We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like Fish, Welcome to Paradise”

The Craster Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Craster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like Fish, Welcome to Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

When you walk into this lovely family restaurant, the first thing you a struck by is the wonderful smells of exquisitely prepared fish. For that to compete with the spectacular views over little Craster harbour, is an impressive achievement indeed. This restaurant is run by a local family that have smoked fish for many years but the younger generation have taken a cosmopolitan view of marriage, happily for us, so we see very welcome Portuguese and Brazilian influences in the food.

The kipper, by the way is not to be sniffed at. It is to be sniffed however but don't whatever you do eat it after 3pm! As you walk up to the restaurant there is a lovely smell of the smokehouse hanging in the air. Some of the simplest foods here are the best. The smoked haddock pate for instance, is exquisite.

This is the kind of restaurant where you really do get personal attention, the meal is a performance put on especially for you, the wines are appropriate and carefully chosen, you won't be penniless at the end of your feast and you feel like giving the whole thing a big loud round of applause. Very refreshing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    81
    14
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington,England
Level Contributor
335 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Restaurant Could Use An Update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Title says it all really the seafood was very good at a fair price. The service was very friendly but the décor is a bit dated (think 70's / early 80's) and had very little atmosphere.
We would probably just buy the kippers from the shop next time we visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Crofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The staff of the Craster Resturant throurly deserver this excellent review, it has been a long time since we have had food cooked so well. The menu is imaginative and based around the local catch of the day. The dishes are freshly prepared and well presented. If you are looking for a small friendly restaurant that is passionate about food and looking after their guests, then this is for you. The prawn cocktail is a must have, they have taken that 70's staple to a whole new level and they serve the best chips we have ever tasted. We tried to get the recipe but it is a closley garded secret! They were able to cope with my dierty needs and could amend some of the dishes for me at very short notice, (proof the food was freshly prepared). The food was so good and the staff so helpful we ate there repeatedly during our stay nearby. I wish we lived near enough to visit reguarly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this great little restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We've been to Craster many times and not noticed this great little place. Make sure you don't miss it!

You get a really warm welcome and fantastic service.

The food was fantastic quality. We had the Craster skink soup. A rich broth with fresh smoked haddock, leeks potatoes and flakes of those superb kippers. It was served with a selection of freshly baked artisan breads and was delicious.

Our son had fish and chips. He marked it 9/10, and that's high praise from the worlds pickiest eater. I couldn't resist a try and the fish was fresh with a crisp light batter. The home made chips were also very good too.

The restaurant has fantastic sea views and has a warm atmosphere. It's reasonably priced and good value for money.

We'll definitely go back next time we visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanineMackintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Back again to see what's new. The restaurant is lighter and brighter; the welcome was second to none and the food was superb. The hot crab starter was delicious and the prawn cocktail was packed with seafood and not loaded with sauce - just as I like it. We wish we didn't always go for the fish & chips but when they're this good.....! No room for dessert even though they looked tempting. Excellent as always, many thanks.

We just wish that the restaurant opening days & times could be displayed on the main Robson's Smokehouse website.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Craster Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Craster Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing