We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good on the outside but is terrible on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Lilleshall B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Lilleshall National Sports Centre as part of table tennis on the weekend of 12/13th October. From the outside the place looks fantastic but its a whole different story inside. My floor in my room had not been cleaned and found various things on the floor. In the bathroom i found the shower head was low and tried to move it up and by doing so the pipe attached to the shower came off, i managed to put it back on but then when i had a shower the water wasn't hot, lukewarm at best. In terms of the food it isn't a restaurant it is just a canteen with hardly any choice of food and breakfast times are absolutely ridiculous (7:30-8:30) on a Sunday morning. I am so glad it was only a weekend stay and that i didn't have to pay for any of it as it was paid for me by the English Table Tennis Association. One word AVOID!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrtT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Moore_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay at Lilleshall on a table tennis sporting camp. I was disappointed and concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction. High standards of cleanliness and guest comfort in our rooms are extremely important to us and I assure you that what you describe is unusual. I am so very sorry to hear that you did not experience our usual standards. I would be grateful if you could contact me as soon as possible with the room number you stayed in so that we can find out exactly what happened here and ensure it doesn’t happen again. I appreciate that you may not remember the room number, however if you can tell us the name of the accommodation block and floor that would help. You can send this information to enquiries.lilleshall@serco.com. As you say, the service in the dining room is more akin to a cafeteria, with tray service and self-clearance. It is not a typical restaurant, with diners frequently dressed in sports attire and aged anywhere from 8 to 80. Meal times are agreed with Sport England at times to meet with needs / schedules of typical sporting camps. We did provide an early lunch to meet the requirements of your camp organisers. I am sorry that you weren’t happy with the choice of food. Our breakfast offering that weekend, as per usual, consisted of poached and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, fresh tomatoes, toast & preserves, natural yoghurt, strawberry yoghurt, fruit of the forest, fresh fruit salad and grapefruit segments, Danish pastries, 5 choices of cereals, selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate, orange juice and squash. The lunch menu is homemade soup with fresh bread, 2 x main choices, a vegetarian option, baked potatoes with fillings, 2 carbohydrates, 2 vegetables, a hot dessert, chilled dessert selection (at least 5 choices), salad bar. Our own research tells us that the majority of our customers are delighted with the selection available, however we are sorry that you feel there wasn’t much choice. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you with more information on the room you were in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here to attend a model airs how at Weston Park. I had not realised precisely what it was but the place was lovely. The room wasabi great and the staff had arranged to zip link the beds which was lovely. We ate at they centre as it s a bit remote and not too easy to find anywhere else. The food was very uninspiring and very canteenish, in fact that is what the eating arrangements were. Apart from that our room and the lovely grounds were superb.
The reception staff seemed pretty disinterested and kept me waiting while they discussed house keeping issues

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to a wedding reception here at the end of July 2013. It's impressive from the moment you enter the long driveway. The weather was perfect, which always helps, and the setting is perfect for wedding photographs. We started with drinks on the terrace and moved to a plush function room for the main reception. The food was superb and the service both efficient and friendly. Very impressed and we were told that it was a reasonable cost compared to others venues the bride and groom had considered. Great day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have been fortunate with my job to have travelled worldwide and stayed in many great locations and Lilleshall is one of them.

Set in amazing grounds the accommodation and facilities are excellent. I have stayed at Lilleshall every year for 7 years now and always enjoy my time there. With great food and staff that cannot do enough for you I look forward to returning each year.

You know its a great venue when you see our Olympic athletes staying there and using its facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed in Lilleshall often over the past few years and have always enjoyed my stay.
The staff are friendly and the accommodation is really comfortable. One of my favourite parts of staying there has to be the Food. It is delicious. Look forward to returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarasproule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Moore_Manager, General Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for staying at Lilleshall regularly and also for providing valuable this feedback. It is good to hear that you find our staff friendly, our accommodation comfortable and that you enjoy the food here. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great accommodation and excellent food. Beautiful surroundings and honoured to be somewhere that GB athletes stayed before and after they won medals at the London Olympics.....feels like a part of history!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Moore_Manager, General Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation, food and our beautiful gardens. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have had yet another fantastic stay at Lilleshall this week, where the staff are amazing, the surroundings stunning, the facilities great and the food was as per usual first class. The only problem with going to Lilleshall is that I have to go home.

I have stayed at Lilleshall once or twice a year for the last 7 years and the place is like a second home, the staff are amazing, so friendly and also accommodating.
I stay there for training courses for my company and I have had a great stay every time, the rooms are more than adequate for my needs and I stay in hotels quite frequently. In fact I spent £550 on a room for one night in central London recently and the service, standards and overall experience was no where near the service you get at Lilleshall for a fraction of the price.

The test for me is that i look forward to my stays at Lilleshall every time, and every time I leave I feel far more relaxed than before I arrived. It's a great place with great people.

During this visit I have noticed that there have been some great improvements that have made the place even better, and I am sure there will be far more to come.

The only down side (which in not down to Lilleshall) is the mobile & 3G signal, but being in such a remote area with beautiful surroundings will always have its downsides, and I can have a rubbish signal at my office in East London. Also not being able to have a good mobile signal has untold other benefits such as I can actually switch off for a change.

The broadband is great and the staff have always facilitated everything from faxes, emails, private landline calls and conference calls when necessary. And never asked a penny for it. You wouldn't get that kind of service in many places. From my years of experience I know that.

Keep it up Lilleshall & the team and I look forward to coming back soon!

Mario

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilleshall
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
4.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Telford Ironbridge M54
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
690 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
561 reviews
2.3 mi away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre

Address: Lilleshall National Sports Centre Pave Lane | near Newport, Lilleshall TF10 9AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Lilleshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lilleshall
Price Range: $79 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilleshall was originally built in 1831 as the hunting lodge and family retreat of the Duke of Sutherland. It first became a National Sports Centre in 1951 and was opened by the then Princess Elizabeth II with the original plaque still in place in the entrance to the main hall. It was Lilleshall's connection with Association Football that brought the Centre to the attention of the nation. The England team trained for two weeks at Lilleshall prior to their success in the World Cup of 1966. In 1967, Sir Alfred Ramsey returned to the Centre to unveil a plaque to commemorate his team's stay and endorse the view that Lilleshall could justly claim some credit for England's famous victory. In 1984 The Football Association's School of Excellence was established welcoming young talent such as Michael Owen, Jamie Carragher, Sol Campbell and Joe Cole to name but a few. Today Lilleshall is an elite training centre for some of the country's leading sportsmen and women and regularly welcomes use by numerous sports bodies. With its unique and rich heritage and commitment to providing a World Class Experience, Lilleshall is a certainly a place where you can wake up and feel inspired. Lilleshall is situated among the spectacular and secluded surroundings of the Shropshire countryside within 134 hectares of English Heritage Grade II listed grounds. The main house (Lilleshall Hall) overlooks the beautiful Capability Brown inspired gardens. As well as a range of world class facilities available for use (bookable in advance), the Centre has two walking routes. The 2.5 mile Discovery Trail will provide you with the chance to discover some of Lilleshall's many gems including the Italian Water Garden, the Pet Cemetery and the World Class Sports Facilities. The 6 mile Adventure Fitness Trail enables you to discover these gems but also provides you with the chance to test your fitness, taking you through the woodland belts alongside the estate's 2 mile sweeping drive to the golden gates (an exact replica of those at Buckingham Palace), before returning (a steady climb all the way!) to explore the heart of the estate. Work is also underway on a nature trail which is due to be open in the Summer. Visitors can reserve rooms in one of three purpose built accommodation blocks, a short walk from reception, the dining room and bar. (Sorry no rooms available in the main house). Room facilities include tea & coffee making, digital HD television, hairdryers and free WIFI along with ample free parking. There is a cafe bar open from 7:30 - 23:00 where you can enjoy hot and cold food and drinks. Beyond the site, Lilleshall is well placed for many local attractions including Weston Park, Ironbridge Gorge and Museums, Hoo Farm, Telford Town Park and Wonderland, The Wrekin, RAF Museum Cosford, Telford Ski Centre and Telford International Centre. The historic market town of Newport, where you will find many independent shops, pubs and restaurants, is approximately 4 miles away. Telford, with its many tourist attractions, shopping centre, cafes, bars, restaurants and cinemas, is within a 15 minute drive. The towns of Stafford, Wolverhampton and Shrewsbury are all within a 25 minute drive. Room prices start from just £38.50. Check in is from 1.30pm Monday - Saturday and 5.30pm on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing