We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wont be back”
Review of Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinghorn
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“wont be back”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Used Groupon and think we must have got the same "Groupon Room" as another reviewer - we also had spurting black water spluttering out the wash-hand basin all over the floor and us. Nasty. Told reception who said it was because of the heavy rainfall night before - there was no rain night before. Anyway, website talks about stunning views which we were looking forward to - we got a view of the car park and dozens of caravans. There was no-one else staying in the hotel (mid January) and only saw 3 cars in the car park at any one time and asked because it was empty could we move to a room with a sea view. Was told the hotel was full, mainly business people but we could get a room with a "partial view" for an extra £24!. Deffo not worth that. Were told we could take coffee in a lounge overlooking bay but there appeared to be no heating on and impossible to sit there. No heating in any of the corridors - baltic. Stayed in for dinner, food was good, not badly priced and staff nice. Only 3 tables having dinner and one of them were the swimming pool contractors. (pool was closed for refurb but we knew that). Hotel definitely not "full of business people" or any other people for that matter. The air/con blew hot air and we were given a plug in heater, not very efficient. Website again advertised wi-fi but omitted to tell you its £4 for an hour! got to get their money somehow. Double bed was 2 singles together and you could feel the ridge. For a family hotel on a caravan park why would they put an adult channel on the TV - strange.
Anyway, not worth the groupon voucher and wont go back. Still love Groupon though!

Room Tip: They seem to give you a view of the car park unless you specify you want the front of the hotel but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramblingpensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    48
    20
    14
    26
See reviews for
54
88
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

booked in for wrong date , pool closed when we were told it would be open , advertises wi-fi and then wants to charge you £4.00 per hour to use it - come on even my wee high street store gives you free wi-fi £4.50 for a frame of snooker oh and when you are watching anything on the t.v they keep interupting with messages about no smoking and other rubbish.breakfast- very warm but quite tasteless . will not be going back oh and just to warn you when they take the pre authourisation from your credit card they decide to keep your £100.00 for five 5 days.
we were told when they messed up our booking that the hotel was full yet at breakfast at 9am there were only 4 couples mmmm maybe a wee porkie being told ....and our room with the fantastic views over the bay - all we could see was our own car and the caravans on a very steep hill.....

Room Tip: wouldnt recommend to any one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billymFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

First the good - views are wonderful from FRONT of the hotel, waitresses & breakfast waiter very friendly and professional as was the young female receptionist. That's it. The bad - when we arrived on a wet, windy & wild day we were 'greeted' by a rather unfriendly older lady who was most unwelcoming. We were shown to room and instantly realised it was freezing cold, no courtesy warming of the room here! No cosy towels on the towel rail. On entering bathroom, we were disgusted by a pubic hair on toilet seat. View was of a sloped car park & caravans through the dingy yellowing net curtains. My wife went for a shower only to be covered by filthy, black boiling hot water spurting out the taps as there obviously had not been any other guests in room for some time. Went to leisure facilities, met by over zealous leisure attendant who was very unfriendly. Only sauna, pool & chilly jacuzzi in order, which was disappointing as we like to use the steam room. Were advised by a local that the place had been going downhill and the whole leisure area was being closed for refurbishment very soon. This is needed. Went for dinner, place was absolutely deserted other than a few locals watching the football.. In fact, during our stay, we saw only 2 other guests however we heard many, many more as we had been put in a room right above the private function room and we had a wonderful boom, boom, boom until 2am incl screeching party-goers waiting for taxis right outside our window. The management knew this was taking place, yet despite having a deserted hotel, still decided to put us in a room right above it rather than giving us a room at front. This was all reported to reception but to no avail. Its the little things that really matter but as the place is obviously owned & run by family members who, when it really comes down to it seemingly only want your cash, we did not have a positive experience - shame.

Room Tip: If you're prepared to pay £60 extra, the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there on sat night with a group on voucher and had a fabulous time, hotel was spotless, fantastic views over the river forth, and staff couldn't have been more friendly 10 out of 10 food was fantastic, and Christmas decorations were up so was very festive, food was also very reasonably priced

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank shaw9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just home after a 3 night break and couldn't be happier. The staff upgraded us to a bridal suite (at no extra cost) which had breathtaking views across the Firth of Forth to Edinburgh. The room was spotlessly clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, heating system very easy to use. Pool and spa were great and the leisure facilities were more than adequate. Food was a little pricey but the views from the restaurant were stunning. We would definately recommend and will be returning.

Room Tip: The bridal suits offer a balcony with stunning views and a very comfortable king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a Christening at this hotel. They provided the food (which all guests commented was great) and simply made the whole weekend one of the most memorable days of my life and totally stress free. I cannot thank them enough. There are always things you can fault with a hotel however you cannot fault the staff's desire to make your stay as memorable as possible. Oh and then there's the views... wow. If you are looking for a venue in the area then I would put the Bay at the top of the list. Simply brilliant.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. Simply stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0ugHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent last night here with groupon voucher but would def reccomend upgrading to an exec suite as the view stunning and a wee balcony (ideal for a breath of sea air). We were asked to leave 100 pound deposit which we werent told on booking so bit of a shock. We went a run in car and had a delicious fish supper and on return went into the bar for a few drinks, very dull and lacking atmosphere, quickly returned to stunning room for wine! Lovley hotel but atmosphere a bit dull. Breakfast very good and service excellent, would def return here again and take more wine!

Room Tip: Executive suites have upstairs bedroom with lounge area downstairs, balcony with stunning views, ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinghorn
0.4 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
277 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
177 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberdour
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
10.2 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Hotel

Property: Bay Hotel
Address: Burntisland Road, Kinghorn KY3 9YE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kinghorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinghorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Kinghorn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing