We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Elena, Recco a paradise break away”
Review of Hotel Elena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elena
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Recco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

HOtel Elena is a beautiful hotel nestled away in a small Italian town Recco on the Ligurian coast. From the train station it is a ten minute walk. Hotel Elena can be seen from the promenade and has a lovely private beach slot itself with a small beach bar seconds from the warm water and dives form the peer. The staff in hotel Elena are just wonderful, when we met the owner he welcomed us with an Italian beer, and we also met sabrina and eleanor they really took care of us. The rooms are beautiful and have gorgeous sea views and the rooms have also been sound proofed, are very modern with lovely bathrooms with new showers. With its own entrance you can go directly to the beach within seconds without having to walk through reception and the sweet breakfast of italian treats is gorgous. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely return here. You can take the local ferry a few minutes walk away to Camogli, st marguerita, Portfino and St Frutosso- this place is a real paradise on the coast.

Room Tip: pay the little extra for the room with the sea view it comes with an entire terrace! priceless for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 672 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

We spent five nights at Elena in July and were generally satisfied. Our room on the top floor overlooked the sea, breakfast was included and ample, we could even use the kitchen supplies outside of breakfast hours which was helpful as our room had a fridge and we made use of it to avoid some of the pricier local restaurants. Our rate, taxes included, was approximately $130/night. However, a few issues make me cautious when recommending this hotel.

1. The staff speaks very broken English and their moods are very hit-and-miss. We had a chance to interact with two ladies and one gentleman and only one of the ladies (sadly I do not recall her name) was nice, receptive and accommodating. The other two were, at best, unwelcoming.

2. The way Wi-Fi is set up in this hotel is incredibly frustrating. There are three routers - in the lobby (floor zero), in the basement (what is essentially floor -2 or the ground level) and the roof (for the upper floors). The signal is horrific everywhere but the lobby and even there it is not consistent. Now, this is a vacation spot where you may not need Wi-Fi but when you're trying to figure out what restaurant to go to or are planning a day trip, it is hugely inconvenient. Furthermore, you have to ask for a password every one, six or twenty-four hours and there seems to be no logic to which one you will receive by default unless you specifically request one over the others.

3. The beds at Helena, much like in many sub-$200 hotels are not true double/queens. They are two beds pushed together which is inconvenient if you are a couple. Furthermore, our beds were not exactly on the same level - one was a couple of inches taller - which, as you may imagine, may not be too comfortable.

4. Housekeeping is also not something I was used to. Our bed sheets were not changed once during the five days and we had no shampoo or soap in the bathroom, depending on the day. Also, those towels that you throw on the floor so as not to get it wet after a shower? We had one of those exactly once and it was not replaced after the first day, so we were always in danger of slipping on the water which will invariably drip down. Also, the shower/bath curtain was a three-piece accordion-looking device whose design was incredibly cumbersome and leaky.

5. Finally, Helena does have a private beach, but its location is behind a wall. If you want to sunbathe and then take a dip, you actually have to leave your stuff on the chairs and loungers in the Helena section and walk over to the next section of the beach.

All in all, the issues weren't TOO horrible, but I would keep all of them in mind if you are considering Helena.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank highlanderfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed one night in May on our way to Elba. We arrived very late (after 23:00) and was still welcomed by a very friendly man at the front desk. Our room and bathroom were spacious, and staying in a corner room, our balcony was bigger than the other balconies.
We slept with the balcony door open and woke up with an incredible view over the ocean. The breakfast was good and had an inside and outside (with a view) eating area.
Overall a very clean, friendly and well-run hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oreo-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

What a wonderful little hotel. Recco is a gorgeous, quiet little town, the perfect place from which to base you visit to Portofino, the Cinque terre, and Riviera levante. The staff were so kind and helpful. The room was large and comfortable and clean. The views from the hotel are stunning. The breakfast was wonderful, and it was most enjoyable to enjoy it on the terrace over looking the sea. It was great that the hotel offered private, and free parking on site, although it was limited. The hotel is on a quiet, and safe side street. No noise to be heard except the crashing waves on the beach below. This hotel is a wonderful find, and the town of Recco is worth the visit! You will love it. I would visit again in a heart beat and recommed the hotel to anyone visiting this part of Italy.

Room Tip: If you can get a room over looking the sea... the views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adrianyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had been driving from Grasse, France and super tired from a long trip. We easily found the hotel overlooking the beach in Recco and they even had free parking! The best! The man at the desk (Mika?) was so friendly and quickly set us up so we could relax and get ready for dinner. He recommended a great restaurant a short walk from the hotel.

The room was beautiful with a view overlooking the beach and the town. Very clean and comfortable and a killer value. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. This place was great!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The quaintest little beach side hotel, located in the second most beautiful location outside of Genoa, Italy (I recommend a visit to Camogli). The staff was unforgettable, the beach complete with hotel lounges and umbrellas was steps from the hotel. The ocean was warm and in case it isn’t the Recco community pool is less than a 100 yard walk. Restaurants and shops are from next door to a short walk away. We had two rooms and in typical European style the rooms are a bit tight, but, all amenities were great. Oh yeah, don’t let me forget the view. Stayed two nights but most definitely will return with the wife.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themoneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Accommodating to our motorbike travels and easy to deal with. A last minute call to stay in Recco gave us the opportunity to enjoy a wonderful stay, great accommodations in a beautiful setting. Being right on the water was perfect. Eating breakfast on the outdoor terrace relaxing + beautiful. We highly recommend + would return. Also the location was wonderful, just a short walk into downtown area.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eldeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recco
0.7 mi away
Hotel Manuelina La Villa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Da O' Vittorio
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casmona
Hotel Casmona
#3 of 6 in Camogli
224 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#37 of 90 in Genoa
204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Camogliese
Hotel La Camogliese
#2 of 6 in Camogli
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elena

Address: Corso Garibaldi 5, 16036 Recco, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Recco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Recco
Price Range: $84 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elena 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location in the center of the beautiful Recco, the Hotel Elena enjoys an ideal setting nearby Portofino, Genoa and Cinque Terre. The Hotel Elena presents itself with an elegant Villa from which you can admire directly the sea. The hotel has been completely renewed in order to satisfy the most demanding guest without loosing the friendly atmosphere. Nearby the Elena guests can easily have access to Golf Course, Tennis Club, Imbarcadero for boats and ferries, Tourist Port with charter, Diving Centre and several bathing establishments. The hotel offers access to the private beach (from June 5 till to September 30) equipped with umbrellas and chairs and for which is required a supplement of 15 euros per day for two person. BREAKFAST: The Buffet breakfast is served from 7,30 am to 10,00 am. In summer you can have breakfast on the terrace where a Buffet is made of tasteful things - especially the typical "focaccia alla Genovese", cakes, pastries and freshly baked croissants prepared daily by the famous pastry Chef Pâtissiers Moltedo . Possibility to request a room service even for breakfast with a supplement of 5.00 euros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elena Hotel Recco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing