We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
155
138
67
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
138
67
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan lorenzo golf coursegolf triprefurbished rooman upgradethe grilllast yearhotel staffomelettepinheiros altosround of golfvisited this hotelbar staffbreakfast was excellentgolfing friendsgolf clubbar pricesprivate area
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 392 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

Having been lucky enough to stay in hotels from the Shangri La In London to premier inns Country wide i feel qualified to express the following . I stayed at the hotel with my wife for 4 nights the transfer from the airport was organised by the hotel without any problems. The check in was quick and painless an upgrade to a suite was well received with a complementary drink .
The room 325 was one of the new type , well laid out with a balcony and beautiful views over the pool towards the Praca . We used the balcony several times for sunbathing it having loungers and chairs with an electric canopy when required .
We discovered that the room was without a hair dryer but within 5 mins of a call to reception one was in the room .
The pool area generally has been finished to a high standard , there is a bar conveniently situated and we never had a problem getting a lounger or towel . We used the restaurant next to the pool for breakfast and lunch . We found the quality of the food and service to be excellent with the omelettes at breakfast a stand out I didn't have to wait more than a couple of mins for the chap to cook them .
The manager who was a lovely chap made a point of speaking to the quests everyday he really seemed to care that you were having a great time this attitude was reflected by every member of staff we met .
We used the bar in the evening before going down to the Praca we found it very relaxing we never availed ourselves of the entertainment.
The prices of the food and drink are not out of the ordinary for this standard of hotel .
Having stayed at the hotel previously I will most certainly be returning and would recommend it to anyone .

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank TheEasyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

I have stayed here several times the hotel is in a great location .It is the middle of being modernised we stayed in the old rooms which are ok but not great . The breakfast was very poor and you had to wait ages for a cooked egg which is something you dont expect from are 5 star ,the staff are excellent from check in to the bar staff and cleaners overall very nice and we will go back

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Old rooms maybe dated but at least they have character! Refurbished rooms you could be anywhere in the world. sadly nothing portuguese . Staff are fabulous, especillay the ones that have been there for ages,very welcoming and helpful. Kangaroo Club free if you stay for seven nights and was wonderful… 5 and 7 year old absolutely loved it! TV not great but encourages children to be outdoors!
Beach is so close and pool area great. It probably isn't a 5 Star Hotel but neither are the prices. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent. Only negative was sun loungers being reserved by guests and non residents at the front of the beach. It should be first come first served, not the beach attendant reserving these.

Room Tip: Rooms overloking the golf course have great views or suites overlooking the pool area
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017

The staff are always friendly and welcoming but our room was very dated and being first floor had no view to speak of. TV was spasmodic and wifi was poor again despite our complaints from a year ago.The restaurant and pool upgrade are very good and the link with San Lorenzo golf club make for a reasonably priced break. The golf club lacks care and attention these days and the " rack rate" of €190 a round is laughable.Even a buggy is €50!!!
Overall , we enjoyed our visit( we've probably been there 7 or 8 times now) but it's only because of cheap(er) all inclusive offers. Published prices and golf fees are frankly ridiculous - look out for special deals or you'll be disappointed and out of pocket!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank miketait1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

We've been visiting the DF hotel for the past 5 years. They have made many modern improvements to it and the inside renovations are great. The staff are lovely and the manager a really friendly man that doesn't sit in his office but comes out, helps his staff and meets the guests. The new rooms are beautiful , there are still more to do, but this is coming, so make sure you request on booking a new room as the old ones are shabby.

The problem lies in the fact the hotel lacks any spark, the lovely bar inside is always empty, there is an outside Terrace to this bar that again is empty, it is bland and lacks character so no one goes there. Maybe some twinkly lights, or candles on the tables. They sometimes have a singer but it's just not enough. It should be buzzy with people from inside and outside the hotel.

They have also made improvements to the pool area. We used to love coming back from the beach and having a drink in the sun at the outside bar, there used to be sofas and it had a real holiday feel. Now this is all gone, replaced with a larger modern pool that takes up all the space, it is sleek and minimalistic but better suited to a boutique city hotel. Now if you want a drink you are forced to sit on the outside Terrace of the restaurant that is mainly laid for breakfast and is difficult to attract a waiter. It's so close to the pool edge in peak season when there are lots of kids you are deluged by a tidal wave of splashing and inflatables. There needs to be a nice outside seating area that adults can relax and enjoy, or kids can get an ice cream. The waiter service around the pool on the sun beds was non existent, when I asked for the cocktail of the day as displayed on a board they didn't know what I was talking about.

The restaurant too has had a face lift, it also lacks atmosphere and is always empty apart from breakfast. The evening we ate there was a BBQ night, there was no outside BBQ just chargrilled food under silver heated domes inside. The seating outside was dimly lit by wall lights, no table candles or little touches and then in stark contrast the empty inside was fully illuminated with bright lights and no ambience. There were only a few people eating, it was soulless and disappointing, like an office canteen. Ironically there had been a good band in the late afternoon around the pool, but everyone was busy sleeping or sunbathing to appreciate them, and were just a bit irritated by them. They should have been booked for the evening, it would have given the restaurant a focus.

This is an excellent hotel, that could be a real gem for people that want a good more sophisticated time that are seeking to escape the Praća, with its hoard of toddlers dancing to 'love train' or bunches of teenagers waiting around for the Gecko to open. Spikes restaurant in the golf reception seem to have it right with a good mix of food, fun, relaxation but all in a lovely grown up setting with a modern edge.

I really feel there needs to be some kind of events management team that make the hotel appealing to outside visitors or guests to stay in and enjoy. Maybe introduce a Friday brunch, with music, Bovino steak restaurant in Quinta have done this very successfully, or a Sunday lunch with bottomless fizz and entertainment, everyone loves to feel they are getting something for free, or give out vouchers on the beach for happy hour by the pool with DJ or 2 for one cocktails with canapés. It doesn't have to be tacky or down market, you can state a dress code or an age limit. Have a magician or face painting for the younger children in peak holiday times. Once established the DF will become the upmarket place to go, not just to stay but to enjoy and have fun.

I will still continue to stay at the DF but really hope in the future I can enjoy the lovely spaces inside and out that are crying out to be buzzy and enjoyable.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews