We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty local ale and crab sandwiches”

The Jolly Fisherman Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Jolly Fisherman Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Craster
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty local ale and crab sandwiches”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Bustling and good atmosphere,cosy bar where dogs welcome. Good lunch time snacks especially the local crab sandwiches and good variety of local ales.Friendly locals too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    593
    261
    129
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We dropped in to the Jolly Fisherman on our return trip through Craster and thought we should compare it to the Robsons Smokehouse restaurant. The food is good, the crab soup is particularly nice.
Its a busy pub, but the staff handle the demands of their customers quickly, efficiently and with a smile.
Craster, which is hardly the largest place on the planet manages to have 2 excellent restaurants within 20 meters of each other, life can be so unfair.
I think the recommendation is that if in Craster lunch in one and dinner in the other

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OPC1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a change”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Jolly Fisherman has undergone a massive transformation since I was last there over two years ago, and it is still well worth a visit.
Gone are the sticky carpets and the dodgy decor. In is a new, fresh, seaside look, an extended upper deck and more seating, but watch out because you must book on a Sunday lunchtime if you want one of the best views of the sea.
My wife and I have been eating at the old Jolly Fisherman for years, attracted by its excellent crab sandwiches and homemade, cooked in beef dripping, chips. We turned up last Sunday at 11.55 a.m. (it opens at 12) and there must have been at least another 20 people waiting to get in. As I said, the interior has been modernised, but that was not the only thing that had changed. The menu is now very gastropub and the crab sandwiches are now almost £8 (they were about £3 last time I was there). Anyhow, the crab sandwich was fab (served with dressed leaves and a few crisps), and the soup my wife had was also very good. At £18 for this food plus two halves of lager it was not cheap, but the place was still very busy.
We returned two days later for lunch (no need to book) and had two very tasty hot beef and gravy sandwiches served with beef dripping cooked chips. We sat on the upper deck and had a really nice lunch. The place was again very busy.
Our most recent experiences were both good, and the food is very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Crab Sandwitches”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went in this Pub as the Bar area was Dog freindly and we were in need of warm refresment. The Crab Sandwitches are out of this world, plenty of fresh crab and fresh bread. We did return the next day and had another very good meal. There were other Dogs in the bar area and all very well behaved. If you like Crab this is a must visit place.
In warmer weather you can sit outside overlooking the sea.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“At last - the Jolly Fisherman is jolly good!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've been going to this pub for many years at all times of year. It has always been famed for the most brilliant crab soup and excellent crab sandwiches and good beer. However, under the previous owner it was becoming more and more morose, run-down and certainly not jolly. The toilets were a disgrace.

Now, under the new ownership of Blackmore of Alnwick restaurant fame it has been transformed. We actually stopped going for a couple of years in the 'Miserable Fisherman' period, preferring the ever-increasingly popular pub at Low Newton, up the coast.
What a transformation! Complete renovation - including the toilets - excellent balcony and best of all, good food and drink - including the old favourite soup. It's definitely more pricey but worth it.
So why not 5 stars? My only gripe is that paying with a credit card requires that you leave a card with the till if you want to keep a 'tab', not a sensible idea at all in this day and age. [Apparently they have had folks leaving without paying in the past].
My only tip is to get there either early or late for lunch - it's always busy, whatever time of year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rieverrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Fisherman Pub also viewed

 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Jolly Fisherman Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing