We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would have spent my whole vacation here.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sipadan Mabul Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Mabul
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Would have spent my whole vacation here.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We went here at the beginning of our vacation and I wish I could have spent more time. We stayed in the Mabul water bungalows which are on the water. The rooms were very nice with air conditioning and a TV. There was a pool on the island as well. Dove and snorkeled Sipadan island which was the most amazing snorkeling ever. Things you only see diving you could see snorkeling here. Stay in rooms 212 or 213. They have the best views. I would just sit out on my back porch and watch the sunrise. It was like being in your own aquarium. The only downside is the food was not anything to write home about. These water bungalows are not to be missed!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Hilandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    81
    23
    7
    9
See reviews for
25
70
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Visited the Sipadan_Mabul Resort on Mabul island in Feb 2012. This resort is true value for money. It has an excellent location on the island of Mabul, exclusive beaches which front the property, the rooms are well appointed and have an excellent décor and all of them have a deck/open sit-out and barely a 5 min walk away from the beach. The service is efficient and friendly. The food served is an international cuisine and yes - for vegetarians the kitchen staff made an extra effort to serve suitable dishes. The dining area is an excellent space for interacting with other guests and the staff, apart from the excellent view it affords of the beach and is well lit and airy too.
The resort offers a wide variety of courses for diving, snorkelling and other sea water related activities, apart from taking guests for dives to Sipadan island, a 15 min boat ride away. This area is considered the mecca for diving and other underwater activities and Mabul island and this resort is well positioned to cater to all the divers needs.
Excellent vistas for the photographer as well as an opportunity to travel around the islands of the Semporna Marine Park. Its about 45 mins away by a fast speed boat from Semporna town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent in their location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravindra846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flic En Flac
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It is fantastic place for divers but good accommodation and fantastic food offer also great time for non-diving family members. Friendly and efficient staff, If you buy package locally (I did it in Kota-Kinabalu agency) it is half price comparing to internet rates you can buy internationally.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DariOlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Best place we stayed in Sabah, somewhere to totally chill. wonderful diving at Sipidan, and the resort being car free is perfect for families...kids can run free wherever they want. Our room was basic but clean and comfortable, and the service & food was excellent - especially the fresh tuna sashimi, straight out of the sea. The only downside is the rubbish strewn around the illegal Phillipino community (which you don't really need to go near) - a problem all over Sabah, with thousands of plastic bags and bottles dumped in the sea a particular problem.

Room Tip: ...unless you want to splash out, go for one of the cheaper rooms (standard), get a first (top) floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikitak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

One of the best diving trips that I have been on. We decided to book this trip after we did a 8 day land tour and thorougly enjoyed our stay at this Resort. Great staff, great food and great diving. Enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searcherofsouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our family of 3 children (aged 8,11, & 13) plus parents stayed 5 glorious nights at Mabul Water Bungalows. The accomodation blew us away with the beauty and impeccable functionality of everything. Spotless rooms, sublime views, gorgeous decks, amazing food. The children did the Discover Scuba Diving course and received an excellent introduction to scuba diving from Jackey, who was a gifted and patient teacher. I was thoroughly confident in their abilities to manage in their practice dives in the lagoon with him at their side. Couldn't have asked for a better start to their diving education. We snorkelled and Scubaed at Sipadan, Kapalai, and various spots around Mabul. The skill of the boat drivers was greatly appreciated, as they picked us up wherever the current took us on our explorations, and we saw such incredible marine life! Our thanks to all the staff at MWB. Their professionalism and warm smiles made the trip an outstanding success.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights on this beautiful island! The rooms are pretty basic but great air conditioning and no trouble from any mozzies. The beach cottages are charming rather than luxurious - but the beds are comfortable - clean linen most days and towels daily. Shower room is interesting as the roof is netted round the sides and open to the outdoors - adds to the charm though. Our cottage fronted onto the beach which was the best location as some others are set further back.

This really is a flip flop only resort - you have to take shoes off in all the main buildings and your rooms - they leave bowls of water for you to rinse your feet though. The dining room is lovely and the food is overall to a good standard - only moan would be the chicken - more bone rather than actual meat... After 10 days I was craving some home food comforts - but you never go hungry here! The wine is a little dubious too - but Tiger beers are in good supply!

If you are staying at the water bungalows - they really are only a 5 minute stroll away - but you can get golf buggys or they provide bikes - but it really isn't that far to mooch forward and back to. The spa there is lovely - had an hour massage and it was amazing!

I did my open water course at the resort - and had Patrick as my instructor. He was incredibly patient - and takes things at a pace that suits you! Very thorough - but prepares you fully for the open water diving. I did find it hard however learning - doing the book work and studying whilst everyone else was out at Sipadan coming back with tales of what they had done that day. So my advice would be - do the confined dives and studying before going - and the open water dives in the clear seas of the resort and get out on the boats as soon as possible.

The diving was awesome - I never expected to see so many sea turtles in one place - sharks and hundreds of tropical fish just swimming around as if you are in a giant aquarium with them. The Divemasters are great too - pointing out sharks in the distance - or turtles clinging to the side of the corals. One tip though - they get very excited about Nudibranches - which were basically coloured slugs... but if that is your thing you won't be disappointed.
Definitely take up a Sipadan package - we had a permit - but ended up going multiple times as I think it was fairly quiet - it is truly an amazing underwater paradise!

All in all a fabulous experience and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Go for front beach bungalow - rooms 150 - 146 were amongst these..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadsLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.3 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
16.3 mi away
Alice Semporna Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipadan Mabul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipadan Mabul Resort

Property: Sipadan Mabul Resort
Address: P O Box 15571 Kota Kinabalu, Pulau Mabul 88865, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Mabul
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SIPADAN-MABUL RESORT (SMART) is situated at Mabul Island overlooking the well-known Sipadan Island. It is a dive destination resort that began its modest operations back in 1993 and has since grown into a well-established and reputable resort as it is today. SMART has 42 land-based chalets (22 unit stand-alone detached chalets, 18 unit standard semi-detached chalets and 2 unit suite chalets) which can accommodate up to 84 guests at any one time. All chalets are built from native materials of Borneo, mostly twin-bedded, equipped with mosquito screens, air-conditioning and come with attached bathrooms with hot shower facilities as well as free Wi-Fi internet access in the room. Other facilities include a swimming pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool spa, large dining hall and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sipadan Mabul Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing