We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early days but needs to improve....”
Review of The Red House

The Red House
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lilleshall
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Red House is a stunning and contemporary location in Lilleshall, brought back to life following an extensive refurbishment by the Parogon Group, a privately-owned company based in Staffordshire. Opened in September 2019 we set out to offer a smart, yet relaxed dining experience where you can enjoy sumptuous cuisine in a uniquely modern environment receiving friendly and attentive service.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly I will agree with many other reviewers that they have done a good job of renovating the place. I have been coming to this place for a number of years (not by choice I might add) and thru various management teams, this is exactly the investment this place needed.

A new batch of young staff in the main means that the lack of experience shows when busy. We’ve eaten twice at peak times but I’m sure this will improve.

The meals were typical of an upgraded pub formula ... my last meal consisted of 3 slightly over cooked fish cakes (burnt edges in places) which were greasy and simply looked like brake brothers had dropped them into the freezer for them to fry up.

My beef en croute was attractive to look at but the style of the dish was a piece of steak in pasty which was cooked and then broken up, decorated with veg and some dauphinois potatoes. You could tell by the level of moisture in the meat and pastry more attention could have paid to the preparation of the meal.

Our waitress was very pleasant and the speed of service was acceptable.

I hope the Red House improves as it would be great to have an alternative to the fox which is only a mile or so up the road and is way ahead on this showing.

Drinks x4 , 1 starter and 2 mains with 2 sides, no coffee or desert ... £70 is not great value at the moment.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Gary_7Telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good space, decent make over and staff attentive, but given the price point it needs to address a few things, that for instance, the Fox in Newport and many other great places in Shrewsbury do much better on.

My two main quibbles were: -

1. Monday tea-time and we were jammed into the back half with everyone else who came in, seemed to be because we had a couple of teenagers. The consequence was an incredibly noisy and not relaxing experience.

2. We actually really just wanted some simple in and out food, but ended up with a £98 bill (drinks we had were water and herbal tea). Aside from struggling to see how a cauliflower based vegetarian taco dish is nearly £14 like many of the other main courses, I would suggest there is a gap in the market if you want to keep customer numbers up mid week, for some smaller dishes beyond the 3pm lunch cutoff.

Hope that helps, it's early days and I'm sure it's all a learning experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank pwalfajeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Okay, I’ll get the only minor negative point over first: I had a couple of gritty carrots which somehow managed to circumvent the cleaning process! These were replaced with none that had managed to escape and the cost of the side dish was refunded.

Aside from that we were extremely impressed with the new look, feel, menu and service of our local. Great new interior with warm, cosy, welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Smart tables and decor and quality leather menus.

Very good selection of drinks and our food was excellent:

TEMPURA SEA BASS, KING PRAWNS & CALAMARI - delicious and well cooked, excellent.

CRISPY DUCK - delicious and well cooked, excellent. Rather fun to shred the duck leg yourself to construct your ‘pancakes’.

SLOW ROASTED BELLY PORK - delicious and well cooked, excellent (notwithstanding the additional gritty carrots in the extra veg).

SEA BASS FILLETS - delicious and well cooked, excellent.

LEMON BAKED ALASKA - excellent and was sufficient to share.

Reasonably priced and we’ll definitely be going back, possibly with our dogs next time which are allowed in the bar area.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank FWJM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been here twice already.... once for dinner and, yesterday, for breakfast. A great experience both times. The refurbishment is amazing, inside and out and the staff universally charming. Best of all, excellent food and not overpriced. Look forward to visiting again soon

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sueg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve been here 3 times now since it recently re-opened. We popped in for lunch on the off chance, before the official opening, and they were good enough to let us eat. The service was a little clumsy as you would expect with a new place and a lot of young staff. The food was great and the refurbishment is stunning.

We’ve been twice in the last week and had two of the best meals I’ve had in a long time. The service was excellent today, they’ve done a great job of getting the staff up to speed quickly, and the food was excellent again. We felt as if we were welcome to stay all afternoon, not being rushed out for the next table.

Can not fault it at all.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank waston8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red House also viewed

Newport, Shropshire
Newport, Shropshire
 
Newport, Shropshire
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Shropshire
 

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing