We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb awesome place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scuba Jeff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Pulau Mabul B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I feel welcome as soon as I touch my feet on the dive center. Food are great. Able to buy fresh seafood and ask the girls to cook for us. Tip top customer service. I feel very comfortable at scuba Jeff. Entertainment such as guitar been played by them at night. Card games. Board game. Chill by hammock all is heaven on earth I would say. No aircond no hot water heater are the least of my worries Due to I'm a diver who likes to mingle and make new friends. If u are the type like me . Trust me u would love this place very much. I will definitely be back for them..

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ziegler_melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 151 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

all ISLAND basic amenities are provided and it average at everything except for the amazing snorkeling trip, great sunset view, nice attraction from " sea Gipsy children" life could not be more excited than this.

Room Tip: choose VIP room if you want attach bathroom and some privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teracota79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The room was very basic with no aircond and the electricity was only available from 6:00pm - 8:00am. Totatlly away from life in the city. Good break...

The best part is the place was above the sea and we can do snorkelling or swimming anytime... And the water was very clear all the time. The snorkelling pacakge was excellent. We were taken to a place call Lobster Wall and was amazing. Luckily i'm not into diving..otherwise I would go diving instead of snorkelling.

By the evening we seat down to watch the sunset...and at nite you can see the twinkle little star.
The food was simple but delicious. We instead buy some fresh seafood caught freshly by the sea gypsies and cooked by the girls.

Walking around the beach was also nice with a lot of things to see. We definately will come again...

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajagurun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Accommodation for backpackers really basically a room with a bed mattress in it sometimes with plastic cover still on it ..The sheets on our bed where a bit suspect don't know when they where last washed. plenty of ants running around the floor as well.
The food was typical Malaysian fare rice noodles etc .But able to have plenty of fresh sea food caught by local fisherman ..No milk available for drinks...
The snorkelling was very good when it did not pour with rain .I would recommend bringing your own gear if possible though . Do not bother as we did bring stuff for going out, as you wont need it there is nowhere to go . If you are after a cheap trip with some nice snorkelling /Diving this could be for you ..but I thought it was a bit basic for me

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nz828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently had the opportunity to spend just over a week with Scuba Jeff on Mabul Island and to be honest, neither of us could fault the place.
The entire facility is kept spotlessly clean by the beautiful and amazing Pat and her team at all times. The girls are friendly and Pat herself was by far the most helpful employee we came across in the 4 months we traveled around Mabul/Sipadan and all of the islands out of Semporna. Nothing was too much effort for Pat, which was a refreshing and unexpected change from the hospitality we were used to by this stage in the trip.
The food was mostly seafood, caught fresh daily by the friendly Bajau (sea gypsies) and cooked on site by the girls. Crabs, lobsters and fish were a daily treat for Jeff's guests, however, neither of us eat seafood. Again Pat and the girls were more than happy to accommodate and we found ourselves tucking into mountains of freshly prepared local chicken and vegetable dishes. There is tea, coffee and safe fresh drinking water available 24/7, as well as the "fatty tea house" on site for burgers and snacks.
The diving on Mabul is amazing, and Jeff's dive team had no problems tailoring our dives to suit our requests as we'd spent quite some time on the island already, they were even happy to put a second DM in the water just to take us straight to specific locations whilst the other divers went on the more standard all-inclusive dives expected on Mabul... They even allowed us to stay put (with our DM) taking photos of the same Pygmy seahorse for entire dives. All we had to do was ask.
We can totally recommend Jeff's for any traveller based on service accommodation, food and diving experience.
Then there's Jeff himself. We have made a friend for life through Jeff. The hours we've spent laying in his famous hammocks sipping Tanduay and chatting with this incredible man will remain as the highlight of our trip. Jeff is the perfect host and incredible story teller. He's a great diver and knows Mabul island (both in and out of the water) like the back of his hand. He and his team (locals as well as Aussie and English) took our already incredible trip to a level we didn't know was possible. Thankyou Jeff and Pat for everything. Xx

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squishy_dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Awesome place...place for relex, safe, and clean. Don't expect good room so much seen it is a budget lodge but it is clean. should visit. .. Lepak, Santai & Gedik....About the food nice and simple. I would plan yo come again gor a next trip.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mohamad Hisham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I just returned from a 4D3N Mabul Trip and the experience are awesome. We traveled as a group of 4 members.

My 2 cents review :-

Breakfast + lunch + dinner - even though it is a simple malay kampung style of cooking, but it is so tasty and finger licking good!

The owner itself - Mr Jeff - He entertained us with his special PR and guitar skills, he has a good voice too (without looking at his face hahaha), sorry Jeff, just kidding .....+ his sense of humor, 4 days 3 nights with laughter has cause us a stomach cramp hahah. He ensure that his guest are happy at all times and YES tumbs up to him. Well done Mr Jeff...clap clap clap

The Staff - Soooooooo friendly and helpful.. (the boys) they are part of the entertainer at night and they can sing well i could say.. (the gals)master in cooking hahah .... i still remember their Maggie Curry+Kembong Fish...goodness me! yum yum ...well done gals

Activities - We did some sight-seeing (with Jeff's staff) exploring the kampung and their lifestyle...i just love it...Bought some salted fish - dammmmm cheap btw you cant get it in Kuala Lumpur...We also did few snorklings and one of them at Kapalai....wonderful experience looking at the beautiful coral and fish.
Worth of trip - You can see Nemo fish infront of the Guest House, dont have to go further ...how awesome is that!


I really enjoyed this Mabul trip and had some great new experiences. Our 4D3N trip was a great gateaway offered by Scuba Jeff. I highly recommend to anyone who wants great service and value. Try to believe !

Overall review : It was a unforgettable experience

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaqKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
155 reviews
16.1 mi away
Sipadan Mangrove Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
0.3 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#10 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
80 reviews
14.3 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Jeff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Jeff Guest House

Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul 91308, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Mabul
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, budget accommodation on Mabul island in stilted longhouse right over the sea. Look out of your room to the infinite sea views or across to the local fishing village bustling with local life. Room rate includes all meals, tea, coffee, water. Friendly staff will treat you like family and make you feel at home. Snorkel right off our jetty or join our dive trips to the famous sites of Mabul and Sipadan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scuba Jeff Guest House Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing