We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Golfo de Chiriqui National Park
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
178
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
178
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish tuna captain shane island lodge top notch black marlin his team next year world class sushi first class great trip these guys great food cubera snapper first rate second to none
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sports Fish Panama Lodge is a world class operation on the edge of a phenomenal fishery. We caught 9 different species of fish over 2 ½ days. The boat and tackle were topnotch and the crew were passionate about putting us on fish. On our last day Captain Shane asked what we wanted to fish for. Joking around I told him “Blue Marlin and Sailfish in that order”. What did he deliver? Oddly enough a Blue Marlin followed by a Sailfish.

The lodge itself is absolutely perfect, very comfortable, clean, air conditioned, and a fully stocked self-service bar. We spent hours at night on the porch sharing quality family time while listening to the waves crash 30’ away.

The Chef must have been an Old Italian Grandmother in a previous life. The food he prepared was off the charts and he always made sure there was plenty of it. The meals are served family style where we had the pleasure getting to know other guests and Captain Shane.

Every aspect of Sports Fish Panama Lodge, from booking the trip, accommodations, and fishing is world class.

Thank you for the awesome memories my family will have forever!!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedom588537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Owner at Sport Fish Panama Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review Robert! It was our pleasure hosting you guys. I'm so glad the fish Gods were shining down on us favorably when you guys were here! Thanks again and hope to get you guys back down here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from 5 nights, 4 days fishing with my son. Captain Juan and first mate Carlos were welcoming and put us on fish every day. We each got a Panama Grand Slam of Big Tuna (up to 160 pounds), Dorado, Sailfish, Blue Marlin on the trip.

First rate accommodations and excellent food every day from the staff.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Adelante14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2019

Just returned from my 5th trip and continue to be impressed at the attention to detail! All the staff give above and beyond to ensure you have a trip of a lifetime. Food is over the top, lodge is clean and modern, captains and mates are extremely knowledgeable and professional, boats are well maintained and comfortable. Captain Shane and his crew are the best in the industry. You will not be disappointed!
Already looking at dates for next year!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank sryland1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Owner at Sport Fish Panama Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review Steve! Your comments hold a lot of weight with us as repeat clients like you guys make up about 60% of our business. Looking forward to seeing you guys back down here soon! - Capt. Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019

From the airport to the island and back to the airport our group had VIP treatment . Everything was seamless , Capt. Shane has managed to assemble an amazing group who obviously share in his passion .

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trip159155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019

Going on a fishing trip like this was a bucket list item for me. Shane and the staff did not disappoint. I have not been fishing in many years, but they made me very comfortable and fun. The scenery is breathtaking, the rooms are great, food is fantastic from sushi, poke', mahi-mahi fish sticks with Eddie's homemade tartar sauce, fried shrimp to the smoked tuna fish sandwiches on the boat. Like other reviews have said, when you step off the plane until you get back to PTY, you are treated like a VIP. Shane, Johnny, Eddie, and staff can't say enough good things about them. If you want a great fishing experience, GO HERE.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank indyfuntimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Owner at Sport Fish Panama Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2019

Hey Todd, Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review! Our staff is one of the key reasons for our success. The fishing isn't always as good as it was for you guys and it's very important that the lodge doesn't disappoint when the fishing is slow. Looking forward to seeing you guys back down here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews