We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan but worth it.”
Review of Motel do Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponta do Ouro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel do Mar
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Don't be put off by what the motel looks like or by what people say. The Motel is great for what you pay for and for it's location. You simply cannot get any closer to the beach. The breakfasts are basic but filling and the friendly and helpful staff more than make up for any shortcomings you may percieve.
The restuarant seems a bit more pricey than the other offerings in the area but it's convenient. The pub also has a great location, overlooking the bay.
The surrounding clubs playing loud music into the night (only in season) aren't really an issue, since Ponta is a festive village, so it's what you should expect.
To top it all off, Simply Scuba (located on the premises0 are an excellent dive outfit. Awesome service and great staff.
My next stay in Ponta will most certainly be here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 32 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is one of the oldest in Ponta do Ouro. It has a great location, right opposite the sea and close to several restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The rooms are basic but clean. Has no air-conditioning and during summer, when heat, is impossible to be in the room. The breakfast is normal, nothing special. However, people always satisfy the extra demands of customers. The Hotel has a bar, a restaurant facing the sea and a games room. In the late afternoon you can feel a nice breeze hits on the front part of the hotel that faces the sea. Have stayed in this hotel for 2 times but mostly opted to stay in a friend´s house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Motel do Mar provides very basic accomodation, as you will read in the other reviews, but its location and cleanliness are brilliant. We went during off season in April and it was so quiet with friendly staff, and we were lucky to have quiet neigbours so slept to the sound of the sea.
Breakfast was first class considering the very reasonable price of the unit which was on a B&B basis. We did eat in the restaurant on one occasion in the evening and sat for an hour and a half only to recieve five cold meals out of six ordered, and the sixth only coming half an hour later. We did approach management the next day who were very apologetic, and who then sent complimentary snacks and drinks to our unit with a written apology.
Snorkeling in the bay is OK with some nice large shoals (no reef to speak of), but diving with Simply Scuba (on site) was phenominal. The service they gave us was probably the best we have ever had, and we would recommend this resort and Simply Scuba for divers. The beach was fantastic and it and the water was very clean. There was a large lapa for shade in front of the hotel on the beach - this was a great advantage.
During our stay they were in the process of painting the units and giving the whole resort a general facelift/maintenance.
Just remember to go out of season, and go prepared for the spartan rooms i.e. only one plug (round) which the fridge uses, so an adapter and maxipoint is needed. There's only a fan in the bedroom which wouldn't be of much use in summer heat, so bring fans!! And book a beachfront unit - we were in the best (number 33) which is on the ground floor, but it was so quiet hardly anyone walked past us.
We are definitely going back.....

Room Tip: Book the beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snorkelingbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in one of the beach front units. The units are very basic 4-sleeper units with no real privacy between the rooms and quite small. The service was very good and the units cleaned every day.

Breakfast is included but is also quite basic with the normal fruits, cereals, bread and eggs with bacon or sausages.

The big advantage of these units are that they are right on the beach with only about 100m to walk and stunning views of Ponta Do Ouro. There is also a dive operator (Simply Scuba) on the premises and they will transport you to the launch site and back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the beach front units. Nr 33 and 34 has one of the best locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PretoriaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good Day All;

We had been at Ponta this past long weekend, and I can not recommend this destination for any family as this is defnitely a disgrace to take your family to such a unfriendly, unsafe destination.

You have to keep close eye on your family an kids and the resort itself defnitely need some maintenance work to be done. The fridges is not working, the electricity might our not work in all units, your neighbors will start picking a fight after they had to much to drink. In the morning hours you will hear a loud noise and people banging on your dorr and swearing. You also will find the next day underwear lying around of the previous nights party. Partying will continue till the morning hours and there is just boose and bad language. So disappointed. We had to check out early due to the bad state of the resort and the other residents which can not control their partying. Rooms are very basic, and the water is brown and defnitely not appropriate to shower in.The price per unit is defnitely overrated. Food / breakfast is poor. Each unit should have its own bbq area and there is 1 braai for 4 units?

Please be careful for the so-called police on the roads / dunes. They will find any excuse to get money fromt he South African citizens. Why again will we then return to Mozambique if this is the trend to take bribe money from the South Africans.

Be aware South African's.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Let's face it, for these prices you cannot expect the Savoy but it was also surprisingly good. The rooms are basic but you will not need anything else. There are beds, a fan and a bathroom that are all serviced daily. Each unit has an outside space with braai (BBQ) area and the beach is on your doorstep.
We were a group of 4, simply looking to get away for a few days and it was perfect. I wouldn't do it any other way.
Try to avoid at peak times (SA holiday) and you will have everything almost to yourself. The locals were brilliant, the beaches were amazing and the scuba diving was fantastic.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastroG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Motel Do Mar, has got the best location. The rooms are very basic, but clean, serviced daily, and meet your basic needs, we were plesently surpised. For the price you are paying this is value for money. Literally, a few second and you are on the beach. The hotel is a great location if you are interested in night life, it is a short work to a number of bars and to the night club. You are also able to make noise at the resort, which is great if you are in a group of friends. The breakfast is fair, dont bother ordering bacon as it is R10 for two peices and take ages to be served. The restaurant at the motel in general is overpriced and service is very slow. I would recommend going to the Fishmonger restaurant it is great. You must also got to Fernando's for an R&R.

Room Tip: Take extra fans with you as there is only one ceiling fan and the ceilings are very high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta do Ouro
0.0 mi away
Devocean Resorts
Devocean Resorts
#2 of 17 in Ponta do Ouro
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream Beach Self-Catering Lodge
Dream Beach Self-Catering Lodge
#2 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ponta do Ouro
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Gala Gala Eco Resort
#1 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
#2 of 3 in Ponta Malongane
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel do Mar

Address: Main Beach, Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Ponta do Ouro
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ponta do Ouro
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel do Mar began to be built in stages in the 50's . Right at the beach it offers 68 rooms with a capacity for four people. It was recently refurbished and furnished thus providing a greater comfort to its guests. Operated by the majority shareholder SODEPO – Sociedade de Desenvolvimento da Ponta do Ouro, Motel do Mar has plans to install during the year 2011, a casino and a pool, to ensure more opportunities for fun and satisfaction to its guests. :: Scuba DivingPonta do Ouro is the best place south of Mozambique to dive. It is famous for its coral reefs, abundant marine life and a variety of dive range. Come and dive with us! :: The beach: It offers a lot of sand and sun, fresh air and plenty of entertainment. The bay is very safe for swimming. Don't forget the sun protector and get the tan of your life! :: Kitesurfing: The bay of Ponta do Ouro offers world-class kite surfing, water level and smooth inside and outside waves. Come, jump into your board and let the kite be taken by the best wind! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing