutely terrible and seemed to have had stomach problems as they poo'd all the way while they were walking/galloping, to such an extent that when we looked at our feet once they had passed us, the water was turned in a sea of horse-poo ... and that was also where a large number of young kids were playing and most of the folks were standing!
When we went to dinner, in the early evening, we had heard the sound of a guy playing music in the pub (yes, the one adjacent to our rooms!!). We figured that it would stop a bit later on; when it was a time when usually, people go to bed (after all it was advertised as a quiet, family hotel!!). Low and behold, once we had got back to our rooms after dinner, the music became louder and louder (right next to our windows, remember!) and the people in the pub, who were visitors caravanning at the nearby caravan park (which the hotel had also recently acquired, but kept it a secret!!), were getting more and more drunk and also more and more loud! To cut a long story short; the music and the deafening noise only stopped at three o'clock in the morning!! This, we found out, was to be the norm, every night of our 'quiet' holiday, until the New Year!
Needless to say, we asked to see the owner first thing in the morning after only getting a couple of hours sleep. A gentleman came in, introducing himself as the owner, but with a long face, looking ready for an argument, totally unfriendly, without a semblant of even a fraction of a smile; he seemed to know exactly what we were going to tell him as when we mentioned our ordeal, he immediately said that he had organised another room for us, which he admitted was not the same quality and was much smaller and would house both us and our daughter of seventeen! He did not seem to have any interest in our plight and gave us the impression that we were wasting his time. He offered neither sympathy nor apologies. He, in fact, tried to justify the noise as he said that they had just purchased the caravan park and had recently built the pub and as such, they needed to make money!! We could not believe what we are hearing! As a gesture, we agreed to have a look at the alternative accommodation that he was suggesting; we should have known better; it was a small pokey room, where you could barely swing a cat, with a small bathroom (just with a bath) and they expected us to stay in that room, for 10 days, with our seventeen year old daughter sleeping in a small nook, at the entrance of the room!
We wasted no more time and packed our bags and made for the reception. The staff at the reception seemed absolutely embarrassed and sympathised with us. We asked that we be refunded our deposit and all our expenses, which the lady at the reception agreed to organise the next morning, when the accounts lady came to work. As if we had not been treated badly enough, the gentleman who came to see us (who claimed to be the owner), was heard by my wife, asking the receptionist if we had already vacated our rooms!!
We left the hotel, totally and utterly disgusted and with the anticipation that, at least we would not be losing any money, as they had agreed to refund us our deposit and expenses. You've guessed it; this turned out to be wishful thinking; we received an e-mail from a lady claiming to be the real owner, saying to us that they would only refund us the deposit. The worst thing of all, she ended the e-mail saying that; ‘it was unfortunate that what you experienced at the hotel was not what you expected, 'but that’s life!!’
I guess, in retrospect, that with owners like that, we should not be expecting anything. We obviously will not leave it there and we will take it as far as we possibly can. My only advice is STAY AWAY FROM THAT DUMP!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, where they will be up-front and tell you the truth, before you book. We have subsequently spoken to many people who have had less than average experiences in this establishment and will not go back!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having last spent a holiday at Morgan’s Bay nearly 35 years ago, coming back was a bit like stepping back in time, in a good way. While, as to be expected, it is a lot more developed and the hotel has added on some on additional facilities such as The Deck restaurant and bar- and a Spa, this family-run hotel has stuck to what has made it so popular. Welcoming staff, great food, relaxing home-from-home atmosphere, and an unspoilt Wild Coast beach just a stone’s throw away. The rooms are comfortable with those facing the ocean, offering spectacular views- especially as at sunrise and sunset. Soap, shampoo and body cream were provided in the bathroom which was a decent size, although the lack of a shower curtain did result in us flooding the floor fairly often. There was no mini-bar in any of the four rooms we stayed in which can be a bit of a problem if you like to have cooled water and drinks during the day without having to pop into the bar each time. While we were there over Christmas, three superb full meals were offered each day, all included in the overall cost of accommodation. And the wines on offer were not disappointing at all! On the hotel’s website under “Things to Do” some of the activities offered include abseiling, rock climbing, 4×4 Excursions, fishing (Deep sea & fly), surfing, horse riding, jet skiing, which got our kids quite excited before we got there. However, these are not offered by the hotel itself and you need to contact the respective ‘activity suppliers’ based around Morgan’s Bay. When we enquired about hiring jet skis we were advised that this did not exist and we were advised “you can do it but you need to bring your own jet ski”. Overall we had a really fun time so, if you are into wonderful family holidays with long walks on the beach or over the cliffs, eating great food and enjoying fine wine while the sun sets, then Morgan’s Bay is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the sea
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews