We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, relaxing, beautiful, and expensive resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kampung Sumber Alam
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Garut
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Calm, relaxing, beautiful, and expensive resort.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went here on February 2013.
I booked the room 2-3 weeks before, and found the bungalows are full, so i had to book "Pondok Kelapa" bungalows that's a little smaller. I found the room is pretty big for 2 person, 1 king sized bed, a 30" LCD. The bathroom has a big bath-tub for natural hot water. The staff is friendly.
Breakfast is pretty standart.. fried rice, omelette, sausages, friend noodle, vegetables, pooridge, cereal, bread. just like 2 star hotel, but it's enough.

Minus: 1. The bath tub wont fill up, because the drainage cant be closed, so i had to call front office twice.
2. Too expensive in the weekend
3. I found it hard to check out, because front office has only 1-2 person, and they wont take my phone call when busy.
4. No coffee in room amenities, no hair dryer
5. the king sized bed are made from 2 single beds that are joined together.
6. The bath tub fills too long, about 1,5 hours at my time.

Plus:
1. Nice big bath tub, nice hot water, clean room
2. calm and relaxing night
3. big swimming pool
4. nice and friendly staff

I went to kampung sumber alam because i've never been to cipanas garut before, and the only hotel that's pretty convincing is sumber alam, danau dariza, tirtagangga. Because they have their own website. But after i went there, i probably will look for cheaper place to stay in the weekend. All i need is good sleep and nice hot water. I can do the sightseeing outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms (near lobby) is safer and cleaner. But back room has a nice view with lotus flowers. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    101
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
94
28
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It is an interesting hotel offering traditional Sundanese cottages and surrounded by beautiful mountainous scenery, an unbeatable advantage of hotels around Cipanas area of Garut city, West Java. Inside its wonderful traditional cottage, the hotel provides luxurious properties, such as bedding and satellite TV. Same with surrounding hotels nearby, it provides high quality natural spring water without sulfur smell that of usually disturbing your nose (for example if you are staying in Ciater (south Bandung) hotels) when indulging yourself with relaxing flow and warmth of natural spring water. You will feel comfortable when bathing, as it provides a big tub made from marmoreal stones. The buildings are surrounded with beautiful ponds (you can see numerous big and colorful Koi and goldfishes) and trees.
It is surely a recommended hotel for your getaway vacation, where you can also buy handicrafts and local stuffs and foods nearby by using delman (traditional transportation ‘motorized’ by horse). When I was there some time in 2011-2012, I was bit amazed that the hotel provided live music played by a jazz-based pianist, a thing that seemed rare for such areas. One go-down thing was the overpriced breakfast and dinner compared to the taste and variety of foods. Other than that, same with other starred hotels nearby, the hotel rate seemed overpriced for 3 starred hotel, especially during weekend and long holiday where the surcharge could reach 100-200 percents.
Anyway, besides Cipanas, in Garut sub-province, you can also find beautiful scenery of Cikajang tea plantation, huge mountain of Papandayan that you can see obviously from Cisurupan, and you can head your trip to Pameungpeuk beach (seafood is very affordable there!) though mystical route (such as Mount Wayang (traditional puppet) and Mount Gelap (Dark) between Cikajang and Pameungpeuk.

Room Tip: ask for cottages no. below 30, considering the distance from the reception and different space of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irman_Sunandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My friend in Indonesia arranged for my stay here so I didn't know what to expect when I first arrived. It turned out to be one of the most beautiful resorts I've ever stayed.
I stayed at one of the 2-storey bungalows. Two double beds- one is upstairs and another one downstairs. You can even request for connecting bungalows of you plan to reserve more than one.
There's a verandah that opens to the small pond/lake, which was very beautiful. You can sit there and sip coffee, or watch TV from from there.
A small fridge and water dispenser unit were available.
Separate toilet and bath/shower rooms. You need to bring your own toiletries.
Breakfast was nice.

Swimming pool is huge but it was closed for maintenance when we got there. There's a small hot water pool for you to dip your feet.

Minus points include non working wifi (they kept on asking us to enter the password again and again but nothing worked), bad tv reception (but who needs TV when you have so much to explore outside). Mosquitoes were present- maybe two or three mosquitoes but enough to cause nuisance. May want to consider bringing insect repellent with you.
Our sink was clogged but no one came to fix it. Nobody answered the phone in the evening.

Overall lovely atmosphere. Suitable for weddings. But they need to improve service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nazda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Imagine sleeping in a cottage built on a huge pond with lilies, fish and warm water. The cottage was a bit dark, the satellite TV didn't receive well, but you can spend the night drinking bandrek while sitting on the balcony. The cottage where we stayed was at the back side of the hotel area, so it felt like a long walk when it was raining. But otherwise it was enjoyable.
We stayed for a meeting there, so we had the chance to taste the breakfast, meals and snacks provided by the hotel. The breakfast was the best, but I also liked the traditional snacks they served for afternoon break.
The meeting room is huge and comfortable, but the wi-fi was really bad so we had to use our own modems.
The location is great, almost at the end of Cipanas village. During the day there's public transport that brings you to the main road. It takes only 10 minutes to drive to the closest souvenir shop.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dharwiyanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Reach there at 8 in the evening and thinking I could not get a good night sleep, after reading a few reviews about mosquitoes. But I experience a different thing instead... After soaking myself in the warm water I slept soundly without any disturbance until I hear the Azan ( a call for prayer ), which I enjoy, as I am a Muslim... Woke up with a beautiful sceneries of a Volcano (Mt Guntur), water Lilies and the untouched nature really HEALING... Will definitely come back.

Hana... Singapore

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had 2 junior suites for 10 adults. 5 for each bungalow. 3 on the king size bed and 2 on the upper floor. The outdoor hot bath was a nice surprise. Clean. Service was quite prompt. We stayed only one night. Did not have time to use any of the facilities. Swimming pool looked quite nice though. We loved the ambience. Beautiful view of Mt. Guntur from here. Breakfast spread was ok.

We thought we were prepared for the morning prayers but gosh there were several going on at the same time. We had a good laugh after 5 mins and decided to just chat the morning away:-}

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jayjayzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The hotel consists of bungalows with thatched roofs of various sizes built on stilts within a lily and fish pond. All the bungalows have there own deck where you can relax on loungers and admire the beautiful surroundings. There is also a large thermal water swimiming pool. The staff are very friendly but english language is limited. The only downfall is that the bungalows are really in need of renovation. The doors don't close properly, taps and pipes in the bathroom were leaking and there is no air conditioning or fans. It does cool down in the evening but you can't leave any windows or deck doors open as there is no mosquito meshing. The bathroom was large with a huge tub.There is only one large hot water pipe that leads into the tub but if you want to shower you only get luke warm water. A plastic container is provided so you can take hot water from the large low situated pipe and throw it over your head. Not really ideal but suffised. The food was good and enjoyed talking with lots of Indonesians who were holidaying there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank traveller1Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garut hotels
3.7 mi away
Kamojang Green Hotel & Resort
2.1 mi away
favehotel Cimanuk Garut
1.2 mi away
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#11 of 14 in Garut
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kampung Sampireun Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Danau Dariza Resort-Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sabda Alam Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampung Sumber Alam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampung Sumber Alam

Property: Kampung Sumber Alam
Address: Jl. Raya Cipanas 122, Garut, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Garut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Garut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kampung Sumber Alam 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kampung Sumber Alam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kampung Sumber Alam Hotel Garut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing