We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from Southern Ireland and a 3 night stay at the Fairhill Hotel, Clonbur. The hotel in our opinion is an excellent hotel, decorated and furnished to a high standard and serves very good food. The location of the hotel is also very good for touring the Connemara region. The staff are helpful and friendly and the bedrooms are very comfortable.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie789, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here, indeed we are lucky to have such a central location for touring connemara & the west of Ireland. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

You get a warm Irish welcome when you stay here. Comfortable rooms and late breakfasts. It's in a beautiful part oftheworld. Lovely bar food served with an option of locally caught fish. Lovely open fires add the ambiance. What a great way of spending an evening good food, a pint of Guinness and an open fire!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie789, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here. We are indeed very lucky to live in such a scenic part of the world with lakes, woods & mountains on doorstep, excellent local produce, fresh fish and open fire's to give that homely feeling. Looking forward to seeing you in Clonbur, where a Cead Mille Failte is always waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I visited Ireland in mid-September 2012 and stayed at a guest house near Clonbur. When asked for a nearby restaurant recommendation she immediately responded "why Eddie's of course." We took her recommendation and WERE WE GLAD WE DID. The Eddie's restaurant and pub were attached to a small hotel. After perusing their pretty extensive menu -- meaning there are options for anyone -- we both selected from the fish menu, as we had heard about the great seafood in this part of Ireland.

There is no simple way to put this -- both meals were world class. My wife had fresh salmon -- cooked to perfection and gently covered with an amazing sauce, and presented across a bed of bed of mashed potatoes. Words just don't do this justice. The presentation was worthy of a 3-star restaurant, and the flavor/taste was other worldly. The salmon was cooked perfectly, not over done and too many do; and the sauce was simply incredible. I ordered another fish dish -- fresh cod. While not quite as exquisite as the salmon dish, it also was fantastic. Bottom line -- the ambience was more pub than restaurant, the service and wait staff helpful and efficient but not overly intrusive, and the food was simply amazing. My only regret was that we were leaving the next day and couldn't go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie789, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and taking time to review us. We value all feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back to Fairhill House Hotel & Eddies Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked a 3 night getaway break here for a very reasonable price. The hotel has a small reception area. The room was nicely decorated with a balcony. Unfortunately the balcony area was dirty. Lots of cigarette butts. It looked as if it had not been cleaned in ages nor was it cleaned during our stay. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room but our cups and saucers had not been washed. We only had a selection of Green Tea available to us but this was put right fairly quickly when we went searching for assistance. The main light in the bathroom was not working and we only had a "shaver" light to light up the room. Again this was put right fairly quickly when we complained. I don't know why this had not been spotted and reported.
There is a lovely bar attached to this hotel with good food and pleasant staff. Nicely decorated in a fisherman's theme. Our 3 night break included one dinner, eaten in the bar and this was very tasty. There is also a nice seating area to the front of the hotel.
Breakfast could have been better. On our first morning our full Irish had hard fried eggs. On the second morning we specifically asked for our eggs to be soft but unfortunately we were again given hard fried eggs. Our bacon also looked as if it had been re-heated because it was hard crisp.
When we were checking out our bill did not show the fact that we had already paid a deposit. We could have easily paid this amount again as the person who gave us the bill didn't seem to be aware of this until we queried it.
The staff in this hotel are really lovely and very chatty.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BOXtheFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie789, Front Office Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Fairhill House Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our wonderful location, your meal and service from our friendly team of staff.

However we were disappointed to read your comments regarding cleanliness of our balcony's. I can assure you this is not our usual standard please accept our apologies.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairhill House Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

There's nothing I can say that hasn't already been said by other reviewers. This is a great little hotel (with 20 bedrooms!) nestled in the village of Clonbur. It makes a great base for exploring the Connemara area. The food served in the bar is of the best quality and the service second to none. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Fairhill House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed in Clonbur village last week. Lovely village. Ate in the Fairhill twice with my husband and 5 month old son. Head bar man was so welcoming on both occasions and nothing was too much trouble. Food was plentiful and beautiful. We would like to stay in the hotel itself in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovedisneyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed dining in Eddies Bar. Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have great experience of this hotel over recent years for general socialising, regular dining and most recently a small family celebration where we had over 50 guests attending for dinner in the main function area. The event was managed faultlessly by Eddie Lynch and his excellent team.

Some family members including myself stayed at the hotel on the night of the above mentioned celebration and I would also commend the hotel for it's excellent standard of bedroom accomodation and breakfast served the next day. It would put a lot of the bigger chain hotels to shame.

I would without hesitation recommend this to anyone who would like to treat themselves to a break in an establishment which truly represents what a small country house hotel should be like in Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. What a wonderful title you have given your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your family event and also staying in our hotel. It was a pleasure to look after you. Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonbur
3.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,789 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
9.4 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
197 reviews
15.6 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhill House Hotel

Address: Clonbur, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clonbur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Price Range: $105 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Lough Corrib & Lough Mask in Connemara, an area renowned for its rugged beauty & unforgettable scenery. Our family has been welcoming visitors to Connemara for over half a century now. Fishermen, ramblers, cyclists and visitors from all over the world just love the laid-back atmosphere here. Our 20 en-suite bedrooms are large & comfortable & our food is superb. We are told we serve some the best Chowder, Seafood and Steaks in Connemara, not to mention the lively music and craic we serve in our bar.New to Fairhill House Hotel is our membership with the Irish Whiskey Trail. We now have 150 different whiskies on offer, including the first malt produced in Kentucky since 1919, Pearse Lyons whiskey... distilled by an Irishman of course! It is without a doubt one of the largest selections in the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fairhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing