We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff, highly recommended”
Review of The Grove Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grove Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ludwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I thought it was about time I wrote a review since I've eaten quite a few times at The Grove over the last year as it's the favourite place for an elderly relative of mine. The food has always been delicious, without fail, and the Sunday roast comes with an almost overwhelming array of vegetables (just as well I love them!) Portions are very generous, even with the "smaller" roast, which is even enough for my father. The service is friendly and welcoming, particularly for my elderly relative who is welcomed warmly each time, is always given the preferred table and whose dietary requirements are always fulfilled without an eyelid being batted. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goreblimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for The Grove Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 199 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife I stayed here on the 2 Nights for the price of 1 deal & found it very good. Room nicely done out & food in restaurant very good. All staff very friendly & nothing too much trouble. We will definitely return next time we go to Longleat, Monkey World. Weymouth or the mother inlaws.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here over the weekend - we got a bargain, £85 for two nights!!
The rooms are a good size and the pub itself is lovely!
The food was very nice, especially the breakfast (which is included in the room price!).

Great service from all members of staff.

Overall, a great stay! Just a shame I left my iPad charger...doh!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEvans46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

hi just like to say that this was the the best weekend we had in a while
nice and friendly staff really nice breakfast
always help full staff and the meal at night was excellent not to expensive as well
really recommend staying at this hotel if visiting shaftesbury or Salisbury
many thanks
Gareth

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gareth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me & my girlfriend recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The accommodation was basic but clean & comfortable, apart from the hot tap which didn't work to well.
The food for the Saturday evening was excellent & breakfast was equally as good, especially the scrambled egg & smoke salmon - best I've ever had.
Location was good for trips to Shaftsbury & South Dorest.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Keith_Lynn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Keith,
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us....the plumber has now been and the hot tap is working perfectly....thank you for your patience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The inside of the restaurant/pub area is lovely and has been refitted to a very high standard.
We ordered off of the early bird menu 2 meals for £15 (between 6pm and 7pm). 2 of us had the lasagna which was delicious but portion size wasn't great, one had the gammon which was a very large portion and other had the burger which was lovely a good size portion.
We ordered a portion of chips to go with our lasagnas and when the meal came they had forgotten them so we had to wait 10 minutes for them to cook some.. we had almost finished our meals by then.
Also when we came to pay for the bill they had over charged us on the drinks.. but did refund us when we mentioned it.
The service wasn't the most amazing.. waitress wasn't particularly friendly but the setting and quality of food was good so we would probably return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Katy,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you liked the pub and would come again despite the disappointment on your last trip. We think confusion may have occurred as we offer two sizes of portion on the lasagne on our menu....obviously you would have preferred the regular size rather than the smaller appetite which it appears you were given. We have made sure all our staff are aware that this must be checked when the 2 for £15 order is placed so that this does not happen again in future. Please accept our apologies for the delay in getting the chips to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for a family occasion in the adjacent village. The rooms, food and welcome from the polite and efficient staff was much appreciated. Excellent value for money. Thank you. We'll definitely visit in the future. The location is also ideal on the main road

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you again on you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludwell
2.2 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
425 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
464 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
142 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Arms

Address: Ludwell SP7 9ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Ludwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ludwell
Price Range: $103 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Arms is a delightful part thatched country inn and is located in the beautiful village of Ludwell, between Shaftesbury and the historic city of Salisbury. The original part of the building dates back to the 16th century and is grade II listed. Many of the original features are retained in the cosy snug bar including mullion windows, carved cornices and flagstone floors. the premises have been licensed since the 17th century. There is an enclosed patio garden and courtyard area which is perfect to enjoy the summer sun as well as ample space inside too. There are also six en-suite letting rooms available all of which are 4* AA approved. There is free WIFI throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Grove Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Arms Hotel Ludwel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing