We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in a beautiful setting by the sea”

The Jolly Fisherman Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Jolly Fisherman Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Craster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a beautiful setting by the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We arrived tired and hungry after a lovely walk to dunstanburgh castle. We saw the food sign, along with one saying "walkers welcome". We found an outside table overlooking the harbour. Food arrived quickly and was delicious - crab toasts with chowder, ploughmans with excellent local cheeses and chutney. Our son declared his fish goujons the best meal ever - the fish was fresh and coating crispy. All in all, exactly what we needed. The smokehouse nearby has provided kippers for tea. V happy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rooneyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    548
    236
    120
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely setting with views of the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The speciality of this pub in Craster is crab sandwiches. They were very tasty but expensive. We were on the balcony overlooking the fishing port and that was lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isobelessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I recently had lunch at this pub, i ordered 2 crab sandwiches and some chips, the chips were terrible, far too greasy, and the sandwich was nicely presented, apart from the stale bread!!! i waited at least 30 minutes to get this, however bar staff were very friendly, i do not recommend this pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jolly Fisherman not a jolly visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing visit. We called ahead to check food service times and were told we could eat in the bar with the dogs until 4pm, but we couldn't book. We were advised to come late as it would probably be less busy. Arrived at 2.30 and we're told they had stopped serving food - couldn't even get a bowl of chips. Very frustrating having walked from Embleton in the rain! We have been here before and know the food is amazing which just made it all the more disappointing.

Helpful?
6 Thank Frossty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_whitehead8, Owner at The Jolly Fisherman Pub, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused on your recent visit. We have always served food till 3pm, so can't understand why you were told 4pm. With regards to arriving at 2.30 and not getting served, on this day in question the kitchen had been extremely busy then the rain came and we were unindated with people wanting served, this could not be sustained and we had to stop so that everyone who had already ordered got the service expected. We are genuinely very sorry for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Taking advantage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Craster is a small place & had only a few eating establishments so you are stuck with paying the prices. The pub itself is nice & pleasant with happy staff but the price & quality if food is below average, you would expect something special for the crab sarniebut it is very plain & the crab soup is not that good, luke warm with shavings of crab. The chef needs to take a course in chip cooking they were brown, soggy & tasted vile. Overall nice place, but food is over priced & not that outstanding.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mamacg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_whitehead8, Owner at The Jolly Fisherman Pub, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your post and comments regarding the Crab Soup and Crab Sandwich. This recipe has been done for over 20 years and has never changed. It is very important to us that this stays the same. I checked with the Chef and he assures me the recipe had not changed. I'm sorry that it was disappointing for you. We sometimes find that it's about personal preference with the crab dishes. With the chips they should not be greasy and I have mentioned this to Chef. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Fisherman Pub also viewed

 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Embleton, Alnwick
 

Been to The Jolly Fisherman Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing