We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bjerringbro, Viborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I just came back from my 7 visit at Mabul, and i know its not my last time. Scuba Junkie's beach resort is just a perfect place to go if you want to experince Borneo's significant marine life. The Staff at the resort are so nice and helpfull, and they really makes you feel very welcome. The divestaff is very qualified and are experts in finding rare fish that you don't see many places in the world.
The food at the resturant is very good, and there is fresh fruit every day! Even my 2 year old daughter loved the food there. The rooms are very nice and clean, and you feel like you stay at very expensive hotel, but the price is very good!!. We spent hours sitting at the hammock at the balcony. Before i travelled there by my self, but this time a brought my family. Its the perfect place both for familys and travellers. If you want to meet new people the resturant and the bar is perfect for that but if you just want to spent some family time there is also plenty of room for that. The beach is keept very clean and is very child friendly too. Diving or snorkling just outside the resort is fantastic and worth going back for.
I really only have good things to say about Scuba Junkies beach resort and the staff there. Everyone I have recomended it too loves it just as much as i do.

And extra thing i love too is that Scuba Junkie do so much for the locals and the enviroment. Fx. Shark sanctuary, turtle hatchery, reef cleans ect. Its just fantastic to experince such a commitment to the marine life.

The resort is placed just at the beach and at the jetty my daughter experinced a huge turtle swimming by 3 times. As you can imagin she still talkes about it.

So to sum up:

Rooms: 5 stars -clean - VERY nice and very big
Staff: 5 starts -So helpfull and know so much about the marine life and the locals at mabul too.
Surroundings (beach ect:) 5 stars - keept so clean and nice and the garden too.
Food: 5 stars. -Very tastefull, both malay food and western food. -Lots of fresh fruit.
-and they have a band night once a week too!

All in all a great place wich have my best recomandations. !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Sofie Rosb... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    157
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
36
219
136
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Considering it was high season and how busy the place was, I felt everything at Scuba Junkie was very well run and organised. Everything is taken care of for you. The resort is very chilled and has a nice atmosphere. The food was much better than I had expected. The rooms are clean and spacious. Good value considering the food is included. Staff are friendly and helpful and the diving is simply top-notch. I was also impressed with their eco-friendly efforts doing beach cleans, shark presentations, turtle hatchery and trying to educate the locals about the environment. Overall can't fault the place, but definitely book your Sipadan permits nice and early cos this place gets booked out fast. I can see why!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RobLovesDiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The resort is owned and managed by Scuba Junkie. Its interesting that it is next door to a favella and then that is next door to the top end resort.

Locationally, its just a short walk to the jetty with the area clean and safe to be shoeless for the whole stay!

I stayed in a bungalow with air conditioning and was surprised that I was also supplied with a floor fan and attached a huge ceiling fan. The bed was comfortable enough , although after diving, I don't think I have complained sleeping on a bed of nails... the shower was bit of a disappointment as it was more of a dribble, however I've been places where the shower wasn't hot, so I guess this was a bonus. Outside the bungalow, you get your own hammock which is a nice touch.

Rooms are cleaned on a need be basis.

Reception is open from 7:30 to 6pm, and offers a basic and effecient service.

Food provided, as part of the buffet, is basic and mass cooked, however don't be down heartened by this... the food is hearty and prepared with flavour in mind...whilst I was there I don't think I saw one person NOT go up for seconds for breakfast lunch and dinner!

Tea & Kopi are always available (with a can of condensed milk on the side).... this always goes down well with the break time/tea times served with home made donuts and cakes!

On Mabul Island, there isn't a great deal of choices for accommodation, but I would say this resort is definitely value for money for DIVERS only as an additional cost is associated to non divers.

For a more in-depth review of diving, please see refer to the review for Scuba Junkie.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faimaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This resort is operated by Scuba Junkie, the dive operator. We spent 3d2n here for diving at Sipadan Island.
Our room was clean and comfy. The food was ok, and they have a 'No Fish on the Menu' policy, as they do not agree with the local fishing techniques.

I like the fact that Scuba Junkie cares a lot about marine conservation. Their projects include Mabul Turtle Hatchery, Semporna Shark Sanctuary etc.

We got a great dive master, Franc! Great experience especially for my wife. She took an open water course at Mabul then continue dove at Sipadan Island. Both island was fantastic! It was overall a great experience - the accommodation, the staff, the dive, basically everything. Looking forward to dive in Pulau Mabul again!

We also dove in kapalai and our team members was really professional & sporting.
We travelled as a couple on July 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noitpippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Despite the very busy high season Scuba Junkie were able to fit me into a 3D/2N pacakge with 9 dives and me staying in a dorm on Mabul Island. The communication over email is excellent, where a representative will respond to any question you may have. Excellent airport transfer to and from Semporna. They even help you out with accommodation the night before and after your package.

When you start your package you can immediately see how efficient and well run the company is. The divemasters and instructors are a true credit to the whole setup. They ship you over to Mabul and sort out your luggage for you while you go off and dive. The guys in the equipment store are hilarious, friendly and very helpful. It's great how everyone remembers and calls you by your name, something which large organisations can lose, but Scuba Junkie keep the personal service brilliantly.

The resort is awesome. Such a quiet, chilled but vibrant place. The dorms are perfect if you want to save a bit of money and dive more. Good clean beds, bathrooms and you get a decent nights sleep. The food... Wow! Each meal is buffet-style with plenty of options meaning you can eat as much as you like without feeling guilty. Full marks to the chef and kitchen staff. The way the dining area and bar are set up makes it a very sociable place.

The diving - With me only booking two weeks in advance I wasn't expecting to get to Sipadan, but all the other (many) divesites are brilliant. There's so much variety and the divemasters/instructors are very knowledgeable about each. A good thing to do is to mention to the staff what sort of diving you like and they will try and tailor your wants/needs. Originally I liked the big fish,turtles etc but by the end I got really interested in muck diving looking for macro stuff (huge thanks to Max for this - great divemaster).

Overall, my trip to Mabul with Scuba Junkie was a highlight of my trip to Malaysia. It really is well worth spending the bit extra to be on a well-run package. Next time I'll be sure to book months in advance for Sipadan. Thanks to everyone who made it a great experience for me. Special mention to Ted, Max and Paco (legend - ask him to do his Orangutan crabfish dance!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyF1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a few amazing days on the Mabul island. We took the Open Water course which was very cool.
Three dives per day is very intensive but doable.
My advice to other travellers: see if you can do the theory part online, so you don't 'waste' a day in college during you holiday. Even though we had the nicest dive instructor to give the course, and it was actually kinda fun!

The diving was amazing, our instructor was the coolest guy (I presume at Scuba Junkie they make an effort in hiring the best and nicest instructors, as I've met only the most relaxed, friendliest people ever), and the underwater world was very cool. We were taken down for the full 18 metres once or twice, and all excercises were thoroughly explained, demonstrated, guided and reviewed. This made me feel very safe under water.

I loved the underwater world. We saw sleeping sea turtles, clown fish, many star fish, schools of jacks and so much more. It really is addictive.

Room Tip: Have a deluxe room with air-con, you'll love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent 4 nights at scuba junkie, mabul beach resort. The location is good, friendly staff & good food + awesome weekly band night. Enjoyed diving with the wonderful bunch of divemasters, very experienced & friendly. Stayed in the dorm ( private chalets available too), nice to mingle around with fellow travellers, just need to improve the ventilations, gets a bit stuffy at night.
I had a good time there! Definitely will be back !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
269 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
14.2 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
14.3 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort

Property: Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing