We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kampung Sampireun Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
favehotel Cimanuk Garut(Garut)(Great Value!)
$31
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
72
69
31
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
69
31
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskampung sampireunfishsmall lakelow seasonlong weekendnatural atmospherenasi liwetwestern touristssemi outdoor bathroomwelcome drinkrecommended placehotel stafffresh airfirst impressionswimming poolhot watersekoteng
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 187 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Remote, quiet, romantic place. It is 2 hours drive from Bandung, the location is 20 minutes from Garut city. The cottage is floated with the lake underneath. The room rate is a little bit expensive but worth the atmosphere. We tried the dinner at restaurant, they served simple buffet and perform some traditional dance and music during the evening time. Unfortunately the buffet is standard ( some fried chicken, cap cay, fruit slice, caramel pudding), we were expecting something more traditional and exotic so it can fit with the nuance.

Room Tip: Choose the room located by the lake
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssijuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Kampung Sampireun looked very beautiful and amazing. It was indeed. The lake looked beautiful, has good concepts..use boat to reach the room, eventhough there're land track.. Rooms are good, half open air bath room concept..and the sekoteng at night, serabi in the morning and floating band but only weekend...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nadia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife took me there as a birthday weekend, it is at the top of hotel price ranges, but frankly the facilities are very lacking. We arrived on a Friday and were given a fairly nice room on the lake (room 102), the style is "kampung" which is simple village style, a lttle romantic added. Take into account the were are talking over 250 USD per night, there is no fridge, no hairdryer, no safe. OK its suppose to be a relaxing get away, and it was until on Saturday we were asked to move to a much more shabby room (room 120), and a bus arrived with a company group from Jakarta. Sorry but you are either high price retreat or your are noisy weekend getaway, but you cant be both. Service freindly and good, no complaints there, the surroundings are way to small, you can walk arround the lake in five minutes and that is the end of the entertainment. I can't imagine many people going back.

Room Tip: make sure you are on the lake.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deaninkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My friends and I visited Kampung Sampireun because of its advertisement. On the TV, the resort looked very beautiful and amazing. It was indeed. The lake looked beautiful, the fountain looked good, the spa looked amazing.

Unfortunately, the staffs were not that friendly. Since we visited Garut as backpackers, we went to the resort by public transportation. From the road, we walked to the resort front gate. The security said that we were NOT ALLOWED to enter the resort since it was not recreational spot. Maybe, our flip flops say that we don't have enough money to stay there.

For wedding, this resort is great. As a getaway, this resort may be perfect. For backpackers, it's not a recommended one :))

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
40  Thank LubisBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have to admit, I am not quite an adventurer. This hotel might be very attractive for the young and adventurist, I found it all a very disappointing experience for a hotel that is supposed to be the best around Garut, West Java. To be honest you are quite pleasantly surprised if you arrive: the reception is nice and the view of the lake immediately attracts the attention. I was staying in a “lake” room (villa is really too much to say). You are being brought to the room (which is a floating house basically, resembling a “woonboot” as you have them in Amsterdam canals) by boat, quite a nice experience, given the natural surroundings and lovely nature. However that being said, the remainder of the stay was quite different and flat out unattractive. The room basically consists of a dark brown interior, with a couch and a table (the couch not for a sit of over 5 minutes), a bedroom with a bed with dark brown pillows and a very strange way of making up the bed: first a sheet over the mattress then a blanket and then on top of the blanket a sheet (rather than the usual way sheet-sheet-blanket). I called the front desk who were quick in sending someone who did it wrong three times (I guess I did not explain it correctly). The room has no airco. Some say because the evenings can be rather chilly, you wouldn’t need it. Well the rooms remain pretty hot, so an option is to open the windows. However as the room basically is a floating boat surrounded by water, that would be an open invitation for mosquitos to come in.

If you are like me sensitive to light better go to bed early and get out very early as the light will come in as the textiles before the window are hardly covering the many windows. The hotel restaurant was flat out bad, a fish that was grilled so long that it almost dried up, vegetables that had absolutely no taste and….an empty restaurant at 8 pm on a Tuesday evening, not your idea of a memorable stay. As I went there in rainy season, it rained basically the whole night, the raindrops clattered on the roof. You have to be a deep sleeper. And the tendency of Javans to be loud well I had my share of shouting and noise, as the room have "paper" walls. And that in a resort where you expect to get all quiet and serenity.

An then the price: the price they ask is ridiculous for a venture like this. I managed to get a discount but its still pricey, especially for what you get.
All in all, I am sorry to say that this is a no go for me. It perfectly fits in the area: I did really my best to see something really interesting in Garut. I got a small booklet of the local Tourist office which would lead me to a hot spring and crater (after numerous people gave me wrong directions, or simply had no idea what their place had to offer to foreign visitors, so my driver basically spend the whole afternoon driving around), it turned out that the spot that was recommended in the leaflet, was “forbidden” territory, as it was owned by Chevron. All in all a wasted day, hope my next stop, in Jogjakarta, is a more memorable one.

Room Tip: I stayd in a lake room, so if you decide to come, ask for 104, a lake view room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews