We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa
Nearby Hotels
Mahagiri Resort(Nusa Lembongan)
$60
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Shore Huts(Nusa Lembongan)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan(Nusa Lembongan)(Great Value!)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oka7 Bungalow(Nusa Lembongan)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Sadeg Lembongan(Nusa Lembongan)
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playgrounds Wave Lodge(Nusa Lembongan)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
468
116
36
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
116
36
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeck barsuperior villaour honeymoonoutdoor shower and bathbowl of goodnessmiddle poolbuggy servicegolf buggylower poolamazing viewscaptain nemopure blissmain islandmount agungother placesplunge poolstaff were fantastic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 642 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2009

My family and I (group of 8 people) spent 8 nights at the Batu Karang over Christmas 08 and New Year 09. We could not fault this resort at all - absolutely loved it! The rooms and views were out of this world. We could not believe the rooms balcony overlooked a volcanoe, 3 unreal surf breaks and so much more. The rooms were well appointed especially the outdoor shower and bath. The bed was so comfortable too. The pool water is incredible. Loved the lap pool and the restaurant food was delicious and great value (and we tried all other restaurants on the island). The staff, owners and management were tremendous and made us feel very welcome. As a large family group (3 generations) travelling together this resort was perfect. Be sure to try the fresh ingredient facial at the spa, I wish I tried this on my first day - it was perfect. We had two nights in Kuta too and we all wished we were back at the Batu Karang. Thanks to Troy and staff for organising a great Christmas lunch and making the 'Baxter Family group' welcome. We hope to be back soon. I have been recommending this resort and island to everyone, can't stop raving about it!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BK_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

One of our good friends recommended Nusa Lembongan as a beautiful holiday destination and I started researching the perfect resort for our stay.

My husband and I were seeking a five-star boutique experience with a difference - and at Batu Karang Lembongan Resort and Day Spa that is exactly what we found.

Although we had done our homework we had no idea what to expect but we were instantly blown away by the resort's location, staff and then the amazing sea view from our villa. We had discovered paradise!

The villa was magnificent with an incredible open-air bathroom and outside balcony/deck to enjoy a drink together and take in the view. It was located near the bar pool and lap pool where we spent many an afternoon enjoying cocktails and swimming with new-found friends.

The owners of the resort, Alan, Liz and the GM Troy were so friendly and attentive from day one. This added a really personal touch and we felt looked after for the entire stay. The resort is really a testament to their vision and is by far the best on the island.

Another major highlight was the always smiling, always friendly staff. It was so refreshing to be greeted by our names from the start and to have a laugh and chat while we were dining in the scenic restaurant. They were also very helpful with booking activities and one of the staff even acted as our own personal tour guide during a scooter ride around the island.

During our stay we went snorkelling, swimming, fishing, scooter riding and took in all of the sights. It is a relaxing holiday but there is so much to do and the island is truly a magical place. We were celebrating our second wedding anniversary and really felt like we had a discovered a coastal home-away-from-home.

Thanks to Alan, Liz, Troy and the team. We had a ball and we'll be back in 2009!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StarAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed here for 10 days of our Honeymoon, based on other peoples reviews and were not disappointed, we had a fantastic stay thanks to Troy and all the staff. I was looking for somewhere with the luxury standards of international 5-star hotel chains but with the scale and intimacy of a boutique hotel and that was exactly what we experienced. I had initial trouble booking through their website but it turned out that my credit card providers fraud protection measures were to blame.

Our hobbies of diving and surfing were well catered for on the island and the hotel staff were helpful in providing information and phoning the Dive School (Indonesian Telecoms not being as reliable as UK) to confirm dives.

We couldn't find any faults in this hotel and we've stayed in a few around the world!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTaffy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

I am comparing this experience to other Bali experiences which I will write about , and feel at the price Batu Karang charges, it is a HUGE disappointment. If I had paid $100, different story. I just didn't get the value for money.

Nice pools, great views, but the resort was just mediocre and at $250 a night I want more than average. It's hard to explain but could have been anywhere in the world, didn't feel like I got a "bali" experience.

The food was appalling, others have complained about the breakfast and saw that managment had changed that since our stay, but lunch and dinner were pretty bland too and very expensive for Bali standards. If the food had been exceptional I wouldn't have minded paying the prices.

The island itself is cute, but due to the seaweed farming those with a sensitive nose should stay clear. Not much to do on the island except surf or snorkel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank northernbeachesaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andthenandthen, Owner at Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2009

Thank you for using tripadvisor to share your comments, it’s a shame you could not voice them when you were here, instead of 3 months after your stay????. A few things that we would like to know?


Firstly: How could it be like being anywhere in the world? Can’t say I have seen too many Volcano/Ocean /Village views or Balinese style Thatched roofs in the Northen Beaches Sydney or other parts of the world let alone the patch work quilt effect of the seaweed farms that fill the bay? We are a blend of Balinese architecture with modern and western comforts. Perhaps it was the modern comfots that made you feel so at home and so giving the feeling that you could have been anywhere???? Although this is confusing as one look out the window would soon remind you that you were actually somewhere unique!!

Not a Balinese experience: Sorry we don’t have traffic, hawkers, taxis beeping at you and polluted air perhaps the village that is almost exactly how it was 30 years ago wasn’t Balinese enough for you? Perhaps it was all the modern comforts that detracted from the Balinese experience. So if we took them out then you might be happier and we could get away with only charging you $100 dollars a night. We will give it some consideration.

The food: To say that the food was appauling is simply outrageous and just not true. Should note that all food supplies are bought in Bali and have to be shipped to the island. This adds to the cost of production and you can expect the prices on a remote island to be more expensive. In saying that we are talking about a menu that has its most expensive item at AUD $15 including taxes so unless you have been eating at the local Warungs for $2 dollars (hygenically prepared of course) we would like to know your price bench mark.

The food is clean well prepared and the restuarant gets lots of repeat business so can't be that bad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

This was our first trip to Bali, Indonesia and we were quite apprehensive that we hadn't booked accomodation on Bali mainland. Friends we spoke to hadn't even heard of Nusa Lembongan where the resort is located, much less Batu Karang resort.

We booked via the hotel website and it was an absolutely seamless experience. What we loved the most was the personal touch and the flexibility the staff offered. The resort actually looks exactly like the photos on the website and if you want to know what view you'll have when you get there, check out the pictures on their website. What you see is what you get.

As soon as we arrived, the staff were at hand and absolutely amazing. No attention to detail is missed out and Troy, the owner and manager is very hands on and personally always around to make sure you are well looked after. That's something that just blew our mind. The rest of the staff were also great and we really appreciated the friendly service. Simple touches such as addressing us by our names whenever we interacted with any of the staff felt exceptionally genuine and warm.

There's a lot of attention to detail across the resort, right from the power adaptors and ethernet cables placed in the drawer to the personal music volume control knob at the restaurant dining tables overlooking the sea. That's really amazing. The rooms are also so well maintained. Beds were really comfortable and rooms were made up every time we returned from an outing.
The open air bathrooms with sea views were exhilarating to say the least and the way they have been designed, shows how much thought has gone into the hotel layout and planning.

We loved everything about the place and we would definitely visit again without hesitation. This is my first trip advisor review and I couldn't do justice to the Batu Karang resort. Words escape me.

Great job Troy and team!!!

Regards
Rony & Priya (Elizabeth Jacob)

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShadowDancer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andthenandthen, owner at Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2008

Rony and Priya



Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments here on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that your holiday was everything you wanted it to be.



It is always great motivation to read the comments here on Trip Advisor. It helps to continue improving ourselves and to know we are doing a good job. Each month the comments are given to the staff to read so they know how they are doing as well.



The management was going to start a guestadvisor site to do reviews on guests and I can say that the staff would have you guys at the top of the ratings. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us it was an absolute pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews