We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The truth about Villa coco”
Review of Playgrounds Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nusa Lembongan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playgrounds Resort
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
England
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“The truth about Villa coco”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We felt totally mis-led when booking villa coco. We expected a shared kitchen area and tv and got neither. It is in fact a bedroom that belongs to another villa and a basic one at that. How they can call a bedroom with no faciliites a villa is beyond me. The only thing between you and next doors family area is a door with a huge gap underneath. To make matters worse the guests next door did have a tv and a kitchen area and were very noisy. It was impossible to get an early night for an early start diving with Terminator on full volume booming under nthe huge gap under the door. Even if they had been a quiet family you would have still heard everything. The toilet and shower were actually in the bedroom and not enclosed. If you had an upset tummy you had to shove your partner onto the balcony and then just live with a smelly bedroom. Sorry to be basic but people need to know what they are letting themselves in for. We paid $100 for this room and it was the worst room for value during our stay in Bali. The room had one open shelving unit and no where to hang any clothes. It had an old noisy fridge stocked with drinks to purchase but glass to drink them from. There was a tiny shared kitchen area for the whole complex with a tatty and limited selection of mugs etc that felt a bit like being in a youyh hostel and a very small plunge pool, both at the bottom of approx 120 steps. Basic is the only way I can descibe Villa Coco - no glasses for cleaning your teeth etc, no bottles of complimentary water - no free wifi - extremely limited furniture - no safety deposit - no TV - all the things we enjoyed in Bali for considerably less than the $100 we paid for 'Villa Coco'
Did we have a view - yes, but I feel the owner / management of playgrounds is being greedy and mis-leading and banking on people paying for the view. For what they are charging it is a mistake to invest so little in the actual accommodation. Worn out towels and horrible sheets and our room was not serviced once in three days. All in all a huge disappointment. It's a personal choice and if the view means that much to you then book it, as the view was good but the we enjoyed far higher standard of accommodation in Bali for far less.
I did raise my huge disappointment at the time and no one was the slightest bit interested so frankly I'm not interested in any comments they have to make now. They ruined our 3 day stay in Nusa Lembongan and nothing can change that so think carefully before you book.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merryweather29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlaygroundsResort, Owner at Playgrounds Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Hi merryweather29,

As Owner and Manager of Playgrounds, I have no record of your booking enquiry so I'm obviously concerned about your claims of being 'mislead' as you didn't actually book with us.
Our website has accurate descriptions of all our accommodation (including current photos) and does not indicate anywhere that Villa Coco has kitchen facilities or a TV. It is advertised (by us) as a studio suite which adjoins another villa.
I also have no record of a complaint during your stay and I'm very disappointed that we didn't get the opportunity to resolve your issues at the time. We would most certainly have offered an upgrade in this situation and our staff are readily available for requests such as drinking glasses or fresh linen.
Our rooms are serviced daily, but due to limited resources on the island (power and water), it's not possible to replace the linen in every room - every day. I believe this is standard for most hotels and fresh linen is always available upon request.
I'm not sure which plunge pool you're referring to as the only plunge pools we have are inside private villas, but would like to note that there is a large main pool and bar at the front of the resort.
I am sincerely sorry that your accommodation did not meet your expectations (especially to the degree that it ruined your experience of Lembongan!) We urge all guests to book directly with us via our website so that we can offer you the best possible accommodation and ensure your needs are met during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    5
    12
    4
See reviews for
22
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
maroochydore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We recently booked into Playgrounds Resort. Arriving on the island we decided to look around for accommodation and found Playgrounds. The only room available was a family room that was very tired with fan only and cold water and as others have noted not even a glass for cleaning teeth, but the view was great. We made an agreement with the manager to book the room for 4 nights and agreed on a price. After 2 days the delightful staff informed us that we would have to move rooms as the "Aussie boss" had booked our room to somebody else. Where in the hotel industry is that acceptable after a client has made a verbal contract to book a particular room. If we had been told that there was a possibility that we would have to move we would have looked elsewhere. We were utterly disgusted with our treatment and moved next door to Lembongan Reef. Having to move disrupted our plans for the day and we missed going snorkeling to rearrange our accommodation. We moved into a room with airconditioning & fan, hot water, fridge, beautiful timber furniture and great view with charming staff for less $'s. Our advice to anyone contemplating Playgrounds is just don't, go next door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattiC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlaygroundsResort, Owner at Playgrounds Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Hi Patti,
I sincerely apologise for the booking blunder. It was a very rare instance where the room was booked on Wotif.com at the same time that you checked in, and unfortunately I didn't get to inform the staff of the new booking in time. Obviously we valued you as our guest and wished to provide you with accommodation as promised (as also for the other family who booked), but I didn't realise that asking you to move to the room next door would inconvenience you so greatly. It was an honest mistake and not something that happens often at Playgrounds.
We've noted yours as the second request for drinking glasses to be provided in the rooms and have now done so. Many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorebank NSW
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Hey, how about this: NO hot water, NO breakfast,NO inroom fridge/TV,
NO furniture (to speak of, other than two bedside tables, one broken,and a
broken clothes rack), NO complimentary drinking water, NO privacy (see through
screen on balcony,rooms not sound proof), not even cups for brushing teeth, NO free wifi (connection available for ~ 4.50$ per 60 mins)?
And all this for 75.00$ a night, in Bali??? (well, Lembongan) Sounds unacceptable?
Well it is to us.
We booked ourselves into the playground resort after reading the mostly rave reviews.
by fellow tripadvisor members. It turned out to be a big mistake, because the room described as 'standard room" in the playgrounds resort brochure turned
out to be decidedly sub standard. Even to call it 'basic' as some reviewers did, does
not give an accurate reflection.
We have travelled Asia far and wide, and the room for the asking rate of 75.00$ is sub standard. Maybe we'd pay 30.00$ for it,because its rather 'backpacker' standard, but our backpacker years are over, playgrounds is selling itself as a resort and even most backpackers nowadays have a higher standard of accommodation.
We admit, the view is excellent, but it is a view from a (periliously sagging) balcony
of a substandard room.
We should have heeded the only accurate review of the W-Australian reviewer and just two other reviewers.
Well, we cut our stay short and head back to Bali. Might be back to Lembongan, which is quite charming btw, but certainly not to playgrounds resort.We checked nextdoors: Ware-Ware has private villas, fan only, including breakfast 55.00$, Lembongan Reef has rooms with aircondition, very nice furniture, fridge, including breakfast for ~75.00$.

.....and well, guess what?...if you want to cancel at Playground and have already paid,
you won't see any money back, even when you try and cancel weeks in advance!

Our advice: stay away, check the neighbouring properties, Playground resort is a rip off!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amadeusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlaygroundsResort, Owner at Playgrounds Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Hi Amadeusm,
We have a wide range of accommodation at Playgrounds with our standard rooms offering basic facilities for the budget traveller in a spectacular location.
The rooms and faciltiies are accurately described on our website and complimentary inclusions are not standard on Lembongan.
We appreciate your feedback regarding maintenance issues and take this very seriously, however, we found nothing to be broken in your room nor 'perilous' as stated.
Our refund policy is also detailed on our website, and in this situation, a full refund was offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just a quick boat ride to this beautiful island proved to be a fantastic getaway.
Everyone said that I would be bored there after a day, but I so wasn't. Playgrounds was awesome and really comfortable. The staff where very accommodating and helpful.
Great spot for a family holiday. Had my daughters 13th Birthday there and ordered dinner from next door to eat around the pool got fireworks from the village and the staff organised a cake from the mainland. What a great birthday for her, snorkelling, surfing and bike riding.
My time was spent drinking cocktails and working on the tan. We will return. Thankyou

Room Tip: Family condos in the middle. Singles front condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHolidaysNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Heading across the channel to Lembongan is like time travelling back to beautiful Bali of the past, when you needed a torch to navigate Jalan Legian at night! The difference is that while Lembongan offers the friendliness and serenity of old Bali, it also offers the comforts and delights of new Bali. Nowhere is this more evident than at Playgrounds Resort, where I am able to sit with my feet in the plunge pool and answer my emails while looking out over the surfers at Lacerations and the weed farmers wading out to tend their crops. I love Playgrounds, especially Villa Chantique, where the steps offer a fitness program to get you in shape for that cold sunset Bintang in the fridge with your name on it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilJarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

In April, my boyfriend and I travelled with a group of 10 other friends to Nusa Lembongan, looking for some relaxation and waves, after a hectic (but still awesome!) week in Bali.

We stayed in the older part of the resort, in a mixture of the family and twin bedrooms (fan only). The rooms were really good value for money... but people need to realise they can't expect five star hotel service in these rooms, then they won't be disappointed. The rooms were basic but totally sufficient for a nice relaxing, getting back to basics holiday which is what Nusa Lembongan is all about. Our room was fan only, which was more than enough when added with the amazing breeze that came from the ocean.

The views were nothing short of amazing!! Never have I had a million dollar view from a room that cost me $30 aus a night. Each room had a balcony with day bed and plenty of australian surf and gossip mags to chill out with.

The pool at the base of the resort also has views to die for, as well as bintang and cocktails made by the helpful always smiling staff (especially Silver, and resident dog Roo!)

There isn't a restaurant at the resort, but it's literally 20 steps to the nearest restaurant which sits with many others, on little decks over the ocean. The food here at places like Ware Ware and Lembongan Reef restaurant was really high quality and so rediculously cheap, along with the drinks and fresh fruit smoothies (around $1aus for a huge glass). You'll find service a bit slow after the mainland of Bali but that's part of it's charm, just go along with it and you'll wonder why we rush so much through our lives when not on an island like this! Another great place to eat was Bungalow 7 further down the main beach (5 mins walk) which has the best and spiciest curries :) The Beach Club (formerly Scallyways) has a great vibe, a bit busier than the little restaurants close to Playgrounds, has rediculously good food and actually has a wine list, rare on the island. They'll even come and pick you up from Playgrounds for free.

Playgrounds resort is in the prime position for watching the surf breaks of Playgrounds, Lacerations and Shipwrecks. With binocolars we could even watch the surfers in our group from our balconies, and see the seafood farmers each day bring in their haul. Captain Nemo (his boat sits outside the resort) is a great character, who will offer you diving trips and also cheap rides out to the back of the surf breaks, take him up on it :)

I would highly recommend Playgrounds to anyone after a no frills, happy, chilled break in a stunning location. I took a peek at the villas further up the hill and they looked alot newer and cleaner so maybe Playgrounds actually has something for everyone.

Nusa Lembongan is a great little island with lots of charm, we will definitely be back one day. Great uncrowded surf, so cheap-they're-almost free-scooters to cruise the island on and stunning spots like Dream Beach make this hidden gem worth the trip over from Bali.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LandyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Our family stayed 5 nights at playgrounds. We were given a family room (next to the run down dirty kitchen) which is in the old part of the resort. The room was dirty, (walls marked,sheets that are stained and furniture that is very dusty) and the bathroom was filthy. In the bathroom the walls above the tiling had stains that had come from the gap between the ceiling and the wall, the wall tiles had mould all over them and the rubber mat stank. There is only a small rusty hanger to try and put all your clothes on as well as a towel. The drain was covered in hair, the toilet wasn't clean when we arrived. This isn't a resort. Facilities are basic.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobkat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlaygroundsResort, Owner at Playgrounds Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Hi bobkat08,

Our standard rooms are advertised as budget options with basic facilities and are priced accordingly.

We strive to ensure that all our rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean, so I am sincerely sorry if you found the room dirty or less than immaculate in any way. This is unacceptable by all standards and I'm disappointed we didn't get the opportunity to resolve the issues at the time of your stay.

We appreciate your feedback, particularly your points regarding the bathroom, and will address the problems immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.7 mi away
Indiana Kenanga Villas
Indiana Kenanga Villas
#7 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oka7 Bungalow
Oka7 Bungalow
#17 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
#2 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
#19 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
158 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan
#4 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mahagiri Resort
Mahagiri Resort
#8 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playgrounds Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playgrounds Resort

Property: Playgrounds Resort
Address: Headland promenade, Jungut Batu, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
April 2017. Playgrounds Nusa Lembongan is currently closed and undergoing renovation and refurbishment. We hope to re-open in May 2017 and will be under new management. Please contact us via email for more information. Thank you ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playgrounds Hotel Nusa Lembongan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing