We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor managed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scuba Jeff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Pulau Mabul B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2014

It breaks my heart to give this review.

Pre-Stay
Pros: Booking was a pleasant experience. Payment also. Jeff has a very simple office in Semporna. We had to wait a couple of hours before our boat to the lodge, the place gave us a basic place for waiting.
Cons: The office toilet is not working. Had to go to a restaurant. The air conditioned office allows people to smoke cigarettes.

Boat ride
Pro: Basic jetty. Scenery view of life over at Semporna. Beautifu, sturdy boat
Cons: 20 minutes was wasted for fueling. Engine problem. Approximately 20 stops to attend to engine. Each stops took a few minutes.

Checking In
Pros:Very nice view. The deck seemed crowded, but not really an issue. Friendly staff and guests.
Cons: We were told that the place was fully booked. They had to re-arrange the guests' rooms. (What the ..?) We were there around 3.00pm. At almost 5.00pm we were asked to move to a nearby homestay (Summer Friends - will put a review on this one). Did I mentioned that there were 12 of us (me & wife, a group of 6 guys, another group of 4 ladies) with the same fate?

The Place
Pros: Very gorgeous scene,
Cons: Dirty tables and flooring. There were at least 30 people on the deck at that time, and the place was cramped. There were wet people, dry people, smoking people. There were only 2 usable toilets. The other 2 ... eww ....... All this were to be shared by more than 40 people then. You can see in their faces that the

Snorkeling trip:
Pros: Nice location. Very clear water. Beautiful corals. Fishes. Can easily spot turtles. Friendly guide.
Cons: Disorganized. Me and the 6 guys had to go for second trip since their short of boat, guide and snorkeling equipment.

We were glad transferred to the other place. Though less scenic, but much cleaner. Better food.

Owner need to really manage this place instead just passing things to the staff. Spend more time on organizing bookings, maintenance, cleanliness, etc. instead of concentrating too heavy on the diving activities and the divers. Snorkelers are also paying customers. I hope Jeff reads this coz we love the place and the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kamarol1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 148 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

My friend and me originally had planned to stay on Mabul Island only for two nights but stayed for four days in the end - one of the reasons was definitely Scuba Jeff. We had an amazing time :)
At first the island is paradise and Scuba Jeff is placed on the more beautiful side.
We were shocked first when we came to the island and we saw the prices of the other hostels - but Scuba Jeff has reasonable prices.
My friend and me shared a twin room, which was basic, but absolutely enough for us - with fan, comfortable bed and enough space.
The food was ok - pretty much the same every day (especially for vegetarians)- but that's perfectly fine since we hadn't paid for included food but were always allowed to take some.
We felt very much at home at Scuba Jeff.
The view is amazing - you can see turtles just from the hostel platform and the staff was incredible friendly.
Diving and snorkelling was cheap compared to the other places (1 dive - 100 ringgit, two dives 180 ringgit) and I felt very safe.
In the evenings some of the people working there played the guitar and everyone sang together - Beautiful !
We are really missing this place already and are definitely planning to come back :)
Best place to be !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AisyahvanHouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The accommodation is totally basic. well who need luxurious room when ur intention is to treasure the sea? The view from the chalet is awesome. wake up early so u wont miss to see the giant turtle from the deck. Excellent services from the crew. Good food. bonus if you get to buy fresh crab/lobster/squid/fish from the villagers. But the cooking fees is quite expensive. try to nego with the kitchen staff incharge. This is the most memorable vacation i ever had.

Room Tip: Dont forget to wrap ur bag with anything waterproof before going onto the boat. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SajidahShopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

It could be a really nice place. Basic rooms, but the chill area over the crystal clear water is beautiful. BUT: Organisation is really bad! While we were there, the chief was on holiday. So the guesthouse was run by about 8-10 young locals without any interest of taking care of their customers. Diving organisation totally missing. They had invited their friends from the mainland and what followed was a party with lots of alcohol. One of them even vomited from the chill area. I don't need a luxury accomodation (As i mentioned, the guesthouse is basic but really nice) and i also like to make party and have some drinks. But guests seemed to be considered as disturbing and annoying, not welcome. The Staff was really desinterested in us (Only Dazil (hope I wrote it correctly. If not, sorry for that) took care of us and was really nice to us). We moved after the first night to another Hostel and were so happy we changed accomodation. We didn't get our money back for the last 2 nights (we had booked and paid for 3 nights in advance), they even made fun of us, because we asked for a refund. That was unprofessional, offensive and very disapointing. Scuba jeff (the chief) should care more about his place! 8 people changed into another accomodation during the time I stayed on Mabul. I think that doesn't need further comment!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElephantP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Definitely the best place on mabul. A small friendly dive shop that works around your needs. The whole team make you feel right at home. You become a part of the family and everyone is lovely.

The owner, Jeff, is very friendly, welcoming, hilarious, energetic and completely crazy. In a good way. He makes sure you have the best time possible.

The rooms are basic. But the diving is 5 star. The dive gear is also top notch. As for the dive team, they are the best. They know everything about the dive sites. Where to find all the best macro life. And they know the sites like the back of their hands.

Thanks to everyone for an amazing stay. I will definitely be back again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank gaglersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

we're back after last trip in oct 13, provide basic needs as other backpacker lodge, food is good , sleep is good, diving is good, if your'e looking for 5stars accommodation, this is not your place, but if you want to jive with local and their culture this is the best..

small palm doesn't mean small heart..come with open heart and you will be touched deep inside..
sundeck, hammock , turtle etc..that's all I need..

this is mabul

your journey begin...http://scubajeffsipadan.com/

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junkopile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I feel welcome as soon as I touch my feet on the dive center. Food are great. Able to buy fresh seafood and ask the girls to cook for us. Tip top customer service. I feel very comfortable at scuba Jeff. Entertainment such as guitar been played by them at night. Card games. Board game. Chill by hammock all is heaven on earth I would say. No aircond no hot water heater are the least of my worries Due to I'm a diver who likes to mingle and make new friends. If u are the type like me . Trust me u would love this place very much. I will definitely be back for them..

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ziegler_melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
0.3 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#10 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#11 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Mabul Paradise Lodge
#7 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Jeff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Jeff Guest House

Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul 91308, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Mabul
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, budget accommodation on Mabul island in stilted longhouse right over the sea. Look out of your room to the infinite sea views or across to the local fishing village bustling with local life. Room rate includes all meals, tea, coffee, water. Friendly staff will treat you like family and make you feel at home. Snorkel right off our jetty or join our dive trips to the famous sites of Mabul and Sipadan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scuba Jeff Guest House Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing