We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing experience ”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in the dorm for 4days/3nights. It was amazing! I only snorkelled (which was incredible) for the 1st few days as I was nervous about diving again, however after speaking to Sipe one of the very friendly instructors she persuaded me to try again (at a very reasonable price) she was very calm and patient with me and got me back under water in no time. My boyfriend also dove n we saw some amazing marine life, octopus, turtles, sharks, manta rays :) the accomdation was very comfortable the food was lovely and everyone was very friendly. one slightly bad point is my flip flops were taken from outside the restaurant (which happens frequently apparently) but overall an amazing trip would definitely come again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    151
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
35
211
126
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

- Stayed in Deluxe A/C room: Room is spacious and clean with aircond and fan, and a standby standing fan. Balcony has hammock, chairs and table for chill and relax.

- Bathroom: Spacious and clean but the water pressure for the shower is too low

- Restaurant: Package come with breakfast, lunch, tea break and dinner. Limited choice per day but are mostly tasty and not repetitive.

- Location: Very close to its jetty, dive center and beach

- Staffs: Friendly staffs and dive master/instructors that willing to sit down and share with us all about the islands. *only in Mabul island, NOT in the semporna office*

- Dive Center: The dive center is right on the private jetty. You will only need to put on the wetsuit, bring your weight, mask and fins. The tank and bcd will be set up and ready for you on the boat.

- Transport: SJ can arrange all the transport from land to island and return for you.

OVERALL A GOOD & PLEASANT STAY =D

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The rooms are cheap but incredible. Really clean, well kept with lovely bathrooms. Each cabin has a balcony with a hammock. The place is laid out really well surrounding a garden area. The food is scrummy, not much choice but you don't need it and always a really good vegetarian option. The staff were friendly, helpful and a really enthusiastic and interesting lot to be around. The would sit with the guests at meal times and it didn't seem like it was a chore but that they actually wanted to meet people. There is also an excellent ban which play some nights and a great bar area to hang out in.
When we were there some turtles were hatching so we all got to see them being released. If you want to dive in Mabul/Sipadan then this is the place to stay. I would love to come back here sometime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

New Divers, Experienced Divers, Snorkelers and Non-Divers will all enjoy Scuba Junkie Mabul Island!
I couldn't have dreamed of a better experience completing my open water course. I ended up being the only person on my course (starting the day I arrived) and was fortunate enough to have an incredible instructor Alex with 3000 dives under his belt and an enthusiastic DIT Jas. Running small classes enabled the course to run at the pace for those in the class (there were other open water courses running at different paces that started on other days we were there). Scuba Junkie's were so professional from the booking, front desk, dive shop and instructors. Beyond the course's excellence the diving was spectacular! Having now dove in Bali and Gilis nothing compares to Mabul. Even the first time I was under water I was seeing turtles and fish galore. My husband is a non-diver and enjoyed the resort experience as well-- Relaxing in the lounge/bar, in the hammocks and on the beach. The food was good, lots of variety and plenty available. There were also lots of evening activities including a lively pub trivia night. I loved the experience so much I added 3 fun dives onto my last day and am already planning to visit again. I would not hesitate to recommend Scuba Junkie Mabul island to anyone all the staff were so friendly and passionate it made it absolutely fantastic experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Scuba Junkie Resort at Palau Mabul close to Sipadan has been my preferred location when going for scuba diving around Palau Sipadan. The resort is right on the beach with very nice cottages. Easy to access by boat from Semporna and the price for staying and diving are resonable. Accomodation is with full board in a relaxed atmosphere, where it is all about diving and snorkling. Staff is excellent and professional with high level diving skills. Been here 3 times and will return. They also offer accomodation in Semporna, but staying at the island Mabul I prefer and than take the last night in Semporna before going by flight from Tawau or bus to other towns/cities at Borneo.

Room Tip: Dorms are close to the main building. Two dorms with 10 each. Cottages with terrace are very nice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our family of four (one diver, one non-diver, kids 13 and 6 yrs old) spent 4 nights at Scuba Junkie on Mabul, which as usual means three days of diving, one of them on Sipadan. The resort is surprisingly nice, our AC family bungalow amid all the greenery could easily be compared with the ones in the up-market resorts on dream islands. Unfortunately Mabul is not so cute, SJ struggles to keep the beach clean, the sea constantly brings a lot of trash from the nearby sea-gipsy villages and Semporna. Therefore non-divers would not find this very popular island (lots of Chinese guests) as an ideal setting for a lazy holiday. Apart from the evening strolling and the visit to the village, snorkelling is the only activity for non-divers, no nice corals but top-class for sea creatures like crocodile-scorpion-lion and stone fish. As you'd expect the divers here get all the attention and all what it takes for an excellent diving holiday: perfect accommodation, very good food (snacks and tea/coffee all the time), good diving gear and boats, competent dive-masters, relaxed atmosphere, good macro diving at Mabul/Kapalai/Siamil and, yes, what you came here for in first place - world-class diving on Sipadan. Despite the safety concerns we were aware of, life on Mabul and in all eastern Sabah seems normal and as safe as in the rest of SE Asia. I'd recommend coming to Mabul if you're a diver and if you combine it with a visit to Kinabatangan or Danum jungle which are few hours drive from Semporna. But the perfect combination to me is to add a bit of Indonesian Kalimantan: fly Tawau - Tarakan and then by speedboat to Maratua with its mantas, jellyfish lake, postcard beaches and much more relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Family bungalows, n. 9 or 10 e.g., are top-notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrosStanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

What can i say?
Thank you so much for
- Super diving with Sharks, gib schools, and a lot of small stuff like ghost pipe, leaf scorpion, frogfish and octopus
- enthusiastic and highly qualified staff
- nice accommodation
- no moskitos thanks to a machine(?)
- great food also for vegetarians
- no fish on the table
- sadly some dynamite sounds and visible in one reef

I highly recommend this resort and dive operation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_from_hamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
16.2 mi away
Best Bunk Beds
Best Bunk Beds
#3 of 21 in Semporna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
16.1 mi away
Alice Semporna Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort

Property: Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing