We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend a little more somewhere else and get a lot more!!!”

My Scuba Diver's Mabul Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
My Scuba Diver's Mabul Homestay
Ranked #3 of 3 Pulau Mabul B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I contacted the accommodation 3 weeks prior to arrival via the special request page on the agoda.com web site and also on his Facebook page (as there is no email address given when booking) about the included transfer and also about a sipadan permit. He did not reply! And therefore left at airport wondering what was happening and also with no sipadan permit for my stay. I managed to arrive eventually after taking a taxi to semporna and calling him. Once I arrived he said I didn't give him the flight info, but it is a requirement to enter the info when booking with agoda and is shown on the booking! Also as per a very recent comment on the agoda.com web site 3 meals are NOT included! I showed him this review and he said when booking on agoda the meals are not included...so how did this person leave a review on agoda? There is only power from 6pm to 6am therefore only fan and wifi in those hours, and the wifi is rubbish! The dive master Ron is the only good thing about this place, he is friendly and pointed out things well on our dive. Also if you are not diving there is nothing to do here the public beaches are littered with rubbish and local children's poo, however the resort beach is ok. I would spend a little bit more and stay in the resort or with Uncle Chang's resort who I dived with and was very impressed! Uncle Chang's does have limited power also but meals are included, staff are friendly and it has a much better atmosphere!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blng101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is really a homestay place. If you don´t mind a simple but functional accomodation this is the place for you. A bed and AC from 6PM to 6AM is what I need.If you want luxory, go elsewere.
The really important positive things about this place is all the rest:
Location,the divesites,hospitality,price,friendship,sunsets, etc,etc.
All thanks to Ross with staff and thanks for all the good food during our 7 days here.Especially the tryout of octopus incl ink,haha!
We were here Febr 2012 and we are definately longing back for this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same size so it doesn´t matter which one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wellpapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I did my advance course with MY Scuba dive team, instructor Roslan. He is just excellent and professional, all well explain, everything done simple yet easy to understand and my night dive was really wonderful. At first I was really nervous, and yet at the end my instructor and his team made everything feel safe and enjoyable. A great team to dive with. Really recommend !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Amimicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is located on the 'locals" section of island (not resort side) so it is a bit rougher than the resort side but its still ok. There are kids, cats and chickens running round.

The room was old but had good air con, power is on from 6pm till 6am.

The big issue I have with this place is the service. We were shown our room but not given a key or explained much when we arrived, such as meal times etc.

We went snorkeling which was organised by the homestay, but at the end of our one night stay we were given a 240rm bill, a little steep for mask rental for one person (my partner already had her own gear). The guy then told me this was for the boat to take us out and a guide to come with us.

It was a bit of a rip off because the boat didnt take us more than 300m form the actual island apart from one time when we took divers to a different island. They took us out 3 times a day but also when the scuba divers went out so we were restricted for time as we had to get back to boat.

I told they guy I was not happy and why should I pay for a boat to take me somewhere I could already get to? He had no answer just said "it was a good deal".

Had we been told in advance we were being charged for the snorkeling, we would have simply hired a mask then gone snorkeling at our own leisure around the island, as the places we were taken by boat were accessible via numerous jettys.

So due to the service I would have to say avoid this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattzea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The people pick us up at Jetty umum at sempurna there but our bus drop us at bus station at sempurna which take some time to find the location of jetty. Guesthouse is very simple, pillow and bed is it torn and old, making me whole body ache next morning. Snorkeling was great as the people was guiding you one to one. Food is okay with their local food. Service is great as they will bring you to walk around Mabul island.......if you need a budget trip, this is the choose.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

After a quick stop in Semporna, my boat driver came and pick me up to take me to the B&B where i was to stay 4 nights and 5 days (package).
When I arrived, the rooms were really run down and I noticed the diving equipments were old (I'm not even talking about the dirty/holed/supersized wet suit i was given for the week). The food wasn't great and I even got sick after 1 day (which never happened after 2 years of living in Malaysia). The diving was great but the staff was being trained while taking us underwater which I found a bit dangerous.
The staff at the guesthouse was nice and friendly though but it didn't make my stay unforgettable. Moreover, the guesthouse is far from a proper beach so if you go out, other than to go dive, you just get lost on stilts paths and it's surrounded by roosters that chant all night long (my 3hours of sleep per night weren't enough to actually enjoy myself while diving)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We do not mind staying at basic accomodations and also do like "homestays" due to the more personal kind of experience. We have booked the My Scuba Divers since the reviews on a booking page were good and we were looking forward staying there. Pick-up worked well and transfer went all right .
But the moment we reached all of us were quite shocked - the rooms look like on the pictures on their website but the rest was far below the expectation we had from the reviews and other pictures. The place gave us a fairly run down feeling without even toilet paper. We decided not to unpack and after passing some fairly dirty areas we took a stroll over the island looking for an alternative place which we luckily found.
If you ONLY dive this might be your place to stay but do not expect anything else. There is no proper beach and the surrounding is not what we would call inviting. We forfeited the downpayment and changed to a $$ place but didn't regret the decision for a single minute.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
13  Thank JMKKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Mabul hotels
0 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#10 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
77 reviews
0 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#11 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Mabul Paradise Lodge
#6 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sipadan Dive Center Mabul
Sipadan Dive Center Mabul
#8 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to My Scuba Diver's Mabul Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Scuba Diver's Mabul Homestay

Address: Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Mabul
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing