We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great house - great owner - a MUST STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeshore House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clonbur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeshore House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Clonbur B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great house - great owner - a MUST STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lakeshore B&B on 13 September 2012 -- and THOROUGHLY enjoyed it. The proprietor is absolutely wonderful, offering us tea and cookies upon arrival -- and then sat and visited with us for over an hour. We learned so much about the area, the people, the country from her. The room and bathrooms were on the smallish side, but typical for Irish B&B's. Both were immaculately clean, what I call a "barefoot" room, one so clean you don't mind going barefoot. The duvet, sheets, pillow cases were crisp, clean and bright white. The mattress was wonderful, firm without being "hard." The views from the house were INCREDIBLE, looking out on one of the numerous lakes in the area. Located near Clonbur, Cong (great little town with abbey ruins), Ashford Castle and the Connemarra peninsula -- and fabulous fishing if that is in your blood. The breakfast was excellent, we had the Full Irish Breakfast and all the side trimmings. We highly recommend the Lakeshore -- you will not be disappointed. If you would like more info you can contact me at dukedad@gmail.com. As a final note, Bernadette (Bernie) gave us a great recommendation for dinner -- at Eddie's in Clonbur. The food was exquisite -- amazing taste, incredible presentation --- best food we had while in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lakeside House is situated on a hillside overlooking Lough Corrib. It has panoramic lock Views from guest rooms, sitting room and dining room. Photos don't do it justice.
Our hosts Bernadette and David were the epitome of Irish warmth and hospitality.
They have a great knowledge of their local area and provide maps and suggestions for trips.They always had a welcoming word and time for a chat.
Our guest room was comfortable and warm. There was a welcoming fire going in the sitting room and a cup of tea or coffee was always on offer. Breakfast was superb with fruits cereals, and a full Irish breakfast of eggs tomato, sages bacon, mushrooms and black and white pudding.
Lakeshore house was a delightful experience in every respect. My wife and I recommend it without hesitation to anyone visiting this magical part of Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briangmccowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Finally a B&B that lived up to the photos on their web site! Wish we could give them 10stars! Bernadette was a perfect Hostess providing comfort, great Irish breakfasts, and do's/don'ts on the local sites and country side drives. She set up a wonderful fishing trip on Lough Corrib. No traveler will regret choosing Lakeshore B&B.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

In Ireland for the first time, a group of five of us girls left Dublin driving to Lakeshore B&B (our first drive in the country). It was already late in the evening driving across the width of the country:-) and when we got turned around- we called Bernadette and she gave us directions. Even though we arrived very very late that night she still was cheery and had a lovely spread of tea and cakes. Not having ever been in a B&B before I wasn't sure what to expect- but it was beyond great!

The rooms are clean and charming with ample space (we had three in ours). The bedding and beds are quite comfortable. Each of our rooms had an en suite bathroom that was also the nicest we had during our entire stay:-) Each evening Bernadette would get our order for breakfast-and we ordered the full Irish- the breakfast room was comfortable.

The view of the lake and the surrounding area is a huge draw (second only to the owner herself). We came to Ireland for the scenery and this area remained our favorite even after driving around the entire country. She can point out the best walks in the area and will even give you the best of what you can see no matter how short or long your stay in the area is. We wouldn't have seen half as much had she not shared her tips. (She even helped us restructure the rest of our trip to accommodate more of the countryside in the southwest).

If you like the countryside, lakes, long walks (some at an incline:-) and a hearty breakfast this is the place for you. In a stone's throw is The Quiet Man village, Ashford Castle, great fishing & some of the prettiest drives in the country (and we've driven all of it now). Everything is subjective- but I can't recommend this place highly enough and will be returning on my next visit to the country.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMichelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
458 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stayed at the Lakeshore House with my wife and three children.
The location is a dream.The house is on Lough Corrib.The view of the sun rising over the Lough is not to be missed.We had a family room on the second floor.The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and spotlessly clean.The towels are changed everyday and beds are made up.There is also wi fi.The homeowner Bernadette is a wonderful person.She is caring and takes great pride in making you feel at home.Nothing is too much for her and she knows all the things to do in Connemarra.She also has a great Irish sense of humour.
She bakes her bread and scones dayly and every evening welcomed
us with a warm fire in the living room and a cup of tea.You must try her fresh eggs for breakfast peppered with home grown parsely.A simply great stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelo65Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Bernadette and David were fantastic hosts and did everything to make us feel welcome and at home. Their B&B is in a fantastic location on the shores of Lough Corrib with an amazing view of the lake.... perfect if you're with a fisherman - especially as they have their own pier! It's about 5 minutes outside Clonbur along the most spectacular lakeside drive. Clonbur itself is a great spot with some lively pub/restaurants. The B&B is spotlessly clean and they send you off with a great breakfast in the morning. There's a path at the side of the house for walking the mountains if you're feeling energetic - which we weren't I'm afraid!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

It was lovely to be greeted warmly and be offered a cup of tea the moment we arrived!
Bernadette and Mike were great hosts, the rooms were all very neat and comfortable. The view of the lake was sensational from the rooms or the lounge.
I would highly reccomend a stay.
Cheers
Rob

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1111_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonbur
4.0 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
2.1 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
7.4 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ballykine House
Ballykine House
#1 of 2 in Clonbur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore House B&B

Property: Lakeshore House B&B
Address: Ballard, Clonbur, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clonbur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clonbur
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing