We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mabul Beach Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seaventures Dive Rig(Pulau Sipadan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Seafest Hotel(Semporna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sipadan Inn 2(Semporna)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Sipadan Inn(Semporna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
34
35
11
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
35
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomsair conscuba junkiehot waterfishmelonturtle hatcheryfresh fruitmuck divingdive operationmarine lifebuffet styledive sitesstrawscleansvillagedensity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 83 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed four nights in the basic fan room, which was absolutely luxury for us backpacking on a budget. Yes the accommodation is bit pricey but compared to other places on the island and the quality of everything (food, room, cleanliness, staff) it's well worth it. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L2H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

When you book there you're booking for a whole package:

boat from Semporna to Mabul: nice, very well organized
check in: again very good organization. you don't have to worry about anything. You just go and dive
back from the dive you go to the room, very nice and spacious room with terrace. Really relaxing.
all the organization around the diving activities is PERFECT
Food is good even if sometimes a little bit repetitive

Excellent divemaster!

Congratulations! you made our last days of our around the world trip a great experience!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexia_alessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed a total of 6 days 5 nights here. 4 nights in the Fan Room and 1 night in the dorm since that was the only available option. The fan room was big enough, has 2 fans & 1 portable fan & the bathroom was clean. No room cleaning service unless you inform them. Basic but clean & well maintained. Dorm had 5 double-decker beds with 3 ceiling fans, 3 portable fans & 3 bathrooms. Very clean as the cleaners cleans the bathroom & room every day. The guests varies from young aged group to elderly ones..A perfect place for any age group.

Food was nice and its always topped up. For the $$$ that you are paying it is worth it. Breakfast at 7.00, Lunch at 1, Tea at 4, Dinner at 7. No fish dishes as fishes are our friends, says Scuba Junkies. So agree with it!
Has vegetarian option as well. Beers are available at the bar on top of the cafe. Beers from RM 8 -16. Cocktails at 18. Open from 8am till 11.30 pm. Band plays on Friday night.

Boat transfers & land transfers can be arranged during booking. There is a village right beside the Resort which you can walk around in to get souvenir and snacks & stuffs. No shops in the resort as they would like their guests to support the locals.

Diving was truly awesome. We dived in Sipadan, Mabul & Kapalai. The dive masters (I had Rob & Dave) are really friendly, experienced, amazing and willing to assist on everything.. Diving is usually in a group of 4 with 1 dive master.. Top notch equipments. All the equipments will be ready in the boat (before & after) and all you need is to grab your wetsuit, masks & weights and hop in/out the boat. Please book the Sipadan permit early as they are only allocated 7 permits a day.

I will surely recommend Scuba Junkie & Mabul Beach resort to everyone. I truly had an amazing experience there.

Ps: Please book early to avoid any disappointments as they are always fully booked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Puvanesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My sister and I booked four nights on Mabul Island at Scuba Junkie. Looking at reviews beforehand, we chose to not stay at their affiliated hostel in Semporna but everyone raved about their island accommodation. They were very right.

We did 3 days diving, 10 dives in total including the last four at Sipidan (which you must book in advance and it's well worth it). The staff were extremely professional but fun too, the equipment was high quality and the underwater life was phenomenal.

The accommodation was also great, we opted for a deluxe type room with air con and hot water - the air con (I'd say) is essential, the hot water less so as it was so hot outside. The food was good - above "school canteen" standard but I wouldn't say gourmet. Quantity was more than sufficient.

We had arranged the boat transfer each way before arriving which made the whole trip to Mabul very easy. The bar had a great vibe however we were unfortunately there when they did their 'annual stock take' so the bar was closed for two days - although we were advised there was a bar nearby, we didn't venture.

Generally I would definitely recommend Scuba Junkie's resort on Mabul Beach, make sure you book Sipidan in advance and the boat transfers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheaCaramello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I'm right back from a 4 days stay at MBR. After several experiences of diving and lodging in South East Asia, esp. in Malaysia - I've to say: it's the best place I've been so far. That's not only because of the great dive sites with tons of marvelous creatures, it's also because of the place itself and the friendly, helpful and very passionate staff. I spent my nights in a dorm (because everything was already fully booked) - and although I wasn't very happy about it, I changed my mind, when I saw the room. Evereything was very clean, in excellent conditions and the fact that max. 8 pax share 3 bathrooms, make's it a very comfortable dorm.
The whole area is very well maintained, clean and with lovely details. I love the fact, that everything (!) is perfect organized (probably because I'm a German), but I've never experienced it in the region before - it makes things so much easier and save you a lot of time and sometimes trouble too (and this is true also for non-Germans ;)). During all dives you are in the company of well experienced dive masters/instructors - they really care about you and your safety. (Like it should be!) But best of all: staying with Scuba Junkies and have fun is at the same time doing something good! You support passive and if you like (and you should like!) active good causes too. The people of Scuba Junkies care a lot about environmental issues as well as issues of the community they live in. Or to say it in other words: they are not there to make maximum profit in a short time. They are there to make the place a better place today, tomorrow, and in the long-term. Semporna Shark Project, S.E.A.S. (Shark Education Awareness Survival), Turtle Hatchery, lots of educational programs with focus of the local sea gipsy community and many more are some samples for their great engagement. To serve no seafood is just as consequent and doesn't make the food less good. All in all I'm happy to had the chance to stay there and recommend Scuba Junkies to everybody who wants to have a great time for an affordable price. The best benefit you can get there (without any extra charge): it's very likely, that you'll leave and you're not only a better diver, but a better human too.
I love the

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BineFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews