We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grove Arms
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
$129
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Langton Arms(Tarrant Monkton)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pembroke Arms Hotel(Wilton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
132
53
20
7
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
53
20
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubdog friendly pubeton messgrove armsspecials boardfriendly localspriced foodgenerous portionssunday roastlamb shankdietary requirementsa large car parkpiping hota great nights sleeplovely foodtwo nightssmoked salmon
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 225 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Sometimes you find a special place and for me this is it .... A well run good quality old but modern inn. A fine choice of ales great well priced food and a good standard of rooms.The owners who are obviously well experienced and tottaly dedicated to a high standard of service. Breakfast is freshly cooked and many variations are available. The grove arms is well located to Shaftesbury, Blandford, Sailsbury, Poole and Weymouth. Also just a few miles up the road Compton Abbas Air field. When you get back to the inn a warm welcome awaits you and always a smile, A real fire burns away in the back of the restaurant and lots of comfy seats to sink back into as you enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael_ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Had a Christmas Dinner here with friends last week and we were ripped off. After Starters had been served, bowls of Olives appeared with a so called cold soup in a small glass. We all said we hadn't ordered this but were told it was part of the meal. In fact only 3 people out of 14 actually liked Olives so most went back. When we went to pay for the meal, £19.95 for 2 courses and £24.95 for three courses, we were all charged an extra £5. When we queried this we were told it was for the Olives!!! They wouldn't back down over this and we all had to pay the extra, they therefore made an extra £70 for nothing. DON'T GO THERE!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mags038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

had lunch here with my local branch of the U 3 A ,good food and service will be returning again for a evening meal

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Reading the reviews and picking up on comments from locals, this pub has clearly had a chequered history. However, the current landlord and landlady have got everything absolutely right. We first called into the Grove Arms one Saturday, whilst driving home from Salisbury after a shopping trip. It was after 2.00pm and although the pub was quite quiet, they were very happy to serve food. We were extremely pleased with the meals and no trip to Salisbury is now complete without a late lunch at the Grove Arms.

The pub is delightfully decorated and the staff and service are excellent. The Tanglefoot beer is probably too nice!

Lunch time seems to be generally busy so booking would probably be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Travowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel / pub was clean enough but that's about all it had going for it.
I was here on a business trip and needed to have breakfast before 7.30am on a Saturday - this was refused despite paying £70 for a single room.

Considering the high price the small supply of tea and coffee in the room was of the cheap variety, the same for the supplies in the bathroom.

The shower was over the bath and worked ok but was of the variety that sprayed all over the bathroom floor.

The tv supplied only the 5 basic channels of which 1 wasn't available.

The room was very small and basic and there was no mobile signal unless you drove for quite a way from the hotel.

When checking out they tried to charge me £75 and offered no proper receipt.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnew45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews