We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sepulveda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Henstridge, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fantastic location, excellent restaurant, the suckling lamb was to die for. Friendly and efficient staff, though english was a bit limited but that was no probelm. Room was fine but not exceptional but value for money very good. We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks a lot for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    78
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
127
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Vado del Duraton. Staff were hugely helpful and pleasant, the room was large and nicely decorated. However, as noted in a previous review Sepulveda is very quiet during the week. We also found it quite an unfriendly town and were treated quite rudely by some of the locals. It is also pretty much impossible to find a restaurant that serves vegetarian food in the town. Sepulveda is still worth visiting if just for the ancient buildings and the Rio de Duraton nature reserve. However, prepare yourself for a cold reception from the locals. It's very much a local town for local people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Unz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks a lot for your survey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel was clean, quiet, modern, centrally located, with very friendly staff and very reasonably priced. A few points to note: no laundry facility; minibar came with just two small bottles of water; air conditioning can only be turned on or off by reception. Also: the town of Sepulveda is very quiet during the week (with various restaurants actually closed) and really only livens up at the weekends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thanks Anthony for your opinion, have communicated congratulate the cleaning lady.
As for the mini-bar, instead of charging us the minibar and have more things rather have the detail with our clients give them two bottles of water chilly and if we want to take something apart from our cafeteria open 10 to 23 each day.
The people, you're right it is very quiet midweek and restaurants take advantage of to give the day off to employees, the Sepulveda weekends are very many people
Laundry comes 4 times a week, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays, other days we have Laundry Service is a service as external to us
We are delighted to haberte had as a customer and will be happy to come at any other time.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Second visit. We wanted to spend more time exploring the wonderful old town of Sepuldeva. The hotel is in a quiet location within the city walls....private car-parking a bonus. The staff were pleasant and very helpful, ( a broken toilet was fixed immediately). It is clean, comfortable, with very pleasant rooms. Maybe bathrooms could have a little update...but I am being picky. Breakfast is very basic...but this is rural Spain. Make up for this with the traditional milk-fed lamb or suckling pig later on...delicious! Stay 2/3 nights to have time to explore the medieval town and to visit the amazing gorge of the Duraton River. Walks in the national park are many and vary in difficulty....something for everyone. We would definitely go back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pensi0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thanks a lot for your survey, you will be welcome in our hotel when you want
Sepulveda is always amazing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Very clean, with spacious rooms, very smart bathroom and effective air-con. Very friendly staff and Estrella speaks good English. Fridge in room with a few complimentary soft drinks.

The communal lounge with games is pleasant enough and the sun terrace a lovely place for a glass of wine in the evening. Didn't use the bar/cafeteria, looked quite smoky.

Parking is plentiful and free but not secure, however you'd be unlucky to have anything damaged or stolen in a place as small and sleepy as Sepulveda!

The only "con": hotel seemed slightly faded from glory in places, eg. breakfast room was a bit drab (breakfast itself also average), but friendly faces make up for this.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farlsborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director Comercial at Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your survey,youwill be welcome in our hotel when you want
Sepulveda is beautiful during all year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Sepúlveda is a charming medival walled town approx 1 hour north of Madrid. It is close to Las Hoces Del Rio Duration national park and also has some great walking within 5 minutes of the centre.

The hotel is designed so that it appears to have several "wings" off a cental lobby area. Our room was on the first floor which also had a generous communal lounge space with TV, board games and a sunny roof terrace. Other facilities include a bar/cafe, another communal lounge and breakfast room. The adjacent restaurant with views across the valley is also owned by the hotel (or vice versa) and offers a discount to hotel guests.

Our room was large, clean and airy with a mini bar and air conditioning.

The staff were always helpful and friendly, especially Estrella (a star in every sense of the word).

The final bonus is that the hotel has free parking.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for your detailed review, we are glad you enjoyed both your stay in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Looking to break our car journey from Malaga to Bilbao, we happened upon this town and this hotel, an hour or so North of Madrid. Sepulveda is a beautiful (and unspoiled) Medieval town full of excellent restaurants and bars. The hotel is an architectural gem, but with every modern amenity - and, it's central with (free) secure parking. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful, and when did you last find a personally-addressed and hand-written note in your room from the manager wishing you a pleasant stay? Plus, there was a free mini-bar of mineral water and soft drinks. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExpatSouthernSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
ExpatSouthernSpain, thanks a lot for your survey
Lovely people
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepulveda
0.1 mi away
Hospederia de los Templarios
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Puente del Duraton
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta Sepulveda
Hotel Puerta Sepulveda
#4 of 4 in Sepulveda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Hoces Del Duraton
12.0 mi away
Hospederia de Santo Domingo
11.3 mi away
Hotel Mirasierra
Hotel Mirasierra
#1 of 2 in Santo Tome Del Puerto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton

Property: Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton
Address: Calle Santos Justo y Pastor 10 | Next to Fueros Museum, 40300 Sepulveda, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Sepulveda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sepulveda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Vado Duraton Sepulveda is a charming rural hotel located next to the Tourist Office in the historic town of Sepulveda , where you can unwind from a day of long walks along the River Gorges Duraton.Ideal to turn in your room reading or playing a ludo , chess ... In our haste fuera.Y hotel stay for those who can not disconnect we have free Wifi in all our instalaciones.Ofrece a service aimed at maximum enjoyment of their customers, because it merecen.Gayfriendly.Descuentos to organize the activity moteros.Te uieras canoes , massage , horse riding , theatrical tours ... Whatever you want for your holiday unforgettable .If you have any food allergies communicate it in reserve for breakfast have what can only eat.The Sepulveda with lift and parking special gratuito.Precios own for groups from 5 rooms. You deserve it . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Rural Vado del Duraton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing