We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tutup”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pondok Baruna Guesthouse
Ranked #46 of 111 Nusa Lembongan B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Might be mistaken, but some of these reviews seem to be talking about the Pondok Baruna Guesthouse and Pondok Baruna Garden which, although part of the same setup, are NOT the Pondok Baruna Frangipani (illustrated in the photo).

The Pondok Baruna Guesthouse, Garden and Warung (restaurant) are pretty much all directly linked to the excellent World Diving set up, whereas the Frangipani is a good ten minutes walk up the main road from all of these other places.

Frangipani is situated right next door the house of the local owner of these establishments and is, as shown, a real beauty to look at; but that's where my experience stops.

On arrival our taxi driver searched long and hard for anyone in the grounds or reception ("tutup": closed) to receive us, and we had a booking way in advance. reluctantly he had to give up his search as he had another delivery to make, so we were left sitting in the sun at 1100 am in Frangipani's deserted pool area. I went searching for signs of life and found that the door to reception was open, shouting "hello" brought nothing, so as I turned I noticed a foot projecting out from behind a counter and there, playing with his phone was an employee (he had the Pondock Waruna T shirt). When I said that we had a room here, he looked bored and walked over to the nearest villa, opened the door (all the rooms had keys ready on the outside) and left again. No words, no asking for reservation details.

Settling in, I wandered over to "tutup" (my new name for reception) only to find this time the door was locked. Straining through the window I saw the same guy engaged with phone behind the counter again. Banging loudly on the glass, he couldn't ignore me, so slowly came and opened up and said,"yes".

When I explained we were to check in to World Diving, he asked if I wanted to dive and saying that's why we were in Lembongan, he was on the phone to his "friend". Minutes later the manager arrived who did all the right things a manager should. So, I let phone guy's attitude go, it was, maybe, a cultural thing!

The diving and the little village we were on the edge of were great. Only over the coming days it was clear that nobody had a real grip on Frangipani. The four people staying there had 40 minutes to wait for the coffee and scambled eggs on toast to arrive. And whilst the rooms were made up, there was certainly no cleaning, the sachets of tea, coffee and creamer (all past sell dates) were not replenished and, for whatever question one might have, there was literally nobody around from 1000 to 1500 every day. Tutup!

Different story when the owner turned up. He was always around at 0900 and he was certainly given semi-regal service by his staff - including being served first at breakfast. Not really the way to do things for customers, or perhaps it's another cultural thing. Or maybe an enema is required.

Hopefully these things will be gotten a grip of so that things get better. As it stands, though, this resort certainly isn't worth the hassle. Go somewhere else...even God's other two establishments down near World Diving (referred to at the start of this) where that company's staff and the God's wife seemed to be in charge and knew how to run things...or might it be because there are more resorts down there and thus a bit more competition to do things properly?

Room Tip: If you arrive and the sign says "tutup" peer through the glass and bang loudly on the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zardoz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at Pondok Baruna my first 4 nights on Nusa Lembongan. The place doesn't disappoint; you truly are spoiled.

The seafront rooms are fantastic; beautiful setup; fresh, comfortable, clean, spacious. Breakfast is deliciously included, with the kindest and most helpful staff on hand.

Great room views, set with the great vibe that spills over from World Diving just a few feet down the stone walkway. A killer place to relax after diving day after day. See my super-happy review on World Diving separately.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of them. I got the seafront room, but I'd be happy with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFSpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We (my wife and me) stayed here for 5 nights while diving and the sea view rooms are excellent. There is a veranda next to the beach, from where you can see groups of divers leaving and arriving back on the island. The room was clean, a good size and was cleaned daily unless you asked for it to be done differently. The bathroom was a little small-ish (sitting on the toilet and having space for your legs was a little awkward, but we got used to it :-).
The pool area is nice too, but be carefull for the divers coming back up from their practice.

The location is very good if you want to go diving, but also fine for other activities, there are a lot of restaurants, diving centres and tourist information centres nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B4ll4d33r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

$12 USD a night on the ocean front... What's not to like?

The hotel has poolside bungalows, a diving school and a great restaurant that accepts cards. Rent a scooter from Wayan Jaba (he's at every boat arrival) and see the twin islands!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My partner & I have just spent 8 nights at the new Frangipani rooms which are superb, we would highly recommend! Very spacious bedroom & bathroom, with incredibly comfortable beds.
The setting is very peaceful and relaxing, especially rooms furthest away from the road. There is a lovely pool and plenty of space to chill out, can't wait to return in the future! Can also recommend Pondok Baruna Warung just up the road for delicious food, Putu is a fantastic cook and if you want to try authentic Indonesian cuisine, this is the place to dine! Staff at the accomodation & restaurant are lovely, very helpful and nothing is too much trouble, special thanks to Abel, Wayan, Ketut and of course Putu!! Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonbods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pondok Barbuda garden rooms for 6 nights whilst my fiance completed her open water and I dived Nusa Lembongan. The rooms are a good size and very clean. The air conditioning works well and the bathroom is clean. One small complaint would be that the water pressure wasn't fantastic but I'm nitpicking a little. The pool is nice and if diving with the attached World Diving (highly recommended) there is a classroom for the theory sessions. World diving is just around the corner er which makes those early starts a little easier. Breakfast is good (cooked to order, pancakes and the like) and ready before your diving starts.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a Garden room. This is going back to simple & clean accommodation with lovely gardens and pool. In a great location to beach and restaurants. This place also has World Diving Lembongan on site so easy to organise diving & snorkelling trips.
Abel was great fun and very keen to help with any requests.
If you want to stay in something a little more luxury check out their other place Pondok Baruna Frangipani, we had a look at these rooms and they were brand new with very large bathrooms and a very nice pool & garden area. A little further out of the main strip but ideal for anyone who wants a little luxury without having to climb the mountain to get to your room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubaFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.2 mi away
Lembongan Made Inn
Lembongan Made Inn
#32 of 111 in Nusa Lembongan
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pondok Baruna Frangipani
Pondok Baruna Frangipani
#20 of 111 in Nusa Lembongan
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tigerlillys Boutique Hotel
Tigerlillys Boutique Hotel
#2 of 111 in Nusa Lembongan
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tarci Bungalow
Tarci Bungalow
#6 of 28 in Nusa Lembongan
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
LOCOMOTIVE Hotel and Spa
LOCOMOTIVE Hotel and Spa
#21 of 111 in Nusa Lembongan
13 reviews
1 mi away
Bay Shore Huts
Bay Shore Huts
#3 of 28 in Nusa Lembongan
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Baruna Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Baruna Guesthouse

Address: Jungutbatu, 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range: $32 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pondok Baruna Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Baruna Lembongan offers a range of tasteful Balinese styled accommodation on the beautiful island of Nusa Lembongan, Bali. Pondok Baruna offers three different accommodation options to guests: Pondok Baruna Frangipani is our Premier Resort offering luxury bungalows for those wanting to relax in peaceful tranquility. Our Garden Rooms offer mid range facilities in the heart of the village and just 35 meters from the beach whilst our Sea View rooms, located just 5 meters from the beach, are perfect for those on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pondok Baruna Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Baruna Guesthouse Hotel Nusa Lembongan
Pondok Baruna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing