We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coco Rico Resort
Nearby Hotels
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge(Ponta do Ouro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Devocean Resorts(Ponta do Ouro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Gala Gala Eco Resort(Ponta do Ouro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kaya Kweru(Ponta do Ouro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Paraiso do Ouro Resort(Ponta do Ouro)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ntsuty Lodge(Ponta do Ouro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Bamboo Room(Ponta do Ouro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
88
48
9
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
48
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringair conditionedswimming poolprawnsserviced dailyplace to staybraai facilitywalking distancechest freezergames roomshort walk to the beachfamily holidayrestaurants and shopsan amazing holidayfriendly and helpful staffgreat accommodationbig group
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 149 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I love the resort and the accommodation is great. We stayed in a 3 bedroom/3 bathroom bungalow and it had everything we needed - 2 big bathrooms en suite unstairs and another bathroom downstairs with a room that sleeps 4. Fully airconditioned and mozzie nets. The kitschen had everything we needed as well as a "cleaning fairy" that arrived every morning to wash dishes, make beds and tidy. Even a chap who came around and cleaned the braais every morning.
The biggest downside for me was that there was no sea view from the rooms. I like to sit on the deck and look at the sea. To get to the beach, one has to walk out the main gates of the resort and down a little alley to the beach.
There is a swimming pool, jungle gym, trampoline, games room and gym on the property as well as a restaurant and bar.
I think this is a great place to go with 2 families. We did and we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front ones where you will get a bit of a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBug4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have been to Coco Rico twice now and can't wait to go back! All the cabins are 3 bed/ 3 bath so you do need to go in a group but for the price you pay it is really great to have such modern comforts in an otherwise very rustic location. All rooms are airconditioned and serviced daily and are very comfortably furnished with the exception of the tv - one tiny old style unit per cabin! I would recommend this location for adults only though - two families' kids during our last stay had serious accidents and with the very limited medical care in the area both had to end their holidays abruptly. Also the gym advertised is non existent. Still my favorite location by far!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I just returned from another trip to Ponta do Ouro and Coco Rico is by far the best accommodation in Ponta. We all loved the modern touches, such as aircon in every room, well stocked kitchen and lounge, modern bathrooms, 3 per unit, South African plugs in all rooms and even DSTV. The service was fantastic from all staff members. The pool was by far one of our favourite places to chill out, and have drinks in the evening. The restaurant also has a great vibe in the resort, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: -If are looking for a partying get away then get a cabin close to the pool area. -If you are looking to be away from the noise then book a cabing as far from the pool area as possible. -Travel out of season, the units are half the price and the weather is still great.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent two nights at the Coco Rico Resort. The road to the resort is interesting and only passable with a 4x4. We had to stop at Fernandos pub for an R and R before heading to the resort. The resort itself is unpretentious but offers everything you could want. Big spacious bedrooms and bathrooms, lounge, open plan kitchen which is well stocked including fridge, microwave, stove and freezer. There is a lovely boma for braaing and spending quality relaxing time. A short walk from a lovely unspoilt beach great for long walks and warm water.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Ponta do Ouro has a beautiful beach lapped by the crystal clear warm ocean.
Coco Rico is perfectly positioned on this stretch of beach.
We were a party of 8 so the large duplex log cabin suited us perfectly,
The unit had 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a kitchen, lounge and patio, it was clean and well equipped for self catering,
The beds are comfortable with good quality linen and the unit is cleaned daily.
We were happy to find a decent sized fridge and a deep freeze in the unit as we had brought most of the food and drinks with us from South Africa.
There is a nice large braai (barbeque ) on the patio and the office sells charcoal and ice.
DSTV and aircon complete the picture for a comfortable stay with all the mod cons in a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews