We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

terrific spot, amazing service and a thoughtful place to stay. The staff are incredibly eco conscious. The rooms are clean and bright. Each has a wonderful porch with a hammock. The food is terrific. everyone I met who works at the dive centre was friendly, knowledgeable and in love with the diving possibilities in the area. Perfect place

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kateinkigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 575 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently spent 9 wonderful days and nights on Mabul with SJ. This is not 5 star property and makes no claim to be so. It is however exactly what it says on the tin , clean , comfortable with lots of delicious simple food. Comparing it with the other resorts , it was clear that the atmosphere at SJ is far far better than the other resorts , which all seemed half or fully empty. The bar buzzed after supper and drinks , including huge glasses of red wine were very reasonably priced.

Because we stayed so long, we dived with many of the other guests and virtually all of the guides. This was a wonderful way to get to know people and made our trip.

The island itself is great , the resort is as reported next door to the sea gypsy village . Because the residents do not have access to services such as rubbish collection , it does look a bit grotty, but the people are extremely friendly and cheerful. However one row back there are lots of lovely little houses and shops. There are also other hamlets on the island that are very interesting to walk around. The beach belonging to the resort is however spotless and a lovely spot to spend an hour or so.

We are very much into our diving and have been lucky enough to have visited many wonderful places in the relatively short time since we got certified. For us the three days we had diving on SIpadan surpassed virtually all of them. My husband did his 200th dive on Barracuda Point and it was truly the stuff diving dreams are made of. It is however entirely possible to get a SIpadan permit from one of the other resorts , as they seem to have more permits and fewer guests than SJ. The diving around Mabul is Ok, the vis is not great and there is lots of dead coral. however the massive numbers of enormous turtles would have kept us happy for months ! They were totally unfazed by people , I saw more than one fall asleep while being photographed.

Room Tip: Room 24 , at the beach end has a fabulous wrap around double terrace !
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

It is really the best value in Mabul for backpacker. The bungalows are vety nice, less than 50m from the beach. The area is very clean, exept in the village side and in the water. The dive were good too, i saw a lot of big turtle. My boyfriend in snorkelling too. There is wifi in the restaurant and bar area. There is live music in the bar on wednesday from 8pm to 11pm. We were lunky to be on tbe right day to enjoy that. I advise this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophiejordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed in deluxe air-con room and i loved it. It had private balcony, hammock and the room was very clean and very spacious. It also felt very safe.
The staff was very friendly and really helpful.
The food was to die for. There was plenty choice to choose from. Coffee, tea, drinking water, juices available all day.
The resort has its own jetty where you take the boat for diving and you can leave you diving gear there in a locker for your whole stay.
While i was there they also organized activities such as cleaning beaches, painting local houses etc. so if you don't dive and want to help you can join.
I really loved the presentations on turtles and sharks and even local children were performing shark dance,it was very cute:-)
Diving was amazing even though the water was quite murky. i have seen seahorses, flamboyant cuttlefish, crocodile fish,frog fish, turtles,nudibranchs etc. I really loved diving and staying there.
i will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed on Mabul for 5D/4N and enjoyed the stay very much. The rooms are clean spacious and nice big beds. As many people say there is only one reason to go to Mabul and thats diving in Sipadan. I do not agree. The dive site(s) in front of the jetty as well as Kapalai are great alternatives. Off course Sipadan is 'better' but diving at the other sites is also very good (did 40 dives most of them in SE Asia). For example we saw a blue ringed octopus at the Kapalai site! Further the staff is professional and helpful. The bar is very nice. Only thing is there are not that many alternatives for eating and maybe a la carte alternative will give an own choice for diner. Big plus is also the effort they put in nature conservation. When go there do not hesitate to donate (local animals cats and dogs; please feed the tailless cat in front of SJ), help cleaning the beach, buy a t-shirt etc...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The choice of our resort was difficult to do from Europe. We did not really know what to expect of the Junkie Resort because the price was clearly under its competitors.
We spent 2 nights and 3 days (we should spent 3 nights but our flight to KK has been cancelled).
We really liked:
- The staff and diving team (thanks to our dive masters khai and Corinda)
- The place (very clean)
- The organization. Everything was well organized: booking, room, dives, team, reception
- The opportunity to dive in Sipadan (at the very top of our diving experience so far)
- The food was really good for one dinner and two lunches (less appreciated for our second dinner)
- The project launched by the Junkie Resort (shark sanctuary) which seams to be more than just a marketing argument and the involvement of the resort for the local community
What we would love to have:
- Boat transfer at the end of the morning (it has finally be organized be the reception)
- Air con in our room (it exists but no more vacancy)
- A more reliable and fast Internet connection

Room Tip: Take an air con room if available
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legreg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was one of the more rasonably priced options on Mabul and we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days on the island. The resort is really nice, the rooms were also of a great standard. We had a fan only room, it was hot but with all three fans pointed at our bed at night we slept fine, if you can afford the extra probably worth reating yourself to an air-con. Our room also had no hot water but this wasn't an issue given it was so hot anyway. Meals are buffet style with a great selection, Scuba junkies have a no fish policy to help preserve the marine life in the local area. They also have a turtle sanctuary onsite and we were lucky enought to see 71 turltles hatch one night during our stay - the satff even knocked on everyones doors to make sure everyone knew about it too - very nice touch.

The Mabul Beach Resor also had some great initiatives on the isalnd to try and help address some of the issues local people have with litter and preserving the marine life, turtle eggs etc - these things will take time and I was very impressed with their ethos and helping to educate the viallgers who live on the island (I don't mean this in a condesending way). There is also a very lovely and clean beach right in front of the resort by the jetty too - beautiful place, great staff and woudl definitely come back in a flash!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
274 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#9 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
0.3 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort

Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Price Range: $42 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing