We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to say but terrible.... except if you like it very very basic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scuba Jeff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Pulau Mabul B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Scuba Jeff in July 2010. We tried to check up it before and found mixed reviews, but we went there with “win or loose” mindset since it is very expensive close to Sipadan.

IMPORTANT – If you like to visit Sipadan you need to apply for this SEVERAL MONTHS before if you stay at Scuba Jeff! guesthouse is very cheep but all snorkeling etc you need to pay extra – and sorry to say the quality is not the best… If you really like to enjoy Mabul and the surroundings it worth spending the money on much more expensive hotels like e.g. SMART.

LOCATION: The guest house is the harbor, or should I say in the village. Here everybody use the sea as a garbage bin. Even when you flush the toilets it goes directly out in the water below…. Just a few meters from where you swim… urh! And the so call “underwater garden” is very small and only a few m2. Last there are boats driving outside the swimming platform very close!!!

FOOD: Nothing else than very simple food (only fish, bread, noodles/rice and veggis that they cook in the morning for all the day)

ROOMS: Just a bed – nothing more! The sheets might be rinsed but not washed!

TOILETS: Very basic. No zink or shower. There is only a toilet that flushes directly in the sea and then a big bucket with rain water to wash yourself – not even a mirror.

SERVICE: Scuba Jeff does not normally live at Mabul / the guest house. There was a teenager that was the manager and the remaining personnel were very young with some exceptions. There is very few that speak English. They mean well most of the time but we found communication/messages confused time to time.

SUMMERY: If you are a back packer or enjoy very, very simple holiday then this might be interesting – otherwise look for something else. We decided to leave after 2 day and check in to another hotel – even though it was very expensive it was one of the best decision I have mad in all my life :9

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KRDM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 149 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

I think we got enough reviews about the guest house..so my review is about the diving experience in Mabul with Jeff, the owner of the guest house!! As you may know, there are many guest houses and high end resorts that you can choose to stay in Mabul but how many guest house owners in Mabul that you know would go diving with you and then take your pictures together with videos while diving?? Scuba Jeff Guess House offers great hospitality not just on the land but it also continues underwater!!

You should know that, diving in Mabul offers a different world of diving opportunities from most other diving locations. It is a macro diving paradise where you will be able to find rare macroworld inhabitants hard to find at other dive sites. The island's reputation as one of the world's best macro diving site is actually no more a secret. Honestly, i'm addicted diving at this place and how I wish that I can just forget about everthing else and just stay there for as long as I want!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudgeJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Accommodation :- Overated. below basic. it sucks big time... I would not recommend it for anyone. there's a lot of 'above basic accommodations' in the area which are slightly expensive than this place..

Staffs:- I was informed that there's 23 staffs? but only 3-4 staffs who did their job . lack of courtesy. playing guitar all day and nite without a slight respect towards guests comfort.. however , the receptionist (who greeted us and show us the room) is very nice and deserve every praise that I could think off

Food:- the curry is okay .. the grilled seafood no-no

Snorkling:- this is where you will get your money worth.. excellent guide and safety service

I tried to give this place a chance but unfortunately its a hell of discomfort.. Of course there's few good staffs who makes it bearable for me.

Please come here with the lowest expectation, perhaps you could appreciate the place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Playnobabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

i came from Kuala Lumpur and had never been INTO the open seas what more diving despite being an excellent swimmer. one day, a friend invited me and some friends to hang at scuba jeff to take up the PADI license and we all just agreed considering the fact that we had some days of annual leave yet to be utilized. at first, many of us were unsure what to expect because the trip to get to scuba jeff was a long haul one.

the trip from KL to Tawau takes up to 2.5 hours and from Tawau to the jetty in Semporna will consume another 1-1.5 hours or so. then its another hour from the jetty to scuba jeff. when we got there however, we were really really caught off guard with what i would call 'an experience on another level'.

below is the summary.

place: the place is B&B therefore no frills. you get a long-house like layout with about 10 twin sharing rooms. the whole place is big enough to fit a large group of people and there're benches and tables both in and outside the shack for people to sit and relax and also eat. a hammock is placed at the edge of the shack where you can rest and look at the beautiful sunset or sleep under a sea of stars. the exterior part of the shack is used primarily for hanging out and also for the guests to sleep with the sky naked to the eyes and the sea breeze to soothe the hot air. mind you, i saw shooting stars and dead stars many a time, more than what i see in the city i live in for the past 25 years. in short, life here is simple and very much unlike the luxury living in the city and do not expect the pizzaz you would find in 5 stars and resorts.

activities: there's nothing much to do in mabul unless you really plan for it and for us we planned to take up the PADI license and did some free snorkelling along with free dives. if you dont plan well, you might get bored. also, be warned that this place is always fully booked despite its reputation as a no frills B&B so booking at least 3-6 months earlier is recommended. the owner, jeff can recommend what to do and what to see but sufficient to say, its the sea activities you should be looking forward to.the diving is conducted by trained instructors and dive masters from Blue Sea Divers based in Semporna and these guys are highly trained and seasoned divers whom are friendly, knowledgeable and very very helpful in training rookies to be professional divers. therefore, taking up PADI here is HIGHLY recommended.

rooms: the rooms are tidy and simple. you get 2 malaysian standard sockets (equivalent to singapore and united kingdom's electrical sockets) and a table fan to keep the bugs and heat away (although the fans might need some fixing as they are quite err..weak). you get 2 prince sized bed with above average bed sheets. you also get a big window to enjoy the sunset and the sea breeze and also the view of the sea huts.

staff: the staff, save for jeff, spoke basic english and good malay so communication is not that hard but stick to basic english. they are very friendly and helpful but do not mind them when they do not break a smile or greet you as that is not part of their culture. one of jeff's staff, jimsen is really good at everything. just tip him with a good dollar and he'll run errands for you at no time no questionas asked. both jimsen and also another staff, maisarah will entertain the guests at night with both local songs or english songs and also some songs in tagalog (which i personally thought was excellent).

food: the food is nothing short of great because they mostly contain a lot of seafood and nothing else save for some veggies and fruits. some local delights might appear tempting to the local guests, but foreigners might want to stay away from nastily hot and spicy food (but since im a local, i lick them off my plate). do not expect gourmet food or buffet kind of international cuisine cuz again its a no frills B&B. im a bodybuilder and i find the high protein, medium carb and fat diet there is sufficient for muscle conditioning (although there aint no gym in mabul) but its okay since i went there during my off week.

services: again, its a no frills B&B, so do not expect free complimentary wall street journal, financial times or local newspaper because PEOPLE DO NOT READ THE NEWSPAPER on such islands an i personally think its a waste of time and money to have those things. i however would advise anyone planning to stay in mabul or any other island for that matter to prepare extra stuff like spectacles or other things that might break cuz the journey to the closest town (Semporna) to and fro might take you about 2 hours. there're 2 functioning toilets which were more than enough.

other than that, scuba jeff is a great place to be. learn the sipadan song so that you'll understand why even the seasoned and experienced foreign divers chose mabul over the great barrier reef or maldives or mexico.

check this place out for a good time. seriously.
the place is safe, the sea rocks and the time you spend there will be a memorable one.
but always be prepared for surprises and get all the information you need from jeff.

sincerely, Muzzil of Kuala Lumpur

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My second trip to Mabul and first time staying at Jeff's own guesthouse.

I was at Jeff's with my wife and 4 year old daughter. We were met at Semporna around noon and Jeff sent us to Mabul in a fast boat with a few other couples. He wasn't due back to Mabul until much later in the day, so he told the boatman to take us snorkeling after we've checked in.

On arrival at his new guesthouse, we were met by his friendly staff. they don't speak much english, but then i'm a local so language was not a problem. Soon after settling in and a simple yet delicious lunch, we went snorkeling.

The first snorkeling site was at this place called Lobster Wall. The water depth was about 5 feet and then it drops (the wall) to about 30 feet. A few of Jeff's guide accompanied us. One of them named Jimson, took care of our daughter - swimming and snorkeling - so my wife and I could enjoy the snorkeling together.

We were there for 4 days. I spent 2 days scuba diving organized by Jeff. Total of 6 dives and 2 of them were at exceptionally beautiful. When I was scuba diving, the guides took my wife and daughter snorkeling. We were taken care of 24 hours a day.

Jeff's conservation effort included collecting corals ran over by boats and putting them in a safe location in front of his water chalet. when i was there, there was a lion fish, anemones, stag coral, clown fish, etc. you can choose to snorkel there day or night and it was beautiful.

The food served at Jeff was simple, yet tasted very good as the ingredients were all fresh. It's the only guesthouse equipped with a prayer room for muslims. if you're looking for air-conditioning and luxury, you should be looking at other resorts and cough up the money. if you just want a place to stay with friendly company, jeff's guesthouse is the place.

Jeff pioneered weekly clean-up activities on Mabul where he pay the local sea gypsy children for trash that they collected. soon that activity were picked up by other resorts.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azghaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

i've been planned for this trip since last year with my 5 other ladies.we keep searchg an info to get the best deal & thoughtful experience when we r there.i've found this scuba jeff website n start dealing with them since march 2010.my first impresion is they r very helpful.jeff the owner of guest house always give me an informative tips on how to travel there.2 weeks before our departure to mabul, the staff started to contact us to confirm the booking.
during the day of arrival,we receive a welcome smile by jeff n his team at the guest house.he treat us totally like family.s what he promise to giv 24hours guide/guard to the visitors,that was what we experience during 3days staying at the guest house.not only jeff who are good to us,but as well as the staff.the food serve was delicious.no fast food..but its all fresh food from the sea.it was a budget guest house..but its comfort.worth paying with all those promises that he commit in his website.the clear crystal water just in front of the guest house make u feel calm.and his idea of offering discovery scuba diving to the guest was absolutely great!it makes my holiday was so perfect and we started to miss mabul & of course the friendliness of everyone there in Scuba Jeff Guest House.not to forget the time listening for their guitar play and Mai unique voices.
after all..what i can conclude..what Scuba jeff was offering is worth and u guys will miss to come back to mabul island and enjoy not only the sighseeing but also the gypsy culture.all the best to u Jeff & Scuba Jeff team.we will be there again soon.Keep up ur good effort to protect the coral at ur beautiful taman sesudu..and always keep ur smile to welcome more guest to ur house.we miss ur friendliness as we feel like apart of ur family.luv u guys!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilla_damia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I had booked Scuba Jeff's for three nights via email, and I received very short email responses from Jeff himself. I was told that once we arrived in Semporna, we were to give Jeff a call for a transfer to the island. I called the two numbers he had emailed me most recently but nobody answered. So I tried the number he had given me a few days earlier and finally got Jeff on the phone. He sent someone over to pick us up right away.

The boat trip went by quickly, and as we pulled up to the house the staff helped to carry in our bags. But that's all they did. We were sort of shown to a room, but we were never told where the bathrooms were, what time meals would be at, or how to get anywhere on the island. I'm not a very needy traveler, but a little introduction to the place is always appreciated. Instead the staff sat around and smoked at the table in the middle of the building. Most of them seemed to be 16 or younger. We asked where Jeff was and didn't get much of an answer as nobody there spoke English very well (we guessed).

My partner and I decided to set out to see the island, but first we had to make our way across a very rickety elevated wood plankwalk. Once on land, we were following two Scuba Jeff staff members who started passing paper ringgits out to kids like they were big hot shots. We veered off in another direction. After scoping out a few other places on the island, we decided that we didn't want to move to another place because we didn't really want to stay on the island at all.

Back at the house, we asked again where Jeff was and finally understood that Jeff was back in Semporna. At that point, I was slightly upset that he hadn't mentioned in his emails that he wouldn't be around. We arranged to leave the next day. When asked what time we wanted to go, we said 11am. We were told it was no problem.

That night we were served dinner. Nothing special but not bad. Because we felt totally unwelcome and in the way of the staff, we didn't feel comfortable hanging out in the common areas after dinner.

The rooms themselves are fine. Just wooden walls and a window that opens out to a view of the water village the house is in. The beds were thin mattresses but semi-comfortable. And there was a fan in the room that helped to keep the bugs away.

If you're lucky, you'll be serenaded by the young girl with a beautiful voice. Although she mostly only practiced Miley Cyrus's song "The Climb", it was much better than listening to one of the guys screech out some local songs while playing guitar. It was almost unbearable at one point, and I can tune out a lot of noise.

The next morning we were served breakfast, and soon after a boat arrived with Scuba Jeff on board. He sort of introduced himself but seemed more interested in the single girl who was also staying at the place. I overheard him telling her they were going to have a big party that night. Good thing we decided to leave. We were not interested in that type of thing, but he never bothered to ask us if we'd mind.

Turns out 11am wasn't going to work out as a departure time, but Jeff offered to take us out on a snorkeling trip for free while we waited for the tide to come back in. I figured at this point that he knew we were upset so it was nice of him to offer a freebie. The first site we went to was just on the other side of the reef nearby the house, and it was beautiful. Two divers had come out on the boat from Semporna so we stayed in the water the whole time they were down. Afterwards, we were taken back to the house where we had lunch. Jeff told us that we wouldn't be leaving until 3pm or so and that we could do another snorkel at a "very beautiful site" if we wanted to go along with the divers. The boat dropped us off near one of the resorts just down the shore from Scuba Jeff's. Visibility was horrible and there was a lot of garbage floating in the water. We decided to get out almost right away.



We were finally able to head back to Semporna, and we were taking the fast boat. Unfortunately the driver loved to wave at his friends that would pass by on other boats and would jerk the steering wheel sending us straight at the other boats. It was nerve-racking to say the least.

Before we left Mabul, Jeff mentioned that he was fixing up the place and adding nicer rooms. He suggested we come back in a year or so. We didn't want to leave because the rooms were simple. It was the staffing we had issues with. If you want to work in the hospitality business, you might want to teach your staff to be hospitable. With a smile for good measure. I think Scuba Jeff's could be a really great place to hang out in the future once he gets a few things figured out.

This next issue is nothing that I would consider in an evaluation of Scuba Jeff's, but visitors should be warned. There is a lot of trash lying around the island and floating in the water. Once while snorkeling I said, "Is that a jellyfish? No, it's just a plastic bag." It would be really nice if more of an effort was made to keep the island and waters surrounding it clean. I know this is a change that needs to be made from the top down, but I just think it is worth putting out there as a suggestion.

I do have to say that the best part of this experience was the view from our room. We were able to watch the local folks fish and swim in the water. And the buildings of the water village were silhouetted by the setting sun later in the evening. It was an incredible view!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#10 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Sipadan Mangrove Resort
0.4 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#11 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Jeff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Jeff Guest House

Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul 91308, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Mabul
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, budget accommodation on Mabul island in stilted longhouse right over the sea. Look out of your room to the infinite sea views or across to the local fishing village bustling with local life. Room rate includes all meals, tea, coffee, water. Friendly staff will treat you like family and make you feel at home. Snorkel right off our jetty or join our dive trips to the famous sites of Mabul and Sipadan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scuba Jeff Guest House Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing