We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Views

Lovely walk to the castle offering fantastic views as you approach. The castle itself offers... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Dominic A
via mobile
National trust trip

Had a lovely day at Castle. Nice walk from carpark along to castle. Saw lots of dolphins which... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Carole W
via mobile
Read all 1,187 reviews
  
Reviews (1,187)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveler rating
613
416
107
20
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
416
107
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english heritage lovely walk coastal walk car park national trust members nt members golf course kippers long walk jolly fisherman information boards stunning location embleton bay northumbrian coast free entry low newton guide book
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely walk to the castle offering fantastic views as you approach. The castle itself offers great views up and down the coast from the towers but beware there are no toilets at the castle and drinks are from a machine in the shop rather than a cafe.

Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Front Office Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. Dunstanburgh Castle has no piped water or electricity, so we can't have exciting things like a cafe. Our water supply is delievered in bottles on the back of a Land Rover. It's quite an impressive place. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely day at Castle. Nice walk from carpark along to castle. Saw lots of dolphins which thrilled my granddaughter.

Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Front Office Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review. Visitors often see dolphins from Dunstanburgh Castle; it does help if the sea is calm to spot them. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed walking along the coast line to the castle. We couldn’t visit the castle itself as we had our dog with us but the views were beautiful!

Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Front Office Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review. Like most Englsih Heritage sites, Dunstanburgh Castle welcomes dogs. We do recommend that you keep your dog on a lead as there are very sharp drops off the site. We look forward to welcoming you in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The walk from Craster is just breathtakingly beautiful and really adds to this castle. The walk was really busy, much busier than when we have previously done it but it doesn’t really detract from the visit and the castle didn’t feel busy at all. It is interesting and our teens and toddler all liked their visit. Plenty of exploring to do! We don’t often visit ruined castles but make an exception for this as it is so stunning. Views are amazing up and down the coastline from the castle, really demonstrating why it was built where it was. Good for the soul!

Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Front Office Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review. The walk from Craster is often popular with walkers hiking up or down the coastline, or just people wanting to stretch their legs in the direction of Dunstanburgh Castle. It's a great way to get your 10,000 steps. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The walk from Craster to Dunstanburgh Castle is an amazing walk. The beauty is quite breathtaking. The walk is generally flat but it is quite rugged in parts so don’t think you’ll be able to get a stroller or push chair over some parts of it. In my book this walk has to be one of the top 5 things to do in Northumberland

Thank jqdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Front Office Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review. Did you know ...the walk from Craster to Dunstanburgh Castle was named as one of the top ten in England by a national newspaper. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stunning location overlooking sea. Worth paying to walk amongst the ruins and around the perimeter, lots of wild flowers and spotted an owl and a sparrowhawk on our walk. Beautiful walk up from Craster, with detour onto beach to search for shells of which there were thousands! Says no toilets but there were porterloos on site, but you'd need to pay admission to use them. Lovely way to spend a few hours, and the children particularly enjoyed it.

Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Front Office Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. Dunstanburgh Castle is well known for it's bird life. We welcome nesting sea birds in the spring and say a renewed hello to all of our over-wintering birds in the autumn. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely breathtaking - can see the castle as you walk up from Craster. Didn’t expect the sandy beach behind the castle - so well worth going on past the castle. Could smell the kippers from Craster. Very thought provoking stroll.

Thank 143jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Front Office Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review. The Northumberland coastline has a lot to offer visitors, we hope you get a chance to take time and enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the walk to this castle. Parked in carpark then walked through village, passed the small harbour then up to the castle. Through open fields, must admit it was a lovely day so views were great. We didn’t go in side the ruins, but walked around the castle, pass the golf course then down to a gorgeous beach, wished I’d packed a picnic though. The walk there and back was a good few hours, so I was glad we d paid for day on carpark.

Thank loopyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Front Office Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review. Visitors to Dunstanburgh Castle often continue walking north to the beach and the village of Embleton or south to the village of Craster so it's always worth putting more money in for the car parking to save having to rush back. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful castle. We loved walking around the walls taking in the different views and also reading the information boards dotted around.

We went into the "front gatehouse" part, exploring the various floors, it was a beautiful day. Whilst we were happliy chatting away the atmosphere suddenly changed and it was as if the room had become very unwelcoming and "dark", this feeling (which my Husband obviously didnt notice as he was still wandering around quite happily) became so threatening and oppressive that I couldnt wait to escape!!

Shortly afterwards we left the castle and walking back to Craster I had a distinct feeling someone was following us for at least half the journey. Speaking to my husband later he laughed his head off, as I suspected, he hadn't noticed anything.

Really dont know what to think! Never experienced anything like that in my life - but I will be back again next year to see if it hapoens again!

Thank Miss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Front Office Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Dunstanburgh Castle has a lovely peice of folklore about a Knight called Guy the Seeker who is said to wander the ruins looking for a sleeping maiden. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dunstanburgh Castle lies between Craster and Embleton it's a great place to walk as all taste is catered for it has countryside, coast, nature, history, golf, geology and much more on offer. I was staying in Craster with my husband and because walking is our passion we decided to walk to Embleton bay taking in a visit to Dunstanburgh Castle on the way. National trust and English Heritage card holders can visit the castle for free so don't forget your card. The Castle is a 14th century fortification built by Thomas of Lancaster between 1313 and 1322 it's in ruins now but there is still enough left to give you a good idea of what it was once was. It's the landscape around that really captures the visitor I particularly like sitting near the cliffs at the base of the castle as the waves splash over the basalt rock. I am a very amateur photographer and I find I can get lost in the moment, and before I know an hour has passed. Make sure to take water and snack with you because chances are you will stay out longer than you intended.

Thank 905janettew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Front Office Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thnaks for a lovely review. The views from Dunstanburgh Castle often distract our visitors; we make sure you know when we get towards closing time. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews