We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vale do Lobo

Vale do Lobo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vale do Lobo Golf & Beach Resort offers a unique concept in luxury living. 1,500 residential and holiday properties, makes it the largest luxury resort of its kind in Portugal with endless facilities and services in a unique location
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

VDL as it's known to the locals remains one of the top spots for all kinds of activities and fun all year. The facilities are immaculate and cater for all tastes.

Helpful?
Thank Firas_Alnaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments about Vale do Lobo. We aim to provide a unique luxury experience for all of our guests and it is wonderful to hear that we have met your expectations.
Thank you again for taking the time to let others know about Vale do Lobo and we hope to welcome you back to the resort in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    44
    12
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Liked the privacy we had at he villa we rented but also that the beach was within an easy 10 minute walk. Local supermarket has a decent choice and not overly priced so it is possible to stay heer without the need for car hire. There is a local bus that tours around the development but you need to join the Vale do Lobo membership scheme which is 40 euros and not worth it as we never saw the bus going round and in honesty you can walk everywhere

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review and pass on your comments about your stay in Vale do Lobo.
We are pleased to here that you found the facilities to be suitable to your holiday needs and hope to be able to welcome you back for another stay in the near future.
The Vale do Lobo internal shuttle bus circulates around the resort and stops at various designated points. If you would like the bus to pick you up from your accommodation then guests simple need to call reception and the bus will be sent directly. Many people choose to use the bus while staying in the resort but equally it is more than possible to get around on foot - which can be especially enjoyable when the sun is shining!
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Over-priced, boring for children”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I'm currently at Vale do Lobo and wanted to write a "live" report.
On the plus side it is very attractive, very clean, right by the sea, beautiful views. So far the staff in the restaurants, shops, reception, tennis club and security have been very helpful and friendly.
On the negative side however everything is ridiculously expensive. Food and drinks in the resort are extortionate. It is 15e per adult to use the pool. To use the circuit bus it is a minimum of 25e for the week, per person! The resort is so big that you really need this if you don't have a car or it will cost you 10e every time you get a taxi to the supermarket.
The weather is not great this week and so there is absolutely nothing to do (even if you play golf/tennis that is not so much fun in high winds and rain!). The pool is closed and the sea is too rough. The nearest town, Almancil, is a dump although you can actually get some reasonably priced Portuguese food there unlike in the resort.
We have come here with my 18 month old toddler and there is nothing for him at all. There is one tiny tiny playground but all the equipment is for older children so he can't climb on the slide or go on the swings. We could use the kids club but at 14e an hour it is beyond our reach.
I appreciate this is a luxury resort but the place is almost empty, surely the facilities could be cheaper out of season? Most of the time they are completely empty anyway.
I am very disappointed and will not be coming back, nor will I recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
5 Thank hhmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and taking the time to write "live" comments about your stay in Vale do Lobo.
We are very happy to hear that you have found the staff and resort to be of a very high standard and in line with that of a luxury resort.
We are unable to dictate the prices charged by linked operators within the resort, however clients who book a stay in Vale do Lobo directly through our tourism department are able to take advantage of numerous discounts and promotions through our resort and welcome cards.
The Vale do Lobo resort card offers:
50% discount on Royal and Ocean Golf Courses green fees
10% discount at the Royal Spa
50% discount at the Fitness Centre
Complimentary use of the Tennis Academy courts, pool and gym
Complimentary access to the beach-side swimming pool complex
Complimentary access to FunZone - recreational centre with the latest gaming consoles (for the over 12’s)
25% discount at the Kangaroo Club
Complimentary use of the Internal Circuit Bus
Discounts at the Vale do Lobo restaurants, bars and shops and when hiring golf equipment.
We have found that clients are very happy with this offering as it cuts the cost of a family holiday dramatically.
Information about the Resort and Welcome cards can be obtained through our official website or by visiting Resort Reception.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope that this information may encourage you to reconsider choosing Vale do Lobo as a holiday destination in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Vale Do Lobo Royal Course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I visit Vale Do Lobo every year, sometimes a few times a year always staying in the same Villa which is fantastic. We've just got back from another trip to celebrate a 40th birthday. This time we played the Royal Course, probably for the last time. The course was in good condition, but once again, we felt that we were not made welcome by the staff. It started by us being forced to have buggies when we wanted to walk, this resulted in 4 buggies which weren't wanted. I enjoy the etiquette of golf and found it very annoying with the starters walkie talkie constantly going off when teeing off. Once playing, we were being held up by a 4 ball in front of us but the Marshall kept telling us to be quicker, unless we were allowed to play through, this was impossible. We're back in August, but this time I think we'll try other courses where we will be made welcome .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments.
On the Royal Golf Course it is compulsory for non-members to take a buggy before 10.30am. This rule is part of the contract between the members and the course since 1997, the date of the opening of the Royal Golf Course.
This information is passed on to all of our commercial partners who are responsible for informing the clients beforehand, and also to the clients making direct bookings. The Staff have no intention of forcing a client to take a buggy, it is a rule which is part of a contract.
In order to provide our clients with the best possible experience during their visit the starter and the marshal sometimes have to communicate during the day via radio. Although the radio volume is kept very low to avoid disturbing the clients on the tee, it is possible that clients can hear in some occasions, although we always do our best to avoid this situation.
The Vale do Lobo golf courses are visited by clients of several nationalities, playing abilities and playing paces. In order to ensure that all of our clients have an enjoyable game, our staff work to regulate the players pace of play along the round. It is recommended that the clients stay just behind the group in front during their round in order not to negatively affect the experience of the clients playing behind. In this case perhaps the Marshal requested the group in front to play faster and informed the group behind to not loose contact with the players in front, after they changed their pace of play.
Thank you again for your review and comments and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Vale do Lobo for a round of golf in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach with nice bars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Visited here with the intention of spending the afternoon by the sea and val de lobo suited us perfectly.
You have to pay to rent a sun bed and umbrella, which are very good condition or there is space to lay if you choose not to do this.
The area around the beach from has restaurants and bars that are all very modern.
This is the best beach we have visited in the area so far

Helpful?
Thank Tegan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for visiting Vale do Lobo and for taking the time to write such a positive review.
We are very proud of the conditions at the beach here and strive to offer a first class service to guests through our beach amenities and the restaurants, pools and bars next to the beach in the Praça complex.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vale do Lobo also viewed

 
Quinta do Lago, Faro District
 

Been to Vale do Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing