We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
181
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
181
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish tuna captain shane island lodge top notch black marlin his team next year sushi world class great trip these guys great food cubera snapper first rate bucket list top of the line
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a place! The fishing, food, and accommodations are top notch. Pretty impressive for being on a secluded island. Had the pleasure to fish with all three captains and they all put us on em. I’ll be Back!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank O2494QSjakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We fished with Captain Shane in Feb. 2020.
The meals rooms and all the staff were great.
The lodge is located on an island so makes the trip even that much more enjoyable.
Fishing was a little slow but still had a great time.
We will be back.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank 5kennethw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2020

Captain Shane's Panama Island Lodge exceeded expectations in every way. Both captains and first mates have great energy out on the water. The boats are quiet and clean as they have 4 stroke outboards, not the noisy diesel inboard engines that I have always fished on in the past. The boats are tri hulls so they are very stable. The staff on the island is very friendly and polite. The dinners at night were amazing and a highlight of the trip. The chef made lobster, conch, shrimp, sushi from the tuna we caught, sea food pizza, ribs and on and on. The lodges are very nice and clean and air conditioned with wifi and smart TV's. For once in my life I actually caught some huge fish out on the ocean. You will not be disappointed, if you book a trip with this company.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank FishBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Owner at Sport Fish Panama Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2020

Thanks so much for the review Mike! It was our pleasure hosting you guys. I will be sure to tell Chef Eduardo of your compliments. Looking forward to seeing you guys back soon! - Capt. Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2020

Sports Fish Panama Lodge is a world class operation on the edge of a phenomenal fishery. We caught 9 different species of fish over 2 ½ days. The boat and tackle were topnotch and the crew were passionate about putting us on fish. On our last day Captain Shane asked what we wanted to fish for. Joking around I told him “Blue Marlin and Sailfish in that order”. What did he deliver? Oddly enough a Blue Marlin followed by a Sailfish.

The lodge itself is absolutely perfect, very comfortable, clean, air conditioned, and a fully stocked self-service bar. We spent hours at night on the porch sharing quality family time while listening to the waves crash 30’ away.

The Chef must have been an Old Italian Grandmother in a previous life. The food he prepared was off the charts and he always made sure there was plenty of it. The meals are served family style where we had the pleasure getting to know other guests and Captain Shane.

Every aspect of Sports Fish Panama Lodge, from booking the trip, accommodations, and fishing is world class.

Thank you for the awesome memories my family will have forever!!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedom588537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Owner at Sport Fish Panama Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review Robert! It was our pleasure hosting you guys. I'm so glad the fish Gods were shining down on us favorably when you guys were here! Thanks again and hope to get you guys back down here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2020

Just returned from 5 nights, 4 days fishing with my son. Captain Juan and first mate Carlos were welcoming and put us on fish every day. We each got a Panama Grand Slam of Big Tuna (up to 160 pounds), Dorado, Sailfish, Blue Marlin on the trip.

First rate accommodations and excellent food every day from the staff.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Adelante14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews