We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality dishes unmatched on Nusa Lembongan”

Indiana Kenanga Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 102 Restaurants in Nusa Lembongan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The french chef Clement Fouquere, will be happy to share his passion for fine cuisine, with over 15 years of experience in the most famous 3 stars Michelin restaurant(Alain Ducasse in Monaco, The Bristol in Paris.....)The restaurant is just in front the sea and you can see wonderful sunset!!!
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent quality dishes unmatched on Nusa Lembongan”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We utilised the free pickup service from our hotel to the restaurant which was really helpful.
The walk from the street through the hotel gardens, pool and bridge really set the scene for the evening.
We sat on one of the outdoor tables on the sand and service was attentive without being extraordinary.
We had the crab, mango salad and fresh rice paper rolls for entrees and both were excellent.
For mains we had the barramundi and the scallops with parmeson gnochhi with the later being the standout.
You can certainly eat cheaper on Nusa Lembongan however we didn't find anything to match the quality of Indiana Kenanga.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevec81Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    118
    48
    40
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We walked from lembongan reef, which took about 20 mins. The prices were high, but the food was of good quality. We both had burgers and hand cut chips.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Claire_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best in Nusa Lembongan”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Four of us ate at Indiana Kenanga restaurant last night, having heard good things about this Lembongen restaurant. It was truly amazing as was the French owner/chef Clemende who has managed to achieve remarkable success as a restauranteur and an avid surfer at the same time (the restaurant is just in front of a good surf break....living the dream works for this chap).
Indiana Kenanga exudes a casual elegance--you can dine with your bare feet in the warm sand if you choose to. (Not sure but I think they have some hard floor tables for the high heels).

The food was innovative and delicious. Some dishes were the BEST of all the dishes we have sampled in our month in Bali. The slow cooked pigeon special was terrific. The King Prawns appetiser with the bacon and onion inside a delicate filo pasty was out of this world, as was the sauce that came with it it. The duck was rich but beautiful. The only negative was my friend who had the whole fish which he liked but in his opinion, it was nothing special.
We shared 2 chocolate fondants for dessert and and it was best we've had in Bali and equal best to anywhere.

The food was not expensive by Australian standards, though the wine, as usual in Bali, was pretty expensive.

We met the friendly chef Clemende at the end of the night and left thinking how amazing that such a young man could create such a masterpiece of a restaurant where he could also enjoy his passion for surfing. We concluded that he probably created the restaurant for personal rather than financial reasons which is perhaps the best way to start any venture.
If you like fine dining with a French flair there are some amazing French influenced restaurants in Bali, and this is one of the very best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passdeplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“disappointing and poor value”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

After reading reviews and the restaurants’ own publicity about a chef with Michelin-starred experience, I was very much looking forward to eating here. The reality was a disappointment.

The food is mightily expensive compared to other options on the island. I could have lived with that if the quality and service matched the price. It just simply did not. My seafood main dish was mushy and I suspect made with seafood which had been frozen for a long time. The wine list consists of pretty standard options priced much higher than elsewhere.

Service was simply terrible with staff standing around chatting to each and paying no attention to their guests.

The overall feeling was of a place trying to be something that it is not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelukkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Romantic night out”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We selected this restaurant for our final night based on advice from our hotel, and we were hoping for a stunning sunset to accompany us. Alas sunset was a fizzer but the restaurant experience was very nice. We enjoyed our free transport experience, and had a nice little table in the sand (it was a warm night and under the fans might have been a more comfortable option, but our choice)
We started with ice tea, alcohol free night, but very delicious, probably the best ice tea I've ever had. Our entrees were tuna and crab. The tuna was definitely the pick of the two. Our mains were very rich the pigeon special was memorable. No room for dessert and started to get uncomfortably hot so we ended the night pretty early, would recommend for a romantic night out

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djc005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Kenanga Restaurant also viewed

 
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
 
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
 

Been to Indiana Kenanga Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing