We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Vale do Lobo Resort(Almancil)(Great Value!)
$359
$350
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$456
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ria Park Hotel&Spa(Vale do Garrao)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Magnolia Hotel(Almancil)(Great Value!)
$202
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zodiaco(Quarteira)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments(Almancil)(Great Value!)
$311
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$362
$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atismar(Quarteira)
$189
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
150
136
65
19
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
136
65
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan lorenzo golf coursegolf triprefurbished roomgolfers stayinggolfing friendsgreen feesegg stationgreat golfplaying golfpremium roomstar standardvisited this hotelan upgradecommon areaspinheiros altosbar priceshotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 381 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2017

returned from a lovely stay at Dona Filipa. Had a premier sea view room. Room was large, air con was good...lovely bathroom. Staff all very helpful. Its clearly undergone a lot of renovations recently....main dining area was not open, but there was a courtyard place open instead but you want to check out your room as your book.....a lot dont have sea views and you could be disappointed,.. Breakfast was fast and efficient...great for golfers. Free shuttlebus to the golf was good, but beware as it only takes 6 golfers at a time, so if its busy you have to take a cab, allow plenty of time for this!! Would certainly go again to stay and as golfers it a great place to be.

Room Tip: ask about view from room
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Holly021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Just returned from another enjoyable 2 weeks. The upgrades to the dining room now called the Kamal restaurant are really lovely, beautiful breakfasts and the gala buffet nights are amazing. The pool area has also been completed to a high standard - i disagree with previous reviews in that we thought the pool temp was perfect, very refreshing after lying in 33 degree heat. The service at the beach where the hotel sunloungers are could be alot better, there is no assistance and you feel you are causing a problem if you order lunch at the beach. Also we found other tourists using the sunloungers when they are supposed to be exclusively for dona filipa residents. Hotel is fab though, rooms spotless, & hope to return next year!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

We can all spend time finding small faults with hotels but this one still remains my favourite and has undergone great improvements over the past 3 years and we are looking forward to seeing the final finish.

The refurbishment programme is still on-going and we have been lucky enough to visit for many years and have seen the improvements as they happen. We were warmly greeted by Vera on reception who swiftly dealt with our check-in and had our room ready early, thank you for this, it makes a huge difference when you arrive on an early flight!

We had a premium room overlooking the front of the hotel which we were delighted with, the housekeeping staff did a good job every day, thank you!

We love the new pool area and the new outdoor pool bar is beautifully located to enjoy a quiet drink in the shade. Great attention from the bar staff!

Moving the pool over and allowing us some space to sit outside to dine at breakfast is a welcome improvement.

The proximity to the Praca is fantastic and enables us to have the option of eating and drinking in either the hotel or the Praca or at the nearby golf club.

My one complaint is reserved for the temperature of the pool, it is beyond cold and many customers complaining about this everyday around the pool. It says you heat the pool in winter but it is much needed in the summer as well to ensure return visitors.

I'd like to see you add a lazy river to the bedrooms at the back of the hotel as swim up rooms, I'm sure that would be very popular in a beautiful setting.

Thank you once again Dona Filipa for another thoroughly enjoyable holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HappyHolsMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

This is our 4th year running for a long weekend break. We always stay in the newly refurbished rooms and they are excellent.
We were slightly concerned with the changes this year before our trip, but, I believe the changes enhance the hotel.
The new pool area is an upgrade, however, I believe the new pool being so large will need to be heated earlier in the season, say from september as it was uncomfortably cold for most of the stay.
We will return again next year as the hotel, location and golf are simply superb!

Room Tip: Newly refurbished rooms
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyhac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

Having been lucky enough to stay in hotels from the Shangri La In London to premier inns Country wide i feel qualified to express the following . I stayed at the hotel with my wife for 4 nights the transfer from the airport was organised by the hotel without any problems. The check in was quick and painless an upgrade to a suite was well received with a complementary drink .
The room 325 was one of the new type , well laid out with a balcony and beautiful views over the pool towards the Praca . We used the balcony several times for sunbathing it having loungers and chairs with an electric canopy when required .
We discovered that the room was without a hair dryer but within 5 mins of a call to reception one was in the room .
The pool area generally has been finished to a high standard , there is a bar conveniently situated and we never had a problem getting a lounger or towel . We used the restaurant next to the pool for breakfast and lunch . We found the quality of the food and service to be excellent with the omelettes at breakfast a stand out I didn't have to wait more than a couple of mins for the chap to cook them .
The manager who was a lovely chap made a point of speaking to the quests everyday he really seemed to care that you were having a great time this attitude was reflected by every member of staff we met .
We used the bar in the evening before going down to the Praca we found it very relaxing we never availed ourselves of the entertainment.
The prices of the food and drink are not out of the ordinary for this standard of hotel .
Having stayed at the hotel previously I will most certainly be returning and would recommend it to anyone .

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank TheEasyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews