We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scuba Junkie is the best! 2 visits in a year experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scuba Junkie is the best! 2 visits in a year experience!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife n i decided to take the open water diver certificate on May 2013. Since Sabah islands is one of the best if not THE best in world so it is obvious that we just had to go there for our OWD cert. After googled a few places we booked at Scuba Junkie (SJ) since it offers the best accomodation, open water diver cert package and equipment. We got the best instructor -Thys de Jager. We booked the normal room without aircond. It was pretty hot during day time so its really a no-no to stay in d room too long. We managed to ge our OWD cert during this trip including 3 fun dives. It was AWESOME!

It was TOO AWESOME that we had to booked our second trip to SJ. It was actually a very last minutes decision to go for diving trip. But since its our anniversary so we decided to go diving and it was a no brainer to go to SJ. It was on the 1st till 5th of November 2013. Since we booked last minute SJ couldnt promise us a room at Mabul so we must travel from Semporna to Mabul everyday for the whole trip. But as soon as we arrived at SJ's office in Semporna, we were told they managed to find us a room (air-conditioned!) for the whole trip at Mabul Island. Thank u Rohan and Carys! U guys rocks! They really extra miles to make sure we gonna have a good time at SJ. As for the DM, we requested for a local DM because we are a beginner divers. We got DM Nas for all of our fun dives. He is one super cool n super jovial dude. Not to mention superb in the water. He showed us many things under the sea no matter big or small. Not just turtles, we also manage to see differant species of moray eel, rays, nudis, lion fish, clown nemo fish and even pigmy seahorse! All these including beautiful corals in the super clear water!

SJ have a 'fish is friend not food' policy so no seafood at the dining will be served. Fret not, the food serves at SJ is delicious! Choices of meat or chicken, fruits, veges for lunch n dinner. Bread, jam, scramble eggs, noodles, fruits for breakfast and tea. I have no complain at all! Drinks such as cold beer and soft drinks is available at the bar after dinner. This is the perfect time to do the log book.

Room was excellent with multiple power socket for all electricity purpose. Bed sheet smells fresh and got no stains at all. Even in air-condition room we have a stand fan. Toilet was clean but quite slow water pressure at times.

SJ staffs gotta be one of the reasons people keep coming back to SJ! Super efficient, super friendly, super helpful! Some will even know your name even if u havent introduce yourself! For our dive trip, at one point our DM had some issues at the jetty so other DM was instructed to be our DM. Not one but 2 DMs join us for the dive! Hows that for super exclusive n personal DM experience for a diver!

E-mail me. ( shafiqsaat@yahoo.com ) if u guys have any enquiries regarding SJ or even Mabul Island. I'll try to explain as much as i know. Last but not least, thank u Scuba Junkie esp DM Nas, managers the handsome Rohan n the beautiful Carys n the bigboss Tino!

*planning to go diving at SJ again next April! Yahooooo!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShafiqSaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    151
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
35
213
127
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I had 5 days in the dorms at scuba junkie. I had lots of fun on the trip, some awesome diving and met some great people.on the plus side the diving is great, Sipidan is unbelievable, an amazing experience where you are inundated with totally awesome stuff to see, Ben our guide to Sipidan was excellent, informative and safe with the diving. We lost count of the number of turtles and sharks we saw! They have some really knowledgable guides, in particular I thought Cat was excellent and really detailed when doing our log books. On the whole most of the staff were really friendly and approachable. The food is delicious and I really like that they don't serve fish as they don't want to support the unsustainable fishing that is currently happening, they come across as very Eco conscious. A couple of things I think could be improved are some of the dive guides sit together at lunch and dinner rather than mix with the clients (some not all) and they come across as a little unapproachable. Aso the dorm is ridiculously hot, they need to give fans or instal air con as it was uncomfortable. Other than that I highly recommend scuba junkie and definitely plan to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had the most wonderful dive AND holiday experience at Scuba Junkie. The DMs are all fantastic and the diving will blow you away and the service, cleanliness of the rooms (we were in the nicest dorm we've seen In 3 months!) and the total efficiency and ease of the whole service and environment was a total pleasure. A HUGE thank you to all who made our trip so enjoyable, Simon, Martin, Aziz, Taufiq, Jason, Cris, Sam, Matt, Ruth, Ash and alllll the staff on both Mabul and Semporna...we can't wait to see you again next year! Emily and Alex

Room Tip: The dorms are INCREDIBLE value for money and surprisingly peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner (scuba diver) and I (snorkeller) visited the island of Mabul. We were blown away by the island and what the sea offered us... As a snorkeller, I was up close to giant turtles & tropical fish and was somewhat jealous at what I missed out on not being able to scuba dive. My partner, on the other hand is now fully qualified and has already been hinting at going back soon. She was extremely impressed with the one to one instruction over her open water course. The resort itself was excellent and all the staff were down to earth and friendly. Food was perfect for fuelling a full days activity.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had overall a nice stay at Mabul Beach Resort. The wooden bungalowe are nice.
Strange things though that you have to ask reception "if you want your room to be cleaned" (who wouldn't ?).
The main disappointment was food : when you make 3/4 dives a day, you expect better food that what is served there. Their policy is no fish/sea food (fish are friends, not food), but there is often no food either : first day, I got only omelette, rice and vegetables and watermelon. I have to say I was "starving" most of my stay there. And rice and same vegetables and fruit for each meal (so if you don't like watermelon like me, too bad).
They have a policy to only let you dive in Sipadan if you stay 3 days, which seems to be a bit abusive compared to other dive operators that seem to offer Sipadan to everyone who walks in. However, this place was good value compared to other Mabul Resorts.
Pricing of the packages is a bit strange, it is highly degressive (1 night is very expensive, the price for 2 or 3 is almost the same as for 1).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyril_madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

What impressed me most on Scuba Junkie was the excellent organisation, best I have found on any dive shop I have been to. Contact by email, pickup from the airport, getting to your room, gear rental, the diving itself: everything runs very smoothly.

The rooms are all quite new and clean, the dorms are 10 bed-dorms, but actually one of the nicest dorms I've been to, with 3 spacious bathrooms each.

Diving is world-class, Mabul and Kapalai provide excellent macro diving, with pygmy seahorses virtually guaranteed on one divesite, and flamboyant cuttlefish and ghostpipefish on another, while you can see bigger rays, sharks etc. on Siamil and Sipadan.The turtle population on Mabul is absolutely huge! There is a turtle hatchery next to the resort, so you might have the chance of releasing some baby turtles into the ocean! The dive staff were excellent and highly professional without exception. The staff-to-customer ratio is very low, with a maximum of 4 divers per guide, but I've actually even had a "private" guide on a couple of occasions.

I got the general impression that Scuba Junkie is very much into conservation work, from only using biodegradable detergents to not serving fish that is fished by dynamite fishing, doing beach cleanups as well as reef cleanup dives (a nice opportunity to get a free dive in, and you will always see some cool marine life there, even if you are just cleaning the reef!).There might also be a chance to listen in on a talk on shark or turtle conservation while you are there.

Overall, my experience at Scuba Junkie was excellent, and I would highly recommend it to anybody.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

World class diving that makes everyone happy with plenty of big stuff and macro. Rare creatures sighted on daily basis are countless: pygmy seahorse, ornate ghostpipefish, flamboyant cuttlefish, schools of hammerhead sharks or devil rays...
So, if you decide to cross the world to dive there. I would recommend these guys to anyone.
From the beginners, since they teach courses in small groups of principally 1-3 students...
To the experienced divers, as they group divers 4 max. considering their profile...
Till the DM or IDC who can learn and get a lot of experience in the best conditions.

I spent a month there (oct. 2013) for my dive master course. The service was outstanding.
The first contact through the phone and email was excellent. They really were efficient to find the organisation and budget that suit me the best.

From Tawau airport, a taxi was waiting and drove us to Semporna without any hassle.
Semporna – Mabul is a 50 mn boat ride: they have several transfers everyday. They deal with your luggage if you go diving on arrival. When you get there, the manager is waiting for you on the jetty to introduce yourself to your guide of the day.
You can rent good quality gear on the jetty. The 2 friendly local guys manage a big stock to provide a large number.

In Mabul, the stunning beach resort offers great value neat rooms or dorms. The buffet meals are very nice. At the end of the day, there is a bar above the restaurant to relax or mingle with the "divers community" to chat about the amazing dives all around the island and the extraordinary Sipadan, Siamil or Kapalai.

Room Tip: The option to stay in Semporna is the opportunity to dive around there. Sibuan, Mataking, Mantabuan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan_HNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
14.3 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort

Property: Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing