We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little pearl”
Review of Balzac - CLOSED

Balzac
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming little pearl”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

A small Chef-restaurant with a brilliant service and nice atmosphere. Try the A La Carte menu.
Reservations recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OhadZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petah Tiqwa, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quite and tasty”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The place is very quite and romantic. The dishes are delicious. Try the Gnocchi in an oxtail & mushrooms sauce and the Sirloin steak with brie & red wine sauce.
Very pleasant service, reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average city average culinary experience”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Everything about this place is average food, service And ambiance. However the best in ashdod.the price is also average. Avoid the desserts, they are pretentious and far from exceptional. The sercice is prompt but arrogant. For family celebrations the best place in town

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZoiaAshdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Love this place, a small French bistro with charming atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff. Would definatley go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OhadZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food poisoning because of the meat”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Me and my girlfriend have been to this restaurant twice. The first time, we had a good experience, the food was good.

The second time, I ordered a entrecote (rare). This resulted in a entrecote that was not hot enough in the inside (just cold). I have sent it back to the kitchen and told them to cook it longer. After cooking it a bit longer I've gotten the entrecote back and (to my regrets) ate it.

At 2AM in the night I woke up feeling really sick. This resulted in a long night of puking and diarrhea. So, don't go to this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ndckr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac also viewed

Ashdod, Southern District
Ashdod, Southern District
 
Ashdod, Southern District
Ashdod, Southern District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing