We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northern Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunnet
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good country hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for two nights as we were going to the Orkneys for a day trip. Unfortunately my wife became ill so we ended up staying three nights. The host was very helpful, changing our ferry arrangements and generally being a good host. By the third night I was getting to know the locals in the bar. The food was very good, both dinner and breakfast. The restaurant was very popular and was full every night. The bed room was small and could do with renovating but was very clean. This hotel is near an excellent beach and caravan park, the nearest town being Thurso about 18 miles away.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    59
    30
    12
    2
See reviews for
25
68
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have been meaning to write this review for some time. I can't comment on the accommodation as we haven't stayed there. We have a holiday cottage in Dunnet but we eat at the Northern Sands Hotel quite often and the food is really good. It is fresh, well cooked and the portions are generous. I would thorougly recommend their "Dunnet Mushrooms". It is a starter but my husband likes them so much that he orders them as a main course. We took some friends who had come to stay with us there for dinner and they said the Lasagne was the best they had ever tasted.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Tired Hotel taking advantage of the lack of accommodation in the area. Staff were friendly but as only diners in the restaurant was not happy having to send a starter back for overcooking.
My partner felt rooms were too small with ineffective shower and minute wall mounted tv

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger050950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I last stayed here over 6 years ago. The hotel and staff are great. Food is good and plenty of it. Rooms are spacious and have all you need including free view TV, tea and coffee facilities. Showers could do with being more powerfull but that's purely a personal thing from someone who likes a shower to blow your head off. Great Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimTheCrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were attending a function in the hotel on Saturday night so only stayed the one night. We were met at reception and shown our room by the friendly owner. We had a lovely, freshly cooked meal in the restaurant Would recommend the Spinach & Ricotta Cannelloni and the Sirloin steak. The room itself was clean and comfortable. Would certainly stay there again should we be in Caithness.
PS They've run out of Glenfiddich now!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil SG, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We chose the Northern Sands because it is very close to the Ferry Port for the Orkney Islands. We didn't realise at the time of booking that it was also very close to the most wonderful beaches! Luckily we arrived in time and had time to go and play on the beaches - it's beautiful! We also saw a beautiful forest, but didn't have more time to go and explore it...

The room was ok for the four of us, the children in a bunkbed, half way in the hall, but no door in between. Still, it enabled us to leave a reading light on without disturbing them, which was very convenient!
In the hotel everything seems a little old, but it's all clean and in order.

We had both our dinners in the restaurant as the food is unbelievably good and all very fresh.

The management was also very helpful!
As we were travelling for 3 weeks we had asked in advance if we could leave some of our washing there to be washed while we were on the Orkney Islands - and were extremely grateful that we could! It was all clean and ready for us two days later when we returned! Brilliant!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milsom-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

I read the more recent reviews again before writing this and noticed that there is quite a time gap between the more recent 4. Interested to read the ones about rooms being updated...

We had room 10 and it was massive. We were travelling with 4 other couples so we took 5 of their rooms for 2 nights. Ours was by far the largest. The others were more normal size. It felt as though each of us had a niggle though – for us it was a large bathroom window that would not close and an ancient towel rail that did not work (the owner was aware of the latter and was waiting for an electrician to call). We noticed another window was nailed shut. I wonder if the couple given a small room (Feb 11 review) at the back of the hotel were put there because it was a nice warm room. Even though it was nice weather in July we felt more comfortable with the electric heater on when we were in the room for any length of time because of the drafty bathroom window. The heater was very efficient and kicked out plenty of heat but the sliding temperature setter was loose and did not want to stay in any position except full on or, with some coaxing, minimum. We had been on a tour of Scotland and by the time we arrived at Northern Sands we had very recently stayed in 3 other establishments – so it is perhaps easy to be critical when this was the cheapest.

I think the white tiling and electric shower in our bathroom were new as was the bed linen. There was no where to put your soap in the shower cubicle. There was carpet on the bathroom floor and disposable paper bath mats. I don’t think the carpet and curtains were new but it was such a large room and the windows very tall that it would cost a fortune to do. Everything is clean and tidy.

The meals were very nice and it was great that we did not feel the need to travel elsewhere to eat; we all chose to eat there both nights. The young waiting staff were very friendly and chatty. There is a lovely short walk to the beach after dinner and, as we were there in July, it was light until about half past 10. The scrambled eggs in the morning were the best I have tasted in many years – nice and creamy. The Northern Sands also has a public bar and prices were very reasonable.

When booking this hotel I was keen to find a place that could accommodate us all close to John O’Groats and this was. It is even closer to the Castle of Mey, to which we thoroughly enjoyed a visit (nice café too). Dunnet Head needs to be visited as the most northerly point but was very windy. There is a Post Office in nearby Castletown and, if you bank with the right banks, you can get cash over the counter using your debit card.

All in all the Northern Sands has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aging-Bike-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnet
0.0 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#3 of 6 in John O'Groats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Sands Hotel

Property: Northern Sands Hotel
Address: Main Street, Dunnet KW14 8XD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Dunnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel in the northern highlands of Scotland closest hotel to Britain’s most northerly point of Dunnet Head and overlooking the spectacular Dunnet Sands. Great situation for outdoor pursuits. Well known for our fine food using the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing