We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to refer to friends!”
Review of Planet Scuba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponta do Ouro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Planet Scuba
Pretoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A place to refer to friends!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Superb accommodation. Air-con, TV and plus! Everything you can ask for and close to Ponta market and shops. Had a awesome cooking night with Nelly. The staff are friendly and most helpful. However, I would not advise for "old" people, as the neighboring cafe/restaurant does get a bit noisy into the early morning hours. And we had to listen to their complaints the next morning. But if you young enough and up for it, it could be a lovely place to stay with a "jol" place right next door.

Room Tip: All excellent with on-suite bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TansPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

After scouring the net for a good place to stay in Ponta, I kept being drawn to Planet Scuba, and eventually decided to bite the bullet and book it. Upon arriving at the border, it was clear we had made a good choice, as the host "Gavin" was waiting for us patiently in his 4x4. Right off the bat, he gave us a free orientation tour, and was clearly passionate about Ponta, and would prove to be the perfect guide, and friend.

The accommodation was fantastic, we had a sea view room, with a comfortable bed, en-suite bathroom with hot shower, A/C, a machine that discouraged mosquitos (successfully) as well as full access to the rest of the facilities including swimming pool, sun loungers, braai, lounge/tv room, and kitchen.

The location was perfect, high up enough to have a great view of the ocean, but close enough to the beach and local restaurants (1 minute walk down a path leading from the accommodation.)

Gavin drove us around on request, and showed us exactly where and where not to go. On our last evening he took us to Ponta Malongane for R&Rs, and then accompanied us to dinner at the fantastic "love cafe"

The only small gripe I would have, is that we had to bring our own towels, and the sheets could have been a little crisper.

I will definitely stay here the next time I am in Ponta, and I will recommend Planet Scuba to friends and clients alike.

Room Tip: We got room 2, which has an ocean and pool view. Ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have always found places in Ponta a bit overpriced, especially around the holidays. Having a most reasonable quote in hand, and the car full of kids and pointed North of Durban, I was not harboring any major expectations of where we were going to rest our heads. I couldnt have been more pleasantly surprised. The rooms , whilst basic, are comfortable and clean yet the communal areas have all that one needs. The Kitchen is restaurant class with most the equipment being industrial. The kitchen staff are most helpful either prepping meals or preparing them and they are well skilled in both. The small things go a long way to putting this ahead of many establishments in the same arena, free ice, 24 hour tea/coffee etc and attentive staff. To top all of this, the position is fantastic. This is by far my place of choice now in Ponta and I will most definitely return soon. Well done to Planet Scuba and good luck with their expansion into the next door property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrisjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Planet Scuba is the ultimate base from which to explore all the beauty of Ponta do Ouro in southern Mozambique. The rooms are comfortable, air-conditioned and equipped with automatic mosquito repellant.

If you don't wish to cook your food yourself, Nelly the chef will turn out delicious wonders for you - and her prawns and peri-peri chicken are legendary.

The huge covered deck is perfect for enjoying a good book or gazing out over the Indian Ocean, and a dip in the pool is superbly refreshing.

And the management go out of their way to make sure your every desire is catered for.

So if you're looking to make the most of a trip to the golden shores of Ponta, choose Planet Scuba. We've been four times already and we'll definitely be going back soon!

You can find out more at www.planetscuba.co.za

Room Tip: Room 2 is the best. It looks out over the ocean and has an en-suite shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Planet Scuba is nothing fancy but the rooms are comfortable and very clean. The staff however are superb and nohing was too muh trouble. You can either self cater or go full/part boarding. Even if you self cater the staf are more than happy to prepare and cook your food. Lovely pool and deck area with DSTV in the comunnal lounge. The resort has wifi and is situated within a short walk of the beach and markt

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponta do Ouro hotels
71.6 mi away
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
#3 of 15 in Ponta do Ouro
113 reviews
72.0 mi away
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Gala Gala Eco Resort
#1 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
52 reviews
71.1 mi away
Devocean Resorts
Devocean Resorts
#2 of 15 in Ponta do Ouro
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.4 mi away
Ntsuty Lodge
Ntsuty Lodge
#12 of 15 in Ponta do Ouro
4 reviews
72.4 mi away
Dream Beach Self-Catering Lodge
Dream Beach Self-Catering Lodge
#2 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Scuba

Property: Planet Scuba
Address: Casa 35 | Rua F, Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Ponta do Ouro
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Ponta do Ouro
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for both relaxing family holidays and more adrenalin-filled getaways, Planet Scuba is your gateway to Ponta do Ouro and Southern Mozambique. Planet Scuba offers exceptionally comfortable air-conditioned accommodation and a luxurious deck overlooking the charm and bustle of the town square, with the pristine white beaches and warm Indian Ocean waters just a stone's throw away. Planet Scuba offers a wealth of activities to stimulate every taste, from diving and snorkeling to swimming with dolphins and ocean safari's, from deep sea fishing and kite boarding to simply strolling down the stunning white beaches and splashing in the warm Indian Ocean waves. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing