We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elephants Ahoy!!!”

Punnathur Kotta (Anakkotta)
Mumbai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Elephants Ahoy!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow!!! what can I say... Elephants,,,, Elephants... and more...

Each one has a unique characteristic and its a childs dream come true there. Had a difficult time pulling my little one out of this place. A must visit when you come to Guruvayur

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anand_vkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    59
    13
    3
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
198 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“To see elephants in their leisure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the resting and living area of the elephants belonging to the God "GURUVAYURAPPAN" of Guruvayur temple. You can see them in all sizes, ages & behaviours. BEST time is just before lunch time. You can also get help from the mahouts and occasionally from the vets in charge. You can take good photos and contribute to the feeding.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rskmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Sad to see the elephants”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had ample time at Guruvayur during the afternoon and reading the reviews we decided to visit the place.. it is just 3kms away from the temple and easily reachable. The elephants belong to the temple and they are used for the pooja and other ceremonies. There were about 20 to 30 elephants when we went in the late afternoon. The park itself was small, you need to come around in a circular fashion to see the elephants. the elephants are chained, some in sun, some get shade, some get food.. their legs swollen, some of them with infection and peeled out skin.. it was a bad sight! they bring the elephant to take bath from a small tank, just to amuse the visitors.. before even the elephant could enjoy the water they would drive it away. It was more like circus! they would ask it to lift its trunk, make sound and it would be doing all that to amuse the visitors. it is so sad that people look at elephants like exhibits, stand in front of it and take pictures, say cute this n that not even realizing how it is deprived of things.. hmmm. we couldn't be thr for even an hour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MasalaBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kollam, India
Level Contributor
209 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Look around - You have only elephants around :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Must see place, just look around and you can only see elephants all over. Nothing more nothing less. You can see them at different ages, sizes. If you love elephants its a must visit place. If you have kids should take them, they would enjoy it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kollam003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manama,bahrain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“full of elephants!!!...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place to close to Guruvayoor - the holy abode of lord krishna(Guruvayorappa)..
Most of the visitors to Punnathur Kotta is Guruvayooppan Devotees
Eventhough im a keralite, i visited this place along with my Pilgrmage trip to Gurauvayur only
Its hardly 15 mins drive from Guruvayoor temple, same from rail and bus stations
Most attractive part is the elephants .. i dont think u can see these many elephants at a time other than Trissur Pooram
Watching elephants is always a treat for eyes that too this many awesome experience.But the surroundings are not so clean.
The Kotta also have some architectural attractions - but sad to say very poorly maintained
You want to watch elepants this is the place,dont forget to eat a tender coconut !!!
I visted too many times just to take pictures of the giants .. :)
good luck

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank krishna_adr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punnathur Kotta (Anakkotta) also viewed

 

Been to Punnathur Kotta (Anakkotta)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing