We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Indiana Kenanga Villas
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful resort”
Reviewed March 9, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at Indiana Kenanga for our wedding anniversary and had a beautiful time. The staff were very attentive and the food to die for. Our villa was very luxurious and we loved the use of timber and stone throughout the place. It was a holiday that we will never forget and we highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryandbenou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    74
    34
    22
    12
See reviews for
85
196
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

While we had an enjoyable time on Lembongan Island, the Indiana Kenanga was definitely a let down.

The reason we chose Indiana Kenanga was it seemed to offer a luxury stay, and we had a young child (1yo) and wanted as close to Western levels of luxury to make things easier for and with him.

Unfortunately what we got, for the price, was not nearly good enough. While the accomodation was nice and clean, and the staff very polite, we still feel that with the prices being charged the hotel should be a lot better.

We ate there once however found that the food was overpriced and average at best. Nearly every other place we ate along that beachfront strip was cheaper and better food. They advertise as having a Michelin Star chef, however he wasn't there during our stay.

During our stay we didn't have any hot showers, as the hot water system needs to be reset every time the power goes out, which happened a lot (up to 20 times a day, regularly browning out 5-10 times in a row). In addition, a number of times the water would be turned off for extended periods without any notice.

My partner and her sister were booked in for (very expensive) massages and manicure/pedicures. The people who were supposed to do it didn't show up, so the cleaners (yes, the cleaners) did it. After their massages the cleaners were packing up, not knowing about the manicures/pedicures. Once told they did them, albeit not very well. Both my partner and her sister skipped the pedicures in favour of doing it themselves.

The final insult was after complaining via letter to managament, we were offered a partial refund of our stay.... If we came to Lembongan from Australia to get it. Terrible.

We sincerely appreciate the efforts of the staff there to try and help us with all our issues, but unfortunately it wasn't enough for me to ever consider recommending the Indiana to friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stirlr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayan007, Manager at Indiana Kenanga Villas, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

We were not surprised to have your review due to the discomfort of your stay with us.

Arriving in our Villa, as usual, we explained to the guest our accommodation and request us while seeing a problem. Firstly, we were eager to response your complaint for moving to other rooms a cause of stink issues of sea weed from ocean. We prepared quickly 2 privates suites to change. Suddenly,you said that's fine as no stink anymore.

In this small island, electricity was to be a serious issues ( fortunately, we have 2 generators to anticipate) and produce a damage for our utensil. We're sorry if you had not hot water for a while and water on which we have noticed you as there was installation.The food itself, is rather different with others where the price should be adaptive with its values.We also recommend the guest other restaurants for the reason of budget or savor. That time, our french Chef was in Tahiti for a short holiday.

Concerning with the quality and price of manicure -pedicure, we're sorry to know you make a complaint while arriving in your country where we can't handle the issues immediately. Normally, the guest has to clarify and see our spa's menu before deciding. We had invited a pro trainer for evaluating it and training our therapist. Thank to remind us.

For those, we had made an effort to minimize inconvenience case : offer a free massage, look after your baby at night while you made a party in other hotel and propose half price which we 'll refund after you and your friends returned as you said in the 1st letter.

We appreciate the reviews who can upgrade our property.

Cordially,

Wayan KAYAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Being a large group on 10 we were all able to try everything on the menu and not one of us has stopped thinking about our incredible meals since we left Indiana's - the chef Clement was so friendly and cares about each guests food experience with passion- I have been craving his food ever since this amazing experience- it's not often you can go to a beautiful island like this and find a michelin star chef who cooks the most delectable food with such creativity - we also spent 2 weeks in Seminyak dining at all of the top restaurants but nothing came close to this delicious experience- mouth watering!
As for the resort itself - beautiful landscaping and immaculate gardens, fantastic private villas with plenty of space - and being a surfer I was more than overwhelmed having Lembongan's number 1 surf spot shipwrecks as my front yard! overall an unreal experience with extremely hospitable staff and Clement the chef also managing the place was a fantastic host who really cares about each individual guest- highly recommended for large groups or a romantic get-away just for 2.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahj82_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

If you would like to stay at a beautiful, charming and quiet resort on Nusa Lembongan this should be your choice. My husband and me and my parents stayed at Indiana Kenanga for 4 nights and we are more than happy. Every villa has a courtyard, which is very private and romantic; you can just chill out there in the evening with candle lights and look at the sky. Beds are huge and very comfortable. It's very quiet and I can promise you that you will get a good night sleep. I would recommend you to choose a villa with even number as those villas have an entrance at south and are little bit brighter. All around Indiana Kenanga you will find many restaurants and bars with excellent food and low prices. The beaches on Nusa Lembongan are beautiful. Skip Mushroom beach; the beach is exploited by banana-boats, hotels, lots of tourists and overall a big disappointment. Beaches as Dream Beach and Sunset Beach are worth visiting; just beautiful! Be aware of strong currents; there is a map on the beach that will show you where it’s safe to swim. The beach at Indiana Kenanga is OK but don't expect too much. The beach front is quite narrow and there are at times fishing boats and you will have to swim between them. We used the pool most of the time and that was fine with us.
Choose Indiana Kenanga for your holiday on Nusa Lembongan and you will not be disappointed. I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2011

If you are going to Nusa Lembongan, close to Bali, then you have to stay at Indiana Kenanga. It is such a charming place.
The rooms are elegant, spacious and very clean. The bathroom so stylish, with a big window in the shower facing the small lush patio.
The staff.so helpful and always smiling, made our stay unforgettable. My husband and I just adore the place.
The restaurant facing the water and the reef offered a lot of nice European (French) dishes, expertly cooked, followed by nice wines. If you want local food, there are a lot of restaurants along the beach.
The pool is nice and clean, charmingly situated behind the restaurant, not too big but enough to take a healthy swim in.
There are also nice large sunbeds facing the beach and the reef, where you can relax reading, watching people going by, watching surfers and the sunset.

We are looking forward to January 2012.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSmedstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We recently stayed at Indiana Kenanga for the 1st time, we stayed at one of the other resorts last year and decided to give Indiana Kenanga a try and so glad we did!
We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa which was just beautiful, very spacious and had everything we could want, the bathroom was huge (very important issue for us women) and very tastefully decorated, the bed was divine!
The resort itself is located on the beach, the view was amazing!! All of the rooms, the grounds, everything was perfect, we couldnt have been happier!
The staff were absolutely lovely, the Manager, Wayan in particular is so charming and friendly, nothing is ever a problem for him. Clemente the chef makes the most AMAZING food!! I would usually only order 1 course but in this case I forced myself to have 3 courses, the food was just divine!! Clemente was gracious enough to come and speak to all of his guests and made recomendations, a really nice touch and I must say my taste buds thanked him for his recomendation!! I cant wait to go back in June for more of Clemente's recomendations.
I would definately stay at Indiana Kenanga again, the location is beautiful, staff are warm and friendly and the accomodation and restaurant are astounding!
I would definately reccomend our friends and family to stay at Indiana Kenanga.
We will be back in June and cant wait!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank procv8z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This place is an absolute must! The people are friendly, the service is good, the food is UNBELIEVABLE! You can get cheaper meals elsewhere on the island but it is worth paying more as this food is excellent and also to experience sitting on the deck right near the beach.
It is so peaceful! We loved lying on the loungers right near the beach and you can order delicious cocktails or coffees. The rooms are spacious and you have your own little "villa" with a privare little garden. You will want to stay here 2 or 3 nights. Highlight of our trip to Bali!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.2 mi away
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
#2 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
618 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan
#4 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Poh Manis Lembongan
Poh Manis Lembongan
#10 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sammada Hotel & Beach Club
Sammada Hotel & Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa
0.3 mi away
d'Nusa Beach Club and Resort
d'Nusa Beach Club and Resort
#8 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indiana Kenanga Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Kenanga Villas

Property: Indiana Kenanga Villas
Address: Jalan Jungut Batu Beach 56 | Klungkung, 87500, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Indiana Kenanga Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant boutique hotel luxury spa & yoga on the beach situated on Nusa Lembongan, 16 suites with private garden, 2 Villas two bedrooms with private swimming pool, 1 restaurant creperie and 1 restaurant gastronomic with French Chef.A big area for spa and yoga.............. Many activities directly from the hotel, paddle, diving, snorkeling, fishing, surf, motor bikes, etc....Possibility to organize packages for group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indiana Kenanga Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indiana Kenanga Hotel Nusa Lembongan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing