We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful River Trips!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Sukau B&B and Inns
misoula,MT
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful River Trips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We - wife & I - have been traveling on long journeys off and on for the past 11 years. This place has put together a very fine accommodation in conjunction with river boat tours that allow you to see what little remains of the rain forest nearby. I was especially impressed by the work being done by RiLeaf Project next door...see them and learn what is being done.

Room Tip: Look for a good working fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blunderbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    68
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
22
104
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I chose this lodge because it charged a lower "single supplement" fee for a solo tourist than other outfits I talked to in Sandakan. The price included transport to and from Sandakan.

The room was basic but adequate and the meals were tasty. On a two-day, one-night package, I went out on three boat tours -- afternoon, night, and the next morning. The night tour was shorter than the one hour it was supposed to be, but the afternoon tour was satisfying because the three of us sharing the boat saw pygmy elephants up close. The guide was quite adept in spotting other animals and birds that we wouldn't have noticed on our own. The tours were enjoyable even in spite of the light rain that fell. Bring a poncho, raincoat, or umbrella.

The staff were friendly enough and I was tempted to extend my stay for a second night, but didn't. A jungle trek is included as part of the longer stay. The lodge is situated right on the Kinabatangan river bank.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blokototerminous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

First when we got here , the receptions is very nice. She told us a few thing that we need to do and bring . The cruise is really fantastic eventhough we had a guide change , both of the guide is great . The first is a women called (N) , and the second is Wall. We saw the pygmy elephant swimming and a baby orangutan with the mother and also a rare owl . The accomodation here is fine . The staff is really great . We would like to come again .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsatwenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We visited this B&B without a pre booked package and the only way to get dinner was to pay for the buffet way too much. The food wasn't even close as good as other accommodations in the area and 2-3 times as expensive.
The close village doesn't have any restaurants so you don't have a choice.

So, book a package or pack enough sandwiches.

Other than that, the accommodation is totally fine.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sol2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are budget travellers & found the rooms themselves were fine, basic but with all you really need to sleep & wash. We paid for a room with airconditioning which worked well, however our friends in the next room had a malfunctioning air con. The biggest disappointment was the majority of the staff who had a "couldn't care less attitude" to service. There was the lack of communication between staff which resulted in a bit of hassle eg. Booking a cruise with one member of staff, turning up for it with another staff member having no record of it. This also happened with meals & transfers. We had been travelling thru Sabah eating at local establishments & found the meals served at Greenview to be very inferior for five times the price of an average village meal.We also felt the cruises were quite rushed & that not a lot of effort was put into find animals. Since Sukau itself is quite isolated I would recommend ensuring your choice of accommodation fills all your needs for the time you're in the kinabatangan area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGreenFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked the 3 day 2 night trip direct with Sukau Greenview, paying RM380 per person including transport, accommodation, meals, and all trips.
On the first day we were picked up from our guest house in Sandakan at 12.30pm and taken to Greenview, where we had a lovely welcome from friendly staff.
At 4pm we had an afternoon river cruise, seeing hundreds of monkeys, both proboscis and macaques. After dinner we had another cruise, seeing birds and even a couple of crocodiles!
The following day we had 3 river cruises, an early morning, an afternoon and a night cruise all excellent and in the afternoon we even got to see the pygmy elephants - wow! Mid-morning we went on a (very muddy) jungle trek which was not too strenuous.
Our guide was the same on all trips, he was very enthusiastic, informative and clearly enjoyed what he does.
On the last day after breakfast we were taken to catch the bus to Kota Kinabalu, the driver waited with us and made sure we got the right bus at the right price.
The room was basic but clean, with a cold water private bathroom, it was ok as we always seemed to be eating or out on a trip so didn't spend much time in the room.
The food on this trip was a pleasant surprise, buffet meals but tasty with good variety and selection, and plenty of it, along with tea and coffee available all day.
Would highly recommend this trip to anyone, see loads of wildlife and get a real taste of the jungle that is all too quickly being eaten away by palm oil plantations.

Room Tip: Book direct instead of through another website to save a few ringgits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrison-Platton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, OH
Level Contributor
159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and 3 days. The beds are basic with hard mattress and hard foam rubber pillow. As reported by others, the walls are flimsy so if you have noisy neighbors, you may find this annoying. We lost power for several hours and I understand this is common so be prepared with flashlight, etc. Staff used candles to serve dinner, worked out well. The food was good and the boat tours were fine. Clearly the amount of animals you see will depend upon the eagle eye of your guide so try to get a good one. We saw kingfishers, hornbills, monkeys, crocs, cat snakes and many other birds. Didn't see the elephants but we talked with guests who did. We were booked into this place as part of an 11 day tour of Sabah. Given what we paid for the overall tour, we were expecting better accomodations....not the fault of Greenview B&B. If you are paying the quoted prices from Greenview, I do think staying here is a good value for the money but if you can afford it, consider upgrading to a place that can offer a little more comfort in the room (bed and pillow).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukau
48.7 mi away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
6.3 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
6.6 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
12.1 mi away
Kinabatangan Wetlands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Address: Jalan Tepi Sungai, Kg Sukau | W.D.T 270, Sukau 90200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District > Sukau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sukau Greenview B&B provides basic facilities, one of the optional places were people can choose to stay while doing nature excursion. Also provides boat river cruise safaris and jungle walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sukau Greenview Hotel Sabah
Sukau Greenview Bed And Breakfast
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast Kinabatangan District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing