We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic jungle experience”
Review of Sukau River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sukau River Lodge
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We just returned from a one night stay at this lodge, as part of a two day tour through Eastern Sabah with Wildlife Expeditions (the same company that own this property). I agree with many of the other reviews (yes, it is falling down in places and is very basic in it's amenities) but the owners are quite open about the level of accommodation offered and it is meant to be a 'living in the jungle' type experience. Our room had AC (which is fairly necessary in this climate), which worked well and a comfortable bed for the night. The shower facilities were very rustic, but if your stay is limited to one or two nights - you can make do. They probably could fix up some of the rotting boardwalks and uneven paths - as no matter how basic the accommodation - this was a safety hazard. The positives: The place is very picturesque and literally living in the jungle was an amazing experience. The staff are very friendly and make a great effort to present authentic local food for guests to dine on. Unfortunately, in rural Malaysia - that can mean tough leathery meat and lots of bones - but there is no denying it's an authentic experience! The river cruise and the night jungle walk are real highlights with dozens of proboscis monkeys and long tailed macaques spotted from our boat. Well worth it just for these experiences alone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonfox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have just returned from a visit to this lodge, one night. We could not fault the staff they were lovely charming folk. The accommodation, whilst clean is VERY basic. the water is collected rain water so tends to be brownish, the shower is cold and not much of a flow, one can request for hot although we didn't bother. The food is local cuisine definitely an enquired taste. I totally agree with previous comment regarding much needed repairs. But the lodge is owned by the local villagers so I guess it is up to Wildlife Expeditions to liaise with them - it would be such a shame to let the place fall into complete ruin. We, five guests only, were taken for the river cruise with our guide Juan, who was so knowledgeable so interesting. We saw the Proboscis monkey, Macaque long and short tail. So many wonderful birds and one of the best experiences, when the bats appeared diving in and out of us, hot on their tails was the bat hawk trying to catch his dinner, swooping low over our heads it was just brilliant. We really enjoyed our visit but don't feel we could recommend, which is a shame it could be so good.

Room Tip: Wooden huts so basic no air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilliand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I really don't know where to start to tell you about this lodge except to say that it is falling down and needs either to be demolished or totally refurbished before accepting guests. The walkways around the lodge are rotten in a lot of places, not level and very slippery when it is raining. You definately need a torch to get back to your room at night as the path lighting is nearly non existent. The rooms were very basic, clean enough but not immaculate. We had to keep moving to get wet under the shower and if you need hot water you have to tell them what time to turn it on and then it looks like it is straight out of the river (very Muddy) My friends and I were the only guests staying at the lodge and we couldn't fault the staff. This lodge is owned by Wildlife Expeditions who also supplied our transport, guide and cook, these people were fantastic it's just a shame to see the state of the Lodge itself. Because there was only the three of us we did not have a choice of meals but the cook went to a lot of trouble to include a lot of variety in the meals so that there was something for everyone, it was typical malaysian cuisine, fresh and tasty. Our tour guide, James, could not have been more helpful. HIs knowledge and sense of humour were a delight. Our boatman was a total gentleman and went out of his way to give us some excellent trips down the river. There are a lot of lodges along the river that are 100% better than this one so do your homework. The river has an abundance of wildlife and is definately worth a visit but I suggest you don't book this lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GayeHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A good choice if you are cruising through this area. The rooms are good and fitted two adults and two kids. (though without AC - if you have these needs). We saw elefants and orangutans on a river cruise from this lodge! Good service from the staff. A doctor is located in the nearby village...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bos_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welc0met0thejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sukau River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukau River Lodge

Address: Kinabatangan River, Sukau, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District > Sukau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sukau
Also Known As:
Sukau River Lodge Kinabatangan District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing