We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

There's nothing I can say that hasn't already been said by other reviewers. This is a great little hotel (with 20 bedrooms!) nestled in the village of Clonbur. It makes a great base for exploring the Connemara area. The food served in the bar is of the best quality and the service second to none. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Fairhill House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    26
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
32
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed in Clonbur village last week. Lovely village. Ate in the Fairhill twice with my husband and 5 month old son. Head bar man was so welcoming on both occasions and nothing was too much trouble. Food was plentiful and beautiful. We would like to stay in the hotel itself in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovedisneyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed dining in Eddies Bar. Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have great experience of this hotel over recent years for general socialising, regular dining and most recently a small family celebration where we had over 50 guests attending for dinner in the main function area. The event was managed faultlessly by Eddie Lynch and his excellent team.

Some family members including myself stayed at the hotel on the night of the above mentioned celebration and I would also commend the hotel for it's excellent standard of bedroom accomodation and breakfast served the next day. It would put a lot of the bigger chain hotels to shame.

I would without hesitation recommend this to anyone who would like to treat themselves to a break in an establishment which truly represents what a small country house hotel should be like in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. What a wonderful title you have given your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your family event and also staying in our hotel. It was a pleasure to look after you. Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a friday. Its in a very nice quite little town & the rooms on inspection seemed quite nice & confortable. The man who welcomed us was very nice & friendly & we got off to a good start.

There were however a few issues that we werent happy with. The room was cold when we checked in. we had to ask them to put on the heating which we were told was on a timer but they put it on constant then for us. We had an11 week old baby with us so obviously we wanted the heat on. we had told them we were bringing a young baby & they did provide us with a travel cot which was good. There were no hand towels in the room. We didnt report this till the morning as I guess its not a huge issue (there were 2 bath towels alright) but I just think the rooms should be checked. Finally the breakfast wasnt what we would have expected. Beans & mushrooms were cold, 2 tiny sausages, we had to ask twice for extra toast & got one slice extra each. Wasnt the worst breakfast id ever had but I had hoped in a hotel like this one it would be top notch. we didnt hve a drink in the bar although it did look like a cosy irish bar & id say wouldbe very nice with the fire on.

We did relay our complaints to the reception in the morning & the girl did apologise & said she would pass on our comments to the owner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Spent two nights B&B in this lovely hotel in the village of Clonbur, Co Galway. The Fairhill House Hotel and Eddies Bar are one and the same establishment and offer a warm welcome to all their guests. You can enjoy a "full Irish" in the dining room or, for the late risers, in the bar at any time. The staff are very helpful and efficient and nothing is too much trouble. We had a very well laid out room with enormous bed. This hotel is decorated to a very high standard, indeed exceptionally good considering that it is a 3*. Clonbur is a very good base for exploring the Cong area and nearby Ashford Caste.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryreynolds66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Passing through Clonbur, stopped at this hotel for a quick snack. Got a pleasent surprise when we walked into the bar which was lovely, warm and comforatable. There was quite a few there but we got served immediately. Food was excellent and we were made feel very welcome. Surroundings in the bar were lovely if you like old style. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FK Beechmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

having visited the fair hill guest house many times as a child , i have been back a few times recently and it never fails to live up to those childhood memories. Eddie is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble. Very comfortable, great food and a perfect pint of guinness.

would recommend a visit to see the real ireland, where everybody knows your name.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismcgmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonbur
3.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
9.2 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
11.8 mi away
Anglers Rest Hotel
Anglers Rest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Headford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhill House Hotel

Property: Fairhill House Hotel
Address: Clonbur, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clonbur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Lough Corrib & Lough Mask in Connemara, an area renowned for its rugged beauty & unforgettable scenery. Our family has been welcoming visitors to Connemara for over half a century now. Fishermen, ramblers, cyclists and visitors from all over the world just love the laid-back atmosphere here. Our 20 en-suite bedrooms are large & comfortable & our food is superb. We are told we serve some the best Chowder, Seafood and Steaks in Connemara, not to mention the lively music and craic we serve in our bar.New to Fairhill House Hotel is our membership with the Irish Whiskey Trail. We now have 150 different whiskies on offer, including the first malt produced in Kentucky since 1919, Pearse Lyons whiskey... distilled by an Irishman of course! It is without a doubt one of the largest selections in the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Fairhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing