We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, mixed food review”

The Jolly Fisherman Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Jolly Fisherman Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Craster
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great pub, mixed food review”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have visited this pub many times and since its refurbishment it is a beautiful pub, great atmosphere and location. We had lunch there today for the most part the food was lovely. The fish was good, fishcakes a bit small but really tasty - good job we were not starving. The only let down was very oily cold chips. on the overall lovely place, with small improvements the food could be better

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Whits1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    570
    251
    125
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great crab soup”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We've been going to this pub for quite a few years for its famous crab soup. It has recently been taken over by new owners and has been re-furbished. It is a lovely pub with now has a shabby chic look. The food was really nice; it was Sunday lunch menu and there was a choice of about 6 starters and main courses. The beef with horseradish was served with a Yorkshire pudding and veg was really nice. The crab soup is still good ( although the flavour may have changed slightly since the it's changed hands) : at £6.95 for a bowl it may seem expensive but it has a lot of crab in it. Other family members had fish cakes, fish board and Smoked salmon salad with home made chips (these weren't part of the Sunday menu but they let us have them) and everyone enjoyed what the had. Some of the tables look out through large windows towards the sea and the views are great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leedsrubysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing crab sandwich in a great setting”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We came here for lunch following a long walk along the coast and were very impressed.

The pub was very busy but we found a table looking out to sea. We had a delicious crab sandwich, wonderful chips and a delightful fish platter. The staff were all friendly, the wait was short and the views outstanding.

We'd love to return in the summer to sit outside.

Helpful?
Thank Huge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were in Craster for a week over Christmas and ate at the pub three times, the last a family party of eleven. The restaurant is well-sited, overlooking the sea and a few steps above the bar area so you have space to dine but still feel part of the action. Food and service were first-class every time, even on the evening when they had three (count them, three) simultaneous Christmas parties under way at the bar. Wintertime lunch menu quite limited but the evening choice excellent, with a good seasonal and local bias.
Have eaten in summer on the pub's terrace, with its great views out to sea and to Dunstanburgh, but winter is snug and special. Recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful crab sandwich and chips!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Best crab sandwiches ever here. And the chips are to die for too. Because we couldn't decide what to have, we also had the mussels to share which were also amazing. Definitely worth a trip if you're in Northumberland!

Helpful?
Thank LindaD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Fisherman Pub also viewed

 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Jolly Fisherman Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing