We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarind Beach Bungalows
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here at tamarind, on arrival we were greeted with big smiles and a very kind welcome. The staff here are very friendly and helpful, which is a big plus for us.
We stayed in one of the block rooms at the back, very spacious main bedroom, enormous bathroom, great shower, comfortable bed, very clean (cleaned every day), and a nice little outside area which faces the gardens.
Pool is great, it's an infinity (always a winner), it looks out to sea which is a very nice view indeed.
A couple of small negatives are the wifi is very temperamental (not a huge issue) and if you are out for getting a tan you will probably have to follow the sun around the pool area as there is quite a few trees.
All in all very nice place and very relaxing.
Recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoopy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 92 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Going on nothing but another review and gut instincts, we had transportation (sitting in the back of a covered truck cab) to this waterfront hideaway. Do not judge the property on what you see as you walk up to the place. What awaits you once you enter is surprising. We had our bags brought to our room, where someone gave us a room tour (a very important step) to make sure the room is to our liking, and that we agreed on a price per night. The room was gorgeous! Large, four poster king sized bed with mosquito netting (not even necessary, but a nice touch.). The room is equipped with all you need (including a penis shaped bottle opener) including towels, a sitting area, and a porch to watch the sunrise. The pool is lovely, and the beer is cold. The restaurant on the property is good for snacks, or even a nice dinner. Boats will come and pick up the surfer enthusiasts, and other Lembongan attractions are not too far of a walk. Ask for Tom!

Room Tip: The room to the far right when you walk up to the row of rooms has a sitting room, a brand new fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a lovely few days here and it's a great place to relax. Such a shame that there is a monstrous party boat/island yellow thing in the middle of the ocean that part spoils the view, but that is not the fault of the hotel. Rooms are huge and pleasant, outdoor bathrooms are a bit dated, but functional. Friendly staff, good breakfasts and it is an easy walk to Mushroom beach where there are more eating options such as Warung Adi which was good and you can also hire scooters which is a great way to explore more of Lembongan. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastygringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have just had a great 12 days in May at the Tamarind Beach Bungalows (also referred to as "Bali Lembongan Tamarind Beach Cottages" Confusing!!).
We had room 9 with air conditioning - a nice big room with a large bathroom and a good view.
This place is very nice and the pool and bar/restaurant is right next to the beach. The beach is not for swimming as it is a bit muddy but we had a great time lounging in and next to the pool watching the locals go about their life loading and unloading boats etc.
The food is quite good and very cheap. There are lots of other restaurants and small eating places on the island (try the Sunset beach restaurant for top end and the Mangrove Stop for a really great local meal).
We hired a scooter for $6 Australian a day and had a lovely and interesting time exploring. Don't be afraid to go down the more obscure tracks as there is so much to see. The roads(??) are pretty atrocious but the upside is that there is little traffic and no one can go fast so it is very safe.
There are lots of activities such as snorkeling or diving trips to go on. Make sure you see the coral reef at Nusa Pinida.

We didn't see one mosquito in 12 days as it was the dry season. There were some flys when we ate on the beach restaurants but they were not a big problem.

The best part about the cottages were the wonderful staff of local people. Their friendliness and gentle manner was the highlight of the trip.

The island is probably at a stage that Bali was 30 years ago.

Get there soon as the development will really spoil it within a couple of years.
We will definitely be back next May.
Ken and Judi

Room Tip: Room 9 has air conditioning but that is not essential in May. Rooms with just a fan are quite accept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We spent four nights at Tamarind Beach during our recent stay in Bali, and it was excellent. We stayed in the standard fan room, but it was massive, had beach views, and the biggest bathroom I've ever seen.

The charm of these villas is that the whole experience is quintessentially Balinese – particularly in the fan room. The thatched roof doesn't quite meet the stone walls, leaving the room open in a nifty traditional style.

The only issue is that open rooms equals mosquitoes. There is a mosquito net, but it's not great. Still, throw on some aeroguard and suck it up. The view makes it worth it.

The activities are great (we had massages and went snorkeling), they hire scooters for seven Aussie dollars a day, and the Bintang is cold and plentiful. And the staff are very, very friendly.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in Tamarind for three nights as the end to our wonderful trip through Indonesia, and we had a great and relaxing time. Nusa Lembongan is the perfect alternative for those without time (or budget) to go to the Gilis. Tamarind has a great sea-side location with impressive views, although not right on the beach, but bikes can be rented to explore the little beaches of Lembongan. The staff was helpful and very nice, the rooms are quite basic for what you pay for them. The bedlinen was not clean when we arrived (but was changed immediately) and the bathroom was a bit smelly. All in all, we had a wonderful stay at Tamarind.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joost188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We liked this hotel a lot, close to Mushroom beach for swimming and there is also some dinner options besides the hotels restaurant. Everything is very well kept on the hotel and they were so helpful with everything. We rented motorbikes one day and booked a snorkel trip another day which were awsome, we did also book the return trip to Bali. We had a seaview suit which had a fantastiq view over the bay. The bathroom were a bit smelly but that's common at most places I think.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmaniacSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.1 mi away
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
#20 of 26 in Nusa Lembongan
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaside Huts Lembongan
Seaside Huts Lembongan
#3 of 140 in Nusa Lembongan
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nanuks Lembongan Bungalows
Nanuks Lembongan Bungalows
#34 of 140 in Nusa Lembongan
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassava Lembongan Bungalow
Cassava Lembongan Bungalow
#19 of 104 in Nusa Lembongan
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanghyang Bay Villas
Sanghyang Bay Villas
#42 of 140 in Nusa Lembongan
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Song Lambung Beach Hut
Song Lambung Beach Hut
#16 of 104 in Nusa Lembongan
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Bungalows

Address: Tamarind Beach | Lembongan, 80771, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range: $33 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarind Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarind Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Bungalows Hotel Nusa Lembongan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing