We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Nearby Hotels
The Towers Hotel & Spa(Jersey Marine)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The BlueBell Hotel(Neath)(Great Value!)
$111
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Village Hotel Swansea(Swansea)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel(Swansea)(Great Value!)
$62
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel(Port Talbot)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
234
218
50
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
218
50
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssausagefree wifisofa bedbeanswhat it says on the tinbasic hotelbreakfast was includedwould definitely stay here againno air conconvenient locationreception staffone night stayvisiting the arealimited menugood nights sleepnight's sleepgood size
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 516 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I would have no hesitation in recommending others to this hotel. It is outside Swansea centre which, given the appalling state of roads in that city is a big advantage. The staff were delightful, helpful and efficient. The accommodations have been recently renovated and are excellent. It was, as they say, exactly what it said on the tin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flipineck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your comments to the team.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Planned to stay Bank Hol Monday 26 May + Tues, ended up staying 4 nights. Very convenient location for touring Swansea and Gower and Neath valley and further west ( Penllergaer Woods highly recommended and only 5 mins drive away).
Very comfortable room, facing south away from the motorway, no road noise despite being alongside the M4. Buffet breakfast suited the two of us - hot scrambled egg, sausages and beans for me! Evening meals in the adjacent Harvester.
Good value for money as other comparable hotels I've stayed at within 5 miles cost more, don't include breakfast and one even charges for parking.
Staff were incredibly welcoming, very professional and attentive at all time s- late at night and very early one morning.
Only negative was having to leave the window open as it was so warm and hearing a very loud crash each evening as the empty bottles from the Harvester were emptied in to the skip after 11pm! Having said that I've stayed in london where there was a constant wail of police sirens!

Room Tip: Room on other side to motorway might be quieter. Family room means you have a sofa bed to sit on.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us and we are pleased that you had a great stay. We are also pleased that you found the location good for exploring the Gower which has fantastic beaches and scenery.
It was also great to hear that you enjoyed the free breakfast that we offer our guests and that you found the staff to be attentive and welcoming which is something we pride ourselves on at Holiday Inn Express Swansea.
Once again, thank you for the comments and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

... be aware, there is no air conditioning, just a fan and the hotel is right next to the M4, so leaving the window open will entail road noise. It was a bit stuffy in late May. Next to a Harvester (basically an Applebee's in UK). Beds were small, but room size was not too bad. Did not seem like there was enough parking(shared with the Harvester) if the hotel is near capacity; parking right next to the hotel is limited.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay. Please be assured that all feedback is greatly received. I am sorry that you were disappointed that there was no air conditioning in the room which is why we have put fans in all of our rooms. In regards to the car park,I agree that it does get quite full especially when we are at full capacity and hope that you werent too inconvenienced.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here and it made a great base for exploring the Swansea coastal area. Easy drive to rhossoli bay and three cliffs bay (less than 30 min); 15 minutes to the city of Swansea. Hotel was clean, nice size rooms, free wifi coverage throughout hotel, great breakfast - and most importantly the staff- friendliest, attentive staff (Hayley, her male colleague working with her, and all of the others) that went out of their way to help you.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank LeeAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the beautiful scenery that the Gower has to offer. Also I have passed on your comments to the team members that you mentioned in your review. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel in March while visiting family. Excellent hotel, helpful friendly staff, spacious spotlessly clean room, good breakfast choice and seriously good value for money. Before travelling down to Wales I stayed in a London hotel for 3 nights and after that experience this place was a breath of fresh air! Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on the next visit.

Room Tip: Very good sound proofing so it doesn't seem to matter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandJHerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Many thanks for the excellent feedback you gave regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you had a great stay and found the hotel offered great value for money. We are also extremely happy that you found the free breakfast offered a good choice and that the staff were friendly and helpful.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews