We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fix chef menu was great and adventureus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balzac - CLOSED

Balzac
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fix chef menu was great and adventureus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

we had three dishes which where deliious at Friday noon.
the deal was for 84 NIS p/p - special deal
Atmosphere was unique- in a little old house

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AyeletAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Terrible disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We tried to book for six in the evening and were told they opened at seven. Not being familiar with Ashdod, we went around in circles a couple of times, passing the restaurant again and again because the sign wasn't lit and the number on the door was 4, even though the address was supposed to be 11. Shortly after we arrived a party of four unknown, not famous men finished eating and left. I asked when they had started and was told five-thirty. They were so important the restaurant was willing to open an hour and a half earlier than usual, but not let us come at six. We ordered fish, which came half-cooked and cold on the inside. The restaurant had been recommend as a culinary delight, which it certainly wasn't, and the service was poor as well.

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

my wife and I celebrated our 14th anniversary in a buisness dinener from a fixed menue with limited choice. price was well within our budget and the dishes were all splendid. service was seemless as well. the atmosphere is pleasent and relaxed , but more elegant than the usual in this city.
hope to come back soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Total dissapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Three of had had dinner in this restraurant. None was too happy with the dishes. And we can not undertstand even now what is so French about this lace and its food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antipich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

A small little known bistro, hiding in the middle of a residential neighborhood in Ashdod. You go to Balzac for one reason only - Natti, the chef and owner, and his food. Don't look for decor. Don't look for atmosphere. Natti is an eclectic chef, fusing French and Mediterranean cuisines, but not really looking for labels. The menu changes according to what he found in the markets that week. Forget the "regular" menu, and opt for the tasting menu, which changes daily. If you have particular preferences, tell the Chef. Personally, I let Natti prepare whatever he wants, and eagerly await for that particular evening surprises. I have never been disappointed. Since the Chef only uses the best ingredients, prices may run a little high, but it's the best value for money you will find. One of my favorite restaurants in Israel, and one I will return to every chance I get.

Helpful?
Thank ossie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac also viewed

Ashdod, Southern District
Ashdod, Southern District
 
Ashdod, Southern District
Ashdod, Southern District
 
Ashdod, Southern District
Ashdod, Southern District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing